We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oregon Trail Interpretive Center”

National Historic Oregon Trail Interpretive Center
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Baker City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Historic Oregon Trail Interpretive Center offers living history demonstrations, interpretive programs, exhibits, multi-media presentations, special events, and more than four miles of interpretive trails. We offer a variety of interpretive programs and special exhibits year-round. One mile of well-preserved ruts lie on the Interpretive Center grounds, and are accessible by the trails or from a turnout on Highway 86 about a half-mile west of the Center's entrance.
Portland, OR
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Oregon Trail Interpretive Center”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We had a wonderful time at this center. The folks working there were helpful and we even happened to go at a time when there was a real wagon train traveling through. A nice ending to a disappointing flea market in Sumpter!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank jeves_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    76
    11
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent interpretive center, lots of information, gave a feel for the Trail”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is an excellent interpretive center and includes a chronological "trip" on the Oregon Trail, including a very good series of brief videos of reenactments. I really gained a feel for the incredible hardships of the journey. There are outdoor trails (paved) as well and a piece of original swales from the wagons on the trail. The center itself is lovely with giant windows. It is up high so you can see where the actual trail went. Don't miss this interpretive center, it is really a good one! Also, there is a lot of up to date material, brochures, maps, etc. for other places. This is a national center, so there is a fee, unless you have the National Parks Pass Card.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jillben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Most well-done historical center we've ever visited.”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Presents the Oregon Trail and its hardships in a most realistic way with life-sized dioramas, videos, things to touch, and well-informed docents. We spent a full three hours there recently and everyone in our party (ages 8 to 75) was thoroughly enthralled. We all got in free with my husband's senior national parks pass.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank LNaydene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A fun way to get an education on the pioneers real lives.”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

This place is great. We spent several hours going through the path set up to give an acurate discription of the oregon trail and what the everyday life would have been as a pioneer. I especially enjoyed reading what the women had to say in their journals, describing what their roles were.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank carrigowilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, and Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent for Young and Old”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

There are many museums and exhibits telling the 19th Century emigrant story, but this must be one of the best. Located on a hill-top just outside Baker City, It looks down upon part of the Oregon Trail, to the extent that the ruts of wagon wheels are still visible. Inside the center is an exhibit that recounts the emigrant experience for visitors of all ages; outside, there are wagon wheels and a lode mine and trails of vaious lengths. If you are in Eastern Oregon, don't miss this attraction.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank JohnPGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Historic Oregon Trail Interpretive Center also viewed

 

Been to National Historic Oregon Trail Interpretive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing