We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated room but great value for oceanfront.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Calgary, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dated room but great value for oceanfront.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the Vern Brown addition. There is a wide variety of accomodation so be specific about what you are getting. We had a room with king bed, kitchen, fireplace, and balcony directly overlooking and with direct access to a gorgeous beach for $175/ night. Very clean but dated room but a great value for the price if you want to enjoy the beach. Car needed as you are about 1 mile from town. Had drinks one night in the restaurant which was very nice but high end. Kitchen is not well stocked but adequate and very clean. Good choice for value and location .

Room Tip: Vern Brown addition is good location. They also have some seafront cabins which looked like a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supergeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce-Longland, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you Supergeo, we are glad that you enjoyed our value and location. -Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    129
    67
    38
    23
See reviews for
84
189
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I had the misfortune of staying at this outdated property. The front desk staff were "friendly" up to the point of sign in. After they received payment for our rooms, they were completely unprofessional and very difficult to deal with. The staff became very unaccommodating and unbelievably rude when we encountered a simple problem that could have/should have been very easily solved. Instead we were met with a lot of resistance and an unwillingness to help us find an amicable solution which made for a very unpleasant stay. As well, the front desk shuts down at 10 pm nightly so good luck with any problem you might encounter after 10 pm. Ridiculous! Our bed sheets were not fresh and we felt grungy. I would not recommend this hotel based on the highly unprofessional, unwelcoming front desk staff and the outdated property. Two thumbs way down for this one. Go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't go there. It's makeover time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enjoy_the_ride2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce-Longland, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, we all read every review listed and we learn greatly from them. We admit to having some rooms that are outdated and we plan on fixing that in the future. We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay with us. For situations that occur after our office hours, guests can contact our people who are on call. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to earn your business back in the future. -Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bandon hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the cheapest oldest rooms in the back of the property but still had great views facing the ocean. About $100/night for us. Rooms were average with wood panel walls and decor that felt we were filming Boogie Nights from the 1970's and were very small but enough to fit 2 people. Would be tight fit for 4 or more adults I think. Oceans views and beach access by crossing the street to the ocean front area of the hotel complex. Good value if on budget.

Also agree with other reviewer that WiFi was slow and unreliable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiker100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce-Longland, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you Hiker100 for staying with us. We encourage any feedback and we are always improving our wifi to be better for our guests, thank you for your feedback. -Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
537 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Choose a room between numbers 232 and 236, that is "ocean seafront", and enjoy. Cost will be some 130+tax, but it's worth every penny. We came here for one night but stayed two... There's also cheaper rooms, some 90+tax, but these are "ocean view", meaning you see the ocean but you aren't in front.
Breakfast is very basic. There's also a pool for those who don't care if water is 15 degrees celsius. Rooms are ok. But the place is amazing... Now I understand why "Anita E" wrote she's been coming here for 55 years!

Room Tip: Rooms between 232 and 236, so-called ocean sea front. Views are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheEmptyQuarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce-Longland, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you Jehu_Sitges for staying with us in the Original Oceanfront, we are happy to see that you enjoyed your room. -Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I've been going to the Sunset Motel for 55 years. Here's the deal: This stretch of beach is superb--in my opinion the finest in Oregon. It's gorgeous and has many interesting tide pools at low tide. If you want spectacular, breath-taking, unsurpassed, close-up, cliff side views of the ocean with a nice room and no stairs, the upper (ground level) floor of Vern Brown is the best choice (the other levels have the same view but are downstairs on the cliff). If you want a new room with very comfy beds, near the pool and jacuzzi, but a far-away view (across the road) of the ocean, the Oceanview Studios are your best bet (upstairs rooms have better views). Sunset Motel has a wide range of rooms, built anytime from the 1940's to recent years. Some of the older rooms are too rustic and dark for me, but they are lower in price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce-Longland, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much Anita E for staying with us for 55 years. Your kind words brightened our day. We are elated to hear your feedback, and we look forward to see you next year. -Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We came upon this motel by chance,we looked at the cheaper rooms but they were outdated.we highly recommend the upper floor of the Vern brown addition.I cannot recall a problem with the wifi.You don't come here for the pool the hot tub or the breakfast.The staff is friendly but the plus here is the View and the magical beach.Our trip encompassed the entire coast from seattle to sandiego and if there is a better walking beach that is more spectacular or less crowded,or if there are better oceanview rooms at a better price.we have not as yet encountered them.My daughter was surprised I would pay the money for an oceanview room as we always use discount hotel services and never pay full price.This was twice the price we typically dish out for a night.But after the perfect day we spent at the beach here even she admitted that it was money well spent,indeed a high point of our trip.There may be better rooms and hotels in Brandon,I can recommend this one.Please don't try and save money by booking any room unseen,no matter the price...each location and each room offer a unique experience IMO.I look forward to returning here should the opportunity arise.

Room Tip: Upper floor Vern Brown adittion
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevo3808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce-Longland, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you Stevo3808 for staying with us and posting your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing your family in the future. -Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALTIMORE
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The pluses, great location, walk to one of the best parts of the beach, friendly staff.

The negatives: Most of everything else. Admittedly, we had the cheaper room. It was tiny, looked like a 1960's throw back, was noisy, ancient TV, and the wifi mostly did not work. Even wifi in the lobby, while better, sometimes did not work. We would not stay there again. Windmere is much pricier, but worth the money.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WALTER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce-Longland, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you Walter S for staying with us and writing a review. We have heard some complaints on our wifi in the past. To remedy the problem, we decided to our upgrade our whole system to exceed current demand. We hope to earn your business again. -Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
1.0 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
0.5 mi away
Table Rock Motel
Table Rock Motel
#6 of 12 in Bandon
346 reviews
20.6 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
569 reviews
18.6 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
1.3 mi away
Lighthouse Cove Inn
Lighthouse Cove Inn
#7 of 12 in Bandon
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Oceanfront Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Oceanfront Lodging

Property: Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
Address: 1865 Beach Loop Dr SW, P.O. Box 373, Bandon, OR 97411-8802
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Oceanfront Lodging 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on high ground overlooking a sandy beach, majestic sea stacks and the Pacific Ocean, Sunset Oceanfront Lodging offers beach access and a variety of accommodations. Family owned and operated since 1936. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset Oceanfront Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging Hotel Bandon
Sunset Hotel Bandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing