We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reservation problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Knights Inn Baker City
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Reservation problems”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were moving and arrived in La Grande, Oregon (42 miles away) to eat dinner about 4:30 p.m. Since we were towing a 26' travel trailer loaded with many boxes of our things, we reserved a room in Baker City for the night. We left the restaurant to continue our trip and imagine our horror when we discovered we had 2 flat tires on our travel trailer. By that time it was too late to arrange to have them repaired. I immediately contacted the motel/trip advisor to cancel the reservation. They denied my request and sent the charge to my credit card. We ended up staying at a Rodeway Inn in LaGrande for nearly $10 less and VERY nice people who told me they don't feel right about not accepting cancellations! The room was very satisfactory in all respects. We often travel this route and will sadly definitely avoid The Knight's Inn location.

Room Tip: Since we couldn't stay some of the items are unknowns
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroweLLC, Owner at Knights Inn Baker City, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I am sorry to hear about the 2 flat tires you had while on the road, but we are glad you still made it safely. When you make a Pre-Paid reservation with an Online Travel Agency, one of the agreements is that there is a no cancellation policy. Since you made the reservation online originally, you need to deal with the website you reserved with, unfortunately there is not much we can do from our end. Had you called us here at the Hotel directly, we could have had more flexibility with the cancellation. Sorry you had such a difficult experience with the Online Travel Agency, hopefully when you come through Baker City again you will be able to be a guest with us and enjoy your stay in this beautiful historic town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    34
    16
    16
    7
See reviews for
27
26
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The owners were very friendly and answered every quesiton we had. Even gave us a great dinner restaurant! The wifi was strong. The room and bathroom were very clean and nice. A great variety of t.v. channels. This was way better than the other hotels we have stayed in. Will most defiently be staying here when we are back in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheyenne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was much happier staying at Knights Inn than I was at Best Western one month earlier. The room at Best Western may have been fancier but being up all night from the noise in the hall and the rooms around me wasn't worth the complimentary paper towels. My favorite part of my stay at Knights Inn Baker City was the man that checked me in and out. It was a pleasure to talk to him. I appreciated his suggestions on where to eat. The woman who checked me in at Best Western was rude and very unfriendly. It was a great experience for a great price. If you want a fancy tv and a spa then your choice is Best Western. If you just want a clean, safe and affordable room with great staff then you should choose Knights Inn. I had a better wifi connection at Knights Inn too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelle-Davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were trying to pull an all nighter and couldn't make it... Stopped here very late. They were very welcoming and friendly. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I never review anything so it is saying something that I am writing this!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clatskanie, OR, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place is an older property but our room was good, it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The managers were nice and accommodating giving us an excellent selection to eat, explained some of the sites to see if we had time. We would come back for sure. We had a nice selection for our Continental breakfast our only complaint would be the rude guest that insisted on talking loudly on her cell phone while people were trying to eat and have our own conversations. People need to have lessons on cell phone use there is a place and time to use them and in a small area where other people don't want to know what is going on is not the place.
I am glad we stayed here and will recommend this place to others

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel while we were in town for 2 nights for a wedding. This is an older property but the rooms were very clean and completely adequate for us. The location is great and we were able to explore historic Baker City on foot. The property is owned by a charming young couple who are working on renovating it. They were extremely warm, friendly and helpful and we will definitely stay there again if in the area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Motownbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I'm glad we arrived quite late, so we didn't have to endure any longer than necessary--I only wish we'd brought sleeping pills to help dull the disturbing experience.

- First of all, the place was very unclean. Including the walls, carpet and bed. But the first thing that hits you when entering is the foul and indescribably acrid stench.
- The bathroom has to be one of the worst I've seen; complete with creaky/sticky floors, that had random holes in it. Not to mention the disgustingly old toilet seat.
- The fridge had a bunch of rust inside...perhaps we should have just put our provisions in the freezing cold pool. Which by the way, is outside. So unless you're preparing for a polar bear plunge--the pool is not applicable, outside of summer.
- Their WIFI barely had signal, and our cell phone reception was even worse. So forget calling for help, if Bubba decides to join you for the night.
- Breakfast is quite revolting, unless you're okay with consuming objects that are shaped like food and consist of chemicals and air.

In conclusion, I'm sure it was JUST this room that had all the issues. However, they also tried to con us out of an extra $10, on top of their standard $10 corporate pet policy, for one, small pet...anyway, there a much cheaper places, closer to the highway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Hill_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroweLLC, Owner at Knights Inn Baker City, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for our motel. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Most of the guests we have understand that this motel and town are older, and that renovations are ongoing.

We maintain our facilities to the best of our ability. Yes, our carpeting is old, however, it is steam cleaned regularly. Our linens are changed after each guest, and our cleaning staff has a fairly extensive check list. It is unfortunate, but quite common that buildings constructed in the 60's may have a creak in the bathroom floor. As to the pool. If you look on our website, we are listed as having a "seasonal outdoor pool". If it is cold outside, as it has been here (getting into the 30's since late August), there is a good chance that the pool may also be cold. Baker City is serviced only by DSL internet, sometimes there is very little signal. We broadcast it as best we can, but when there is no signal, there is no signal, and unless you are on Verizon, you will not receive much if any cell phone signal as Verizon is the only carrier that covers our small town. Our breakfast is a simple continental breakfast. We do not offer fresh cooked eggs and pancakes. We do offer quality muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt, juice and several other options. Seeing as this is a complimentary offering we feel it to be quite extensive, and a fair value given the cost of your nights stay.

I am not sure how we tried to con you out of money. We are very up front about our prices and fees. Perhaps you were unaware of the Oregon Lodging Tax of 8%, which can often catch travelers by surprise. We always strive to provide a clean comfortable room, while being among the most economic options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baker City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baker City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bridge Street Inn
The Bridge Street Inn
#4 of 10 in Baker City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Sunridge Inn
Best Western Sunridge Inn
#1 of 10 in Baker City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
1.5 mi away
Always Welcome Inn
Always Welcome Inn
#8 of 10 in Baker City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Geiser Grand Hotel
Geiser Grand Hotel
#2 of 10 in Baker City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eldorado Inn
Eldorado Inn
#6 of 10 in Baker City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Baker City
Rodeway Inn Baker City
#5 of 10 in Baker City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Baker City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Baker City

Property: Knights Inn Baker City
Address: 2205 Broadway St, Baker City, OR 97814-3345 (Formerly Budget Inn Baker City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Baker City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Baker City 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
36 Rooms, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Knights Inn Baker City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker City Budget Inn
Knights Inn Baker City Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing