We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful museum!!”

Baker Heritage Museum
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Baker City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in the former Natatorium, 33,000 sq ft of permanent and changing exhibits tell the stories of the real people and businesses that developed the region following the discovery of gold in the mountains nearby the Oregon Trail. Home to the world renowned Cavin Warfel Rock Collection, one of the largest in the western US.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum!!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I visited some family in Baker city and went to the museum with them. What a fantastic museum! I was so impressed with the realism and authenticity in the displays. Everything was so well put together. Given the size of baker I wasn't expecting such an educational, impressive display. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Baker city! The rock display was amazing as well! We probably spent a little more than a hour in there which is easy to do if you wanna see everything. My favorite display was the children's classroom from the early 1900's on the 2nd floor, awesome. My family and I had a great time viewing the displays. Wonderful, welcoming staff as well!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Okhulme22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    27
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dixie, washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Museum”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I enjoyed this museum so much. I recommend it to anyone going through Baker City, Oregon. It is fun and the feel of the pioneers comes alive. I loved the old city jail log!!! What a hoot! How times have changed!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank joanne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisse10, Manager at Baker Heritage Museum, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We have a great time telling the story of our history. So glad you enjoyed your visit! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome History Presented Perfectly!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was such an incredible find! It was charming from the outside, and truly a first class museum throughout. The tour guide was amazingly knowledgeable and the entire staff was so overwhelmingly kind and generous that they even stayed open late for us by more than an hour! It was truly a great find the whole family, parents as well as a 7, 11, and a 16 year old, enjoyed and we all learned something new that will forever stay with us because of the way it was displayed and presented. The rock collection they have is especially amazing and not to be missed! Just amazing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Marti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisse10, Manager at Baker Heritage Museum, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
All of us at the museum enjoy sharing the story of our local history. Thank you for your visit, and for taking the time to write this review. We deeply appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“so much to see would have taken days-great”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Almost being close enough to touch the history of my state.
the replicas of drs. offices,mining equipment,old vehicles-so
much. The building was a natatorium at one time. Great gift
shop.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisse10, Manager at Baker Heritage Museum, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting us. We have a great story to tell, and are glad you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not your normal local museum”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were really impressed with this museum given its size and location. There is a display for everyone's taste. The dioramas/exhibition layouts are some of the best I have seen. The rock collection was impressive, and would have been impressive in any large city museum. Plan 1-2 hours depending on how much you like to read the information on each display.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank TiffanySG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisse10, Manager at Baker Heritage Museum, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your visit Tiffany, and for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baker Heritage Museum also viewed

 

Been to Baker Heritage Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing