We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills but excellent place to stay”
Review of Always Welcome Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Always Welcome Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We come to Baker City 4 times year. Always clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. No smoking. Free wifi. If you don't need the room service and gym, try this place. Very close to town and right off the frreeway with no highway noise.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rtincath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 69 of 69 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is a gem on the way to the Oregon Coast. The rooms are clean and in very good shape, very quiet and the owner is very happy to help with visiting places in the area. I would have given this motel a 20 if I could have. I too enjoyed playing with Maggie the family dog, made it seem like a little piece of home 1,565 miles from home! The price was great too!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mkm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stay here whenever we come to Baker City. The rooms are clean and quiet. The view from the motel is great. You have to call them to make a reservation, they don't allow pets but they do have the nicest family dog that lives with them at the motel that will beg you to throw its ball all day long. It is near the freeway and easy to find, look for the big neon MOTEL sign on the front of the building.

Room Tip: No elevator, access to the second floor on via stairs. Rooms on the east side of the motel are a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wasted_Potential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stop here frequently on our trips south and have always had a good experience. The rooms are immaculate and the beds are comfy. The staff are very helpful and friendly. They check the road conditions for us in the winter so we know what we are facing on our next day of travel. Although it is visible from the freeway, it is very peaceful and every room has a great view of Baker Valley.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanuckNeighbors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Rooms was a little dirty. Hairs around sink, on bed and smelled like smoke and old men. But very quiet, clean sheets and friendly staff. Quoted a lower price on phone then charged more. Probably wouldn't stay here again even for $65/night.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaStarSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

This place delivers on what it promises, which isn't a whole lot. That isn't necessarily a bad thing though. The site says the following things are available:

TV With DTV - Yes, it is available. Seemed to work properly for us. Some people will complain because the TVs are still tubes, but it worked fine. Only issue we had was the power button on the remote did not work, but all of the other buttons did.

WIFI - Yes, it is available. It wasn't perfect, but we were able to surf the internet. They have a firewall in place and it is blocking almost all outgoing ports. So if you just want to surf the 'net with regular ports 80 and 443, you're good to go. But don't expect to be able to stay here and work like you were in your office.

Microwave - Present? Yes. Working? Unknown. We did not try it out.

Mini Fridge - Yep, present and worked quite well. It is one of the tiny ones though, so don't expect to store a lot of stuff in it.

Table & Chair - Yep. As expected.

Outstanding Housekeeping - For the most part. Our room was pretty darn clean, with the exception of some dust on the toilet tank's top. This appeared to be related to no one staying in this room for a while. Other than that, it was pretty clean.

Continental Breakfast - If this place has any major drawbacks or flaws, this is it. The website say "continental breakfast." Granted this term is very open to interpretation. The only options available were mini oranges, apples, and danishes. The danish I'm referring to are the kind that you get in a wrapper at the gas station. Good in a pinch or when you want a sweet dessert, but certainly not a breakfast. I believe there was also coffee, but not tea, milk, juice or water.

Other notes - wasn't possible use the microsoft, fridge, and coffee maker at the same time. Probably not a problem, just thought I'd mention it. If it was really busy, parking might become an issue. There appears to some be older vehicles (maybe even antiques) that take up a few spots. Desk staff wasn't overly friendly. She wasn't rude or unfriendly, just did not go out of her way to be friendly with us. There was some sort of archaeological dig taking place on their property, but she made no mention of it. I think for what you get, it might be a little overpriced, but I'm also cheap. Now, would I stay here again? Probably if I ever had to stay in BC, I would certainly consider it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoiseBronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baker City hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Sunridge Inn
Best Western Sunridge Inn
#1 of 10 in Baker City
1,006 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Bridge Street Inn
The Bridge Street Inn
#4 of 10 in Baker City
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eldorado Inn
Eldorado Inn
#6 of 10 in Baker City
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Geiser Grand Hotel
Geiser Grand Hotel
#2 of 10 in Baker City
807 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Baker City
Rodeway Inn Baker City
#5 of 10 in Baker City
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Baker City
Super 8 Baker City
#3 of 10 in Baker City
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Always Welcome Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Always Welcome Inn

Address: 175 Campbell St, Baker City, OR 97814-2267
Location: United States > Oregon > Baker City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Price Range: $52 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Always Welcome Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baker Citys newest motel, closest to the Oregon Trail Interpritive Center. We will treat you right at the Always Welcome Inn. Located on the East with a panoramic view of Baker Valley from every room. All rooms are larger, cleaner and quieter. Staff is friendly, efficient and helpful. Always Welcome Inn is highest in customer satisfaction. AAA's Via magazine said: "The Always Welcome Inn is Baker City's Best Value." We have a 9 hole mini golf on sight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Always Welcome Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Always Welcome Inn Baker City, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing