We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful place”
Review of Geiser Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Geiser Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delightful place”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed one night while on a biking trip around Eastern Oregon. We had a gorgeous room with comfortable and beautiful furniture and bedding. The hotel was lovingly restored to perfection, and we particularly enjoyed the stained glass ceiling in the dining room and the old photos and explanations downstairs. It was easy to walk around downtown from the hotel. While the hotel was not able to provide storage for our car for the 6 days we were out cycling, they did refer us to a local garage that could do that for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyMarkontandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    160
    53
    43
    88
See reviews for
152
410
28
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed there in May and was very impressed with the restoration and quality of the rooms. The attention to detail was wonderful and the service top notch. Looking forward to visiting again in July.

Charles, Denver, CO

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charles l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Our first trip to the Geiser Grand was wonderful. Classic charm , large rooms , high windows, friedly staff. Pasta night was a great meal all around. Downtown is very easy to walk and enjoy the local attractions. We will make a return trip for sure !!

Room Tip: Corner suite was very large and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We reserved rooms at the Geiser Grand Hotel for one night while on a road trip of eastern Oregon. We thought the place was historically beautiful. Our room was large with antique furniture, 12 ft. ceilings with high windows and pulled back curtains. The bathroom was all tiled and had a 7 ft. high large shower head, it was wonderful. The bed was firm but very comfortable. We had reservations for the Palm Room downstairs for dinner. I very much enjoyed my dinner: two glasses of Pinot, French bread, mixed green salad and a Seafood Cioppino, which was delicious and I topped it off with a Whisky Soaked Bread Pudding. My wife had the same with a glass of Chardonnay and a delightful piece of Key Lime Pie. Erika, our waitress was a delight and made us feel like royalty.

Room Tip: Call ahead for reservations. All rooms are quiet as the town is not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I have stayed at the Geiser Grand Hotel 3 times and each time the staff has been extremely friendly and helpful. The food has always been great. I went for their Christmas Brunch and there was so much to choice from and all of it was great. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The structure is beautiful. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAMECM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our wonderful experience with Geiser Grand began with our phone reservation which was handled with professionalism and courtesy. It kept getting better from there. We were upgraded to a beautiful room with a view of the Blue Mountains. Dinner was delicious and the service was fine. The beds were comfortable. Breakfast was served quickly and was also delicious. We plan to return to enjoy both the ambiance and the friendly knowledgeable staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains to the West.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I have stayed at the Geiser Grand Hotel before, but I doubt that I will ever stay there again when visiting Baker City, Oregon. The hotel itself is historic and the rooms were spacious, but other elements of our stay there were quite disappointing. The hotel staff seemed to be clueless at times and were less than helpful when problems arose. I would not encourage anyone to dine at the hotel--service was poor and the waitress was rude. It took nearly an hour before food arrived even though we had reservations for our meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank metric57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baker City hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Sunridge Inn
Best Western Sunridge Inn
#1 of 10 in Baker City
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bridge Street Inn
The Bridge Street Inn
#4 of 10 in Baker City
185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eldorado Inn
Eldorado Inn
#5 of 10 in Baker City
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Always Welcome Inn
Always Welcome Inn
#7 of 10 in Baker City
63 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Baker City
Rodeway Inn Baker City
#6 of 10 in Baker City
124 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Baker City
Super 8 Baker City
#3 of 10 in Baker City
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geiser Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geiser Grand Hotel

Property: Geiser Grand Hotel
Address: 1996 Main St, Baker City, OR 97814-3350
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Baker City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Geiser Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Geiser Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geiser Grand Baker City
Hotel Geiser Grand
Geiser Grand Hotel Baker City, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing