We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Haunted Outing”
Review of Geiser Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Geiser Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Certificate of Excellence
Caldwell, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Haunted Outing”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

What a great place to stay. The wife and I were returning from a week of travels and although we were less than 100 miles from home, we wanted to have the experience of the Gieser Grand. We were not disappointed! We were fortunate enough to get the 3 floor Cupola, and what a room this was. The only thing that would have been better is if we would have had friends to enjoy a late night card game and drinks in the Cupola. Unfortunately or fortunately depending on your point of view, we did not feel the spirits, in fact felt quite comfortable in the Hotel. Make time to see the town and plan around the many events that they advertise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Towfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    159
    53
    43
    87
See reviews for
151
408
28
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is more than a hotel, it is an experience! We stayed overnight and had a great time. The room and hotel were beautiful (restored 1900's beauty), the staff were really nice and the restaurant was excellent. Our hotel room (The Cupola Suite) has THE best whirlpool spa in it. It was so relaxing I felt like I was in the rapids of melted human soup. We are looking forward to going back, we can't wait. Whether you are passing through Eastern Oregon on 84 or looking for a great place to vacation I recommend staying at The Geiser Grand!

Room Tip: The Cupola Suite costs a little more but is totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We spent our first anniversary/honeymoon in this beautifully restored historic hotel. Our room was a corner suite, it larger than I expected with high ceilings and 10 foot high windows showing other historic Baker City buildings and the mountains. The bathroom was also larger than I expected, the only small inconvenience is to allow some extra time as it takes 5 to 7 minutes for the water to run hot. We had an excellent dinner in the dining room and great breakfast in the café. My wife loved the four poster bed as well as the history and energy of the hotel. Every staff member we interacted with was friendly and helpful. We will be returning to this affordable historic hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Utah
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My husband, son, and I just stayed at the Geiser Grand Hotel & loved it! The hotel is beautifully restored to its late 1800 elegance. The rooms are spacious -- high ceilings and large windows. Our breakfast was terrific. I can't wait to stay there again on our next road trip to Seattle.

Room Tip: We had a room facing East. If you aren't an early riser, you might want to book a room on the We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdsmitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I stumbled across the Geiser Grand on the final night of an exhausting trip from Washington, DC to SW Washington. It was a dream come true. The Geiser Grand is what you think of when you're a kid when you think of what a hotel is. It is gorgeous, the food is amazing, the staff is so helpful you'll feel like you are the only guest there. And all this for less than you'd spend at a Best Western or Holiday Inn. The only complaint I have is that the bed in the cupola suite is in desperate need of a new mattress.

Room Tip: ALL the rooms are great, but if you can, spend a little extra for the cupola suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

If you are on your way West or East in Oregon and go through or by Baker City, Oregon
a worthwhile stop would be a night at the Geiser Hotel. A classic historic hotel with an
interesting history (among others, Teddy Roosevelt). There is a fine tavern and a Very good restaurant featuring well prepared meals of both steak or fish. We would definitely stay there again. Catch a Friday night and hear one of the best Fiddlers in the West!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the Cupola Suite is just the best room in the hotel. The sunset was fantasti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTPMoonwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baker City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The room was wonderful, the bed was great. the service we had was outstanding. Everyone was nice and they had a smile on there face all the time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank localgirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baker City hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Sunridge Inn
Best Western Sunridge Inn
#1 of 10 in Baker City
856 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bridge Street Inn
The Bridge Street Inn
#4 of 10 in Baker City
181 reviews
1.3 mi away
Always Welcome Inn
Always Welcome Inn
#7 of 10 in Baker City
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eldorado Inn
Eldorado Inn
#6 of 10 in Baker City
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Baker City
Rodeway Inn Baker City
#5 of 10 in Baker City
116 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Baker City
Super 8 Baker City
#3 of 10 in Baker City
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geiser Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geiser Grand Hotel

Property: Geiser Grand Hotel
Address: 1996 Main St, Baker City, OR 97814-3350
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Baker City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Geiser Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Geiser Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geiser Grand Baker City
Hotel Geiser Grand
Geiser Grand Hotel Baker City, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing