We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, clean and well maintained, with friendly staff!”
Review of Geiser Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Geiser Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful, clean and well maintained, with friendly staff!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Geiser for only 1 night on our way home. Took the least expensive room at.$109 per night. This 1889 hotel is beautiful and very well maintained. We were hoping to encounter one of the resident spirits, but nothing unusual occurred. However, we had a couple greats spirits in the hotel pub. The room was spacious and very clean. My only regret was not getting a larger suite. We could have saved $25 and stayed at the chain hotel in Baker City, but we weren't happy with that hotel in Feb., so the Geiser was definitely worth the few extra dollars. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Next year we will try to stay a couple nights.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norstor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    160
    53
    43
    87
See reviews for
152
408
28
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here for business and it was an absolutely wonderful experience. The king room had a great bed, nice high ceilings and the bathroom was enormous. They have tea available in the morning in the library. The appetizers in the bar were quite good. I had a couple of their pinot gris' which were good. The TVs are a bit heavy for the armoire's and it kept wanting to slide forward. It does take a few minutes for the water to heat up, which is a bit of a waste of water in an area that doesn't have a ton of water to waste.

Overall, I recommend this hotel and found the staff to be very attentive and helpful. It is well worth the trip into the downtown area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wife and I stayed two nights coming back to oregon from a ski trip to bogus basin. We skiied one day at Anthony lakes, just outside of Baker. Hotel gave us 1/2 price coupons (you have to ask when you make the reservation.) Room was quite large with great old high ceilings. Not quite as nice as the Ashland Springs, but at less than half the price it was good value. Very clean. Comfortable beds. Despite a posted warning that hot water might take up to 20 minutes to get hot, it came on hot in 20 seconds. Perhaps if you're the first room in the hotel tn trun on the hot water in the morning, you have to wait a while? Service was prompt and helpful. Breakfast was not included in the room price but an excellent breakfast was availalbe in the restaraunt for a very reasonable price. Dinner was good but a little expensive. Service at both was good to excellent. No coffee maker or frig in the rooms, but I suspect the wiring could not handle such things. Really good free coffee service beginning at 5:30 in a central location. The heating system was effective but, as noted by others, noisy - but it quickly turned into a white noise and not noticed unless you really listened for it. First Friday in Baker was a pleasant surprise - some decent galleries in old Baker. If we go back, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonPerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 2 nights at the hotel, once while on our way to Idaho and again on the return trip.

The first night's stay was delightful. We found the history of the hotel to be fascinating and our room was very comfortable.

Our second night was a bit less wonderful. Room 215, while large and comfortable, has a noisy heating system which can be very annoying.

As we had eaten in the dining room the first night and found the food very good, we were surprised when the second dinner did not measure up. The crab cakes which I ordered were very spicy, much spicier than the norm. I ordered the accompanying wine, which was the Geiser Grand Pinot Gris. About all I can say about this particular wine is that it would make good paint remover. Very disappointing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was well worth driving off the freeway and passing by the chain motels so that we could experience something unique...and the hotel is indeed unique, historic and fun with a good bar and a solid restaurant. As you might imagine in a town of about 10,000 it might be hard to have a full complement of professional staff. While our overall service was very good and all of the staff were fun and eager to please, you have to understand that they are doing their best. As a hotel, there are a few shortcomings. We had a cupola room with king. The bed needs a new mattress...that was the biggest negative, but the room itself was spotless, bright and roomy as was the bathroom. They could stand to add coffee makers and a refrigerator but to their credit they have a nice coffee service in the morning out of their library. We had cocktails in the bar and they were prepared perfectly and we had a very good dinner in the dining room so no complaints there. The topper is that staying in the hotel is a real trip to the past with great historic detail and stories presented throughout the hotel (and the rest of downtown Baker City as well). I highly recommend staying here if you are in the area.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rbeachkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I were visiting our children in Boise Idaho and decided to take a day trip to Baker City. When we arrived at the hotel we were not sure what to expect. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. It was like stepping back in time. We ate lunch at the cafe and the service was wonderful. It was nice to have something so special to go enjoy. We love history, so it was fun to read all about the hotel and the renovations that were done. We hope to go back soon and stay a night there. The staff was wonderful and very knowledgeable of what we could do in the area and the history of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baker City, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The room is OK, the fireplace doesnt work and there isnt a refrigerator.
Dinner was terrible. Lobsters were undercooked and the service was beyond terrible.
When the service was brought to the managers attention. The young girl didnt even apologize.. or offer to make amends.She just wrote down my name and phone number.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baker City hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Sunridge Inn
Best Western Sunridge Inn
#1 of 10 in Baker City
876 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bridge Street Inn
The Bridge Street Inn
#4 of 10 in Baker City
181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eldorado Inn
Eldorado Inn
#5 of 10 in Baker City
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Always Welcome Inn
Always Welcome Inn
#7 of 10 in Baker City
62 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Baker City
Rodeway Inn Baker City
#6 of 10 in Baker City
118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Baker City
Super 8 Baker City
#3 of 10 in Baker City
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geiser Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geiser Grand Hotel

Property: Geiser Grand Hotel
Address: 1996 Main St, Baker City, OR 97814-3350
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Baker City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Geiser Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Geiser Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geiser Grand Baker City
Hotel Geiser Grand
Geiser Grand Hotel Baker City, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing