We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Yes, the view is fantastic. If it were not for that, this place would be very poor indeed. Our oceanfront room in a building built in 1988 was clean, I'll give it that but so past its "best before" date. Very old and tired. The young woman at the front desk was not friendly, she seemed tired and uninterested in us. And the "breakfast" the next morning was awful. I had to pay $1.50 for a bottle of oj and $1.50 for a bottle of water. To add insult to injury, the oj was past it's best before date. The steps down to the beach were dirty, unswept and rusty. All in all, the poorest accommodation on a 10 day trip to Oregon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trixie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 390 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Went during the winter and did get in some sunny days. Our room was looking right at the ocean. The staff was very friendly and let us look at our units for return trips. Have been to Bandon in the summer but winter it is a different place. The shops down town are not crowed and the workers love to talk about the city. We are a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is my favorite Spot on the Oregon coast and my first pick for a place to stay in Bandon. I have been coming here since 1985. It is still owned by the same family, 4 generations now. I find it very important to check out your room first! They have a variety of accommodations, large and small, some new and modern, AND some old, rustic & funky. All rooms are clean, well appointed, quiet. Some of the rustic rooms do have a slight musty smell. This has not been a problem for me but my fiend insisted we upgrade to the newer Vern Brown addition. Most rooms have private ocean-viewing balconies, decks or patios that overlook the sandy beach and the majestic sea stacks and the Pacific Ocean. Some rooms have wood burning fireplaces. The sunsets here are incredible. The Inn offers numerous locations for beach access, this is the best beach for a walk or playing in the sand.

Room Tip: Do you like modern or rustic? I enjoy both depends on who I am traveling with. I would recommend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose-Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed 2 nights each at 3 different types of lodging on our way up the coast during our amazing 13 day Oregon Road Trip. The view from Sunset was splendid (when the fog was not too thick). We enjoyed the balcony, fireplace and walks on the beautiful beach. Continental breakfast was packaged muffins, yogurt and coffee---nothing fancy, but satisfying. The room was larger than a typical hotel room with a kitchenette and table and chairs. It was clean and charming, but dated. The Lord Bennet Restaurant is right across the road and, although we did not eat there, looked fabulous! Bandon has a quaint "Old town" right on a small harbor with fish shacks, candy stores and other touristy things. All in all, the Sunset was a great choice for a fine room with an amazing view in a picturesque little coastal town.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Vern Brown addition, right on the beach. Top floor is level with the street and 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakeshish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

While touring the Oregon Coast along Pacific coast Hyw. 101 we stopped in Bandon, OR. on 9/01/2012. We have stayed at the Sunset Ocean Lodge before and enjoyed it so much we just had to return. There is quite a selection of different buildings to stay in, but we prefer the Vern Brown addition. We have stayed in both corner rooms 350 and 356. The view from these rooms is the best on the Oregon Coast, and rivals Haystack Rock in Cannon Beach. The room is very large, clean, and considering the view, reasonably priced. It has a balcony, small refrig. The room is about 50' above the beach, so you have to walk down quite a few steps to get to the beach, but it's worth it.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the west side of Beach Loop Drive. Level "A" (upper floor) is less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

About a week before Labor Day we decided to go North. We needed a place for Saturday night since we had reservations in Gold Beach for Sunday and after doing some research found that most all the places from Crescent City north were either booked or too expensive. So after finding this place mentioned in Sunset Magazine decided to reserve it so at least we would have something, but we were not expecting much. I originally reserved the least expensive non-view room but my traveling companion talked me into upgrading to a view room. We were lucky that they still had one in the original section but we were not expecting much since it was under $100 and view rooms usually do not come at that price. What a wonderful surprise! The view from our room was fabulous and the room was clean with a very comfortable bed. They had two chairs instead of the usual one in a motel so we could both sit at the sliding door and enjoy the view while we ate. The room was not fancy, sort of rustic, but had a mini fridge and simple basics. My companion used the indoor pool and thought it was fine but not quite as warm as I like so I didn't go in. We both like to read in bed and as another reviewer had mentioned the bed lights were too low to sit under but we had our own reading lights so managed just fine. They told us they had a continental breakfast which was just coffee and packaged muffins but we were not expecting anything so that was ok. There are steps to the beach but the motel is on a cliff so it is a fairly steep climb back up and they had a faucet that people were using to wash sand off their feet. One of the things we noticed was that they arranged the parking lot so that everyone could see the view without having to look directly at a car parked in front of their window. We thought that was a nice touch and are looking forward to going back again. All the people at the front desk were very helpful when we asked for suggestions or directions. Sunset does have more deluxe rooms and if we were going to be there for an extended stay we might upgrade to one of those. Wonderful time at Sunset !!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sumtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The lobby looked great, the room was funky. Bathroom was scary. TV was tiny- that is ok- but not for over 90. dollars. I felt it was overpriced for the quality.Great beach! Don't miss the beach- even if it is windy! It is just awesome.
Staff was friendly. Town is nice!

Room Tip: Look at the room first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecwillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
1 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
0.4 mi away
Table Rock Motel
Table Rock Motel
#7 of 12 in Bandon
367 reviews
20.6 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Windermere on the Beach
1.3 mi away
Lighthouse Cove Inn
Lighthouse Cove Inn
#5 of 12 in Bandon
129 reviews
1 mi away
La Kris Inn
La Kris Inn
#8 of 12 in Bandon
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Oceanfront Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Oceanfront Lodging

Address: 1865 Beach Loop Dr SW, P.O. Box 373, Bandon, OR 97411-8802
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bandon
Price Range: $69 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Oceanfront Lodging 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on high ground overlooking a sandy beach, majestic sea stacks and the Pacific Ocean, Sunset Oceanfront Lodging offers beach access and a variety of accommodations. Family owned and operated since 1936. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Sunset Oceanfront Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging Hotel Bandon
Sunset Hotel Bandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing