We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and Character Combined”
Review of Geiser Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Geiser Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times for business trips, and I truly feel that this hotel and the staff turn business into pleasure! I have checked in at all hours of the night and day, and no matter when I arrive, the staff is as friendly, helpful and courteous as always. I've never had the same desk attendant and I can honestly say that I have not had one unpleasant front desk experience. Not only do I know I can count on comfort and luxury to be provided each and every time, but I enjoy the character the building and rooms have. I will ALWAYS stay at this beautiful hotel when I travel to Baker City, and I suggest you do the same!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 807 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

This historic hotel is quite nice, certainly a better (if more expensive) choice than the various motels in town. Our room was spacious and clean and the hotel has been restored in a way that provides at least a sense of what it must have been like in the "old days."

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cardinal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed staying here and will again the next time we are in Baker City. The hotel is beautifully restored and is a refreshing change from cookie cutter chains. The stained glass ceiling is a treat. Staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My family and I stayed here over the weekend. This was a very beautifully restored hotel. The rooms were very large, and the history of the place oozes from every nook and cranny. Each room features furniture and items from the turn of the century, as well as modern conveniences. We checked in on Saturday, and took the hotel tour at 3:30p. If you plan on staying over a Saturday night, the tour is not to be missed. Your tour guide is a very spry older woman that dresses in century clothing, very fitting for the historic hues of the hotel. She tells you all there is to know about the building's past.... from the gold mining days, to the brothel, to the hauntings. We stayed on the third floor, rooms 302, 303, 304, 305 and 306. Although my husband and I did not have any unexplained personal experiences, four of my family members did. Whether you want to get away for a romantic excursion with your partner, or have a fun night filled with intrigue and suspense, I highly recommend a night at the Geiser Grand. We will return to this hotel :)

Room Tip: 302 is said to be the most haunted room, but quite honestly, it was not the only room in that hall t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IdahoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

A quick family trip to Baker City with no idea where to stay. We got lucky and were treated so graciously by the staff that we had no choice but chose the Grand Geiser. So glad we did. The most beautifully and carefully restored hotel we've ever stayed at. High ceilings, chandeleers in each room, gorgeous woodwork and stained glass. All the modern conveniences with an historic old-west "spirited" feel. Wonderful food (live Maine Lobster, chosen and prepared before us) and live music. Truly an experience worth the trip in itself. Thank you Geiser Grand for an unforgettable visit. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful. However, the Cupola Suite seems to have the most character and a wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stay here almost every year and love it for its history and romantic feel. We were a little disappointed this time with the restaurant, however. It just wasn't as great as we are used to, but it is still a wonderful gem.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Travellerswithdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My daughter & I noticed this historic hotel on a cross country drive heading east earlier this year. When it was time to drive west, it was the first place I wanted to visit! I was thrilled with my room, the staff and my breakfast the next morning. Next time I plan to bring my husband and spend more time enjoying the ambiance of this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baker City hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Sunridge Inn
Best Western Sunridge Inn
#1 of 10 in Baker City
1,007 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bridge Street Inn
The Bridge Street Inn
#4 of 10 in Baker City
191 reviews
1.3 mi away
Always Welcome Inn
Always Welcome Inn
#8 of 10 in Baker City
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eldorado Inn
Eldorado Inn
#5 of 10 in Baker City
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Baker City
Rodeway Inn Baker City
#6 of 10 in Baker City
130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Baker City
Super 8 Baker City
#3 of 10 in Baker City
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geiser Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geiser Grand Hotel

Address: 1996 Main St, Baker City, OR 97814-3350
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Baker City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Price Range: $160 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Geiser Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Geiser Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geiser Grand Baker City
Hotel Geiser Grand
Geiser Grand Hotel Baker City, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing