We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Golf Resort, for guys...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bandon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bandon Dunes Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, WA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Golf Resort, for guys...”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Bandon Dunes is one of the premier golf resorts in the USA. The service is just as outstanding as the golf courses. It is NOT a family desitnation, unless everyone plays golf. It is very expensive, but worth doing if the budget allows.

Room Tip: Some cabins have a room above, our neighbors were loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CowDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    70
    22
    12
    1
See reviews for
45
125
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I'll preface this by saying that I am obviously biased because this recent trip was about my tenth. I have come in all 4 seasons, with various combinations of friends and family and have played great, not so well and horrible. But I have ALWAYS had an absolutely wonderful time. No question this is a place for those who really love golf. Not cushy, country club golf with soft weather, power carts and forgiving greens. Those who enjoy a challenge, different with each of the 4 brilliant courses will want to come back (like myself) over and over.

The accomodations vary and I can speak knowledgably about the main lodge ( cozy and simple but very convenient) and the Chrome Lake cottages (very spacious in a beautiful setting). My only complaint is no bathtubs to soak the legs and back after 36 holes of walking a day.

The shuttle service is very efficient and unless you want to take a run into Bandon town for bandaids or a wonderful little Mexican place....you don't need your vehicle at all.

In response to some of the other reviews....I've played lots in Ireland and Scotland, Whistling Straits and Kiawah. There are courses in the Old Country that are as good (probably not better....maybe County Down) but not 4 in one spot. There is nowhere else in the US that comes close.

But I don't really care if others don't like it. Would hate to see it get any busier!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank splotchya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just got back from playing all the courses and our group of 4 had a great time. We had wind, fog, mist and blazing sun, and it was exactly what we expected. Tough to say which course was my favorite, although I liked Old MacDonald the least. If you have time, grab a few beers and play The Preserve (par 3 course) in the evening...great cap to a day of 18 or 36 and when we played have the shots were blind into the fog it was so thick, but made for a super cool expereince. Tee box markers point you in the correct direction, and you have to rely on the yardage of your clubs to put you on.

Negatives - could use some revamping the menus as each place was generally the same, which left me with heartburn each night. Breakfasts and lunches were great, just seem to be missing something when it comes to dinner time meals. Also, give yourself a little extra time when arranging shuttles within the resort.

Bottom line, this is one of the best golf experiences you can have in North America. Its tough to get to, which makes it so good once you are there. Top notch locale, great views, beautiful layout of the courses and excellent service at the resort. Over the past three years, our group has played Torrey Pines, RTJ Golf Trail in Alabama, Erin Hills and Whistling Straits in Wisconsin....this ranks pretty much at the top (except for maybe W.S. :)

Room Tip: There were complaints about A/C in the rooms from another post...we didn't have this issue at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Great scenery. Lots of wind. Rock hard greens, fairways and ground in general. ROOMS HAVE NO AC. My room was very hot. Not sure I will ever go back. If you like this type of golf I would recommend Arcadia bluffs in Michigan or whistling straits in Wisconsin. Much better.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angels Camp, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just got back and played all 5 courses in 2 1/2 days. Don't miss the Preserve, a wonderful par 3 layout with stunning views. The courses were all different and hard to really tell which one was my favorite. Practice hitting irons off very tight lies before you come. The tight lies and wind will mess with your head because they are constant and if you don't play in wind a lot you will force your swing. Practice very long putts because you will have a lot of them and you will putt from off the green many times a round. The views are fabulous. You just have to see it to believe it. I can't express that enough. We tried all 3 dinner restaurants and found the food delicious. Just park your car and never have to get in it again. They will shuttle you everywhere, even to dinner, and they will locker your clubs, deliver them to the course you want or the practice area with hospitality and a smile. We found the rooms to be just fine because we are playing 36 a day, so you spend so little time there. Read what you can about the resort and do a little research. I read the book "Dream Golf " before I came and it just enhanced my experience. We had a caddy and that added such extra value to our whole playing time. The caddy probably saved me 5 strokes a round and he was marvelous. Because you are walking ( most do 36 a day ) and the wind swept fairways are hard I recommend the softest shoe you can wear. Your feet will thank you. I wear the Echo shoes but I could have easily worn a comfortable trail shoe. Remember this, the resort is "all about golf", every second of the day. Embrace it and you will have a great time.

Room Tip: The rooms are designed for golfers and not for lounging around in all day. You are supposed to be o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitchell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Bar none, the best true golf vacation anyone can take outside Scotland or Ireland. Five outstanding courses with impeccable service catering to golf, golf, and more golf. Some observations...
1. July, August September offer the best weather
2. Get a caddie...they know the courses and are a must if you want proper lines off the tee and on the greens....knowing where not to miss is more important than hitting good shots...don't miss where your caddie tells you not to
3. Cobb salad in the Gallery for lunch...try pot stickers and wings too
4. Roasted chicken and meatloaf are can't miss
5. Bandon Trails is a fabulous .... But pails into comparison to the other four
6. Play Old Mac in the morning....and tear up the scorecard before you tee off
7. Old Mac plays between two dunes which funnel the winds......if it's windy on the other courses, which it is, then it's worse at Old Mac....try not to play in the afternoon
8. Play each course once in the morning and once in the afternoon....
9. Bandon Dunes is the most playable for an afternoon round
10. Pacific Dunes is #1 for a reason....beats out Old Mac only because of the seaside vistas
11. Service and staff are impeccable, except for the restaurants in the Lodge where service is hit and miss.
12. Play the Preserve for your second round of the day....use the backboards and sideboards for fun shotmaking and bring your camera....some of the best views are at various points on this fun par 3 course....use a putter for your tee shot down the left side on #13 to finish your round.....it doesn't look like it, but it is the easiest way to get to a right pin
13. Greens at Old Mac are the fastest of the courses
14. Learn to hit the ball low from thin lies BEFORE you get there
15. Get cheapest room available.....you won't spend much time there so why pay more
16. Check your bill before checkout...we had several instances of other people using our names to charge stuff to our room....resort took care of it, but not before pulling each and every ticket to compare signatures
17. Book as early as possible to get your preferred tee time (12 months or more for peak season play)
18. Take pictures, take pictures, take pictures
19. Pacific and Old Mac are just plain tough when you factor in the wind ...and will take a toll on you mentally.....the others are no slouches either..... Forget your score and have fun
20. Bring a low bouce wedge and a high bounce wedge....bunkers are not always the same and you may need one on a hole and the other on the next
21. 36 a day is a tough task..suggest not doing it back to back days
22. Bring Advil, sunscreen and Chapstick....along with tape for your fingers
23. Pacific Dunes and McKee's are good dinner choices, but get a reservation, otherwise you risk being sol
24. Drop the ego and move up a set of tees....if your used to hitting it 275 off the tee, expect 215 into the wind when you really hammer one....consider a hard ball to drop spin....not going to drop and stop anywhere at Bandon even with ProV1 and a new wedge

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GeauxTiguhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had the opportunity to golf three of the five courses of this resort. They are challenging but fair, with beautiful scenery and wildlife nestled on the bluffs above the Pacific Ocean. Worth every penny.

Make sure you have a caddie so you can enjoy the golf and the walk. Our caddie Ciaran was extremely knowledgeable and provided excellant caddie services.

It is true that the beds in the rooms are not top notch, but you are here to golf. It is not a spa resort, it is strictly a golf resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dandkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
7.1 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
6.3 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
15.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
14.6 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
176 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lighthouse Cove Inn
Lighthouse Cove Inn
#6 of 12 in Bandon
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandon Dunes Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandon Dunes Golf Resort

Property: Bandon Dunes Golf Resort
Address: 57744 Round Lake Rd, Bandon, OR 97411-6360
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bandon
#6 Family Hotel in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Bandon Dunes Golf Hotel Bandon
Bandon Dunes Resort
Bandon Dunes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing