We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your normal local museum”

Baker Heritage Museum
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Baker City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in the former Natatorium, 33,000 sq ft of permanent and changing exhibits tell the stories of the real people and businesses that developed the region following the discovery of gold in the mountains nearby the Oregon Trail. Home to the world renowned Cavin Warfel Rock Collection, one of the largest in the western US.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not your normal local museum”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were really impressed with this museum given its size and location. There is a display for everyone's taste. The dioramas/exhibition layouts are some of the best I have seen. The rock collection was impressive, and would have been impressive in any large city museum. Plan 1-2 hours depending on how much you like to read the information on each display.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank TiffanySG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisse10, Manager at Baker Heritage Museum, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your visit Tiffany, and for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    27
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fall City, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“History of My Town”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This building contains the history of my town. Always love bringing out of town friends here to give them a feel for who we are and why Baker is here. Growing up my favorite exhibit was the black light rock room, and even now, the rock collection is definitely one of the highlights for me.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baker City, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This museum is packed”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

A very dedicated staff will relate the history of the region. There is such
variety from costumes, mining artifacts, gems, furniture, pioneer tools,
and more. This was once the site of a pioneer swimming pool and
ballroom. Very diverse.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Marvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisse10, Manager at Baker Heritage Museum, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your visit and review! We change the exhibits every year, so please come back to see "Baker Bands and High Society" this year in our Central Gallery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, OR
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“My wife doesn't like museums, yet she was entertained for 3 hours.”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were impressed by the wide variety of displays and exhibits...Many related to history in the Baker City area and lots of others that could represent the early days of almost anywhere in the United States.

'Lots of specialized exhibits, ie: geology, wildlife, mining....you name it.

After your museum visit, plan on having a picnic lunch in the beautiful city park across the street from the museum and then head a couple miles East to the Oregon Trail Commemorative Center. You'll have a day that'll stick in your mind for a long, long time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank kennuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Glowing rocks”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was a fun little museum. Lots of area history exhibits. In fact, its housed in the originsl municiple pool building. Kids especially liked the glow in the dark rock exhibit. There's a nice park across the street too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Erika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baker Heritage Museum also viewed

 

Been to Baker Heritage Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing