We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Park and walking trails”

Robbers Cave State Park
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Wilburton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Park and walking trails”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were here the weekend of March 14-16 for Boy Scout camp. We camp, stayed over night. The weather on Sutarday was great, nice and cool. And so we got to enjoyed the outdoor, the walking trails etc., had lunch, walk some more.

Then it rained Saturday night unitl 6AM Sunday. It was an experience alright. But we had a great time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Herminia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    62
    8
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“We loved the cabins, and the whole park!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed in the 2 bedroom cabin for a family get together. The cabin was really nice. Very clean with a full kitchen and everything we needed. We had a campfire each nite. ... and the park had everything: frisbee golf, good fishing, hiking, snow cones, and even a nice looking outdoor pool (but we were off season). We loved it all and will go back again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank pam_from_indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park, busy trails”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

This park is only about 45 minutes east of McAlester in southeastern oklahoma. It is a very beautiful park just north of the town of Wilburton. The park itself is set in a wooded area and has ample wildlife and shade. There appears to be plenty of activities, including 3 lakes and horseback riding, although our trip was short and more focused on Robbers Cave itself. The trail to the cave is relatively easy and is very well traveled. Therefor there is a lot of traffic on the trail. Don't expect to visit and be alone by any means. It is however a very interesting and intriguing sight.

It is heavily used as is evident by the trash littering the ground. Please, if you wish to enjoy nature as it is and if you wish for your kids and grand kids to be able to do the same, pack out what you pack in. You can't expect the park staff to pick up after you.

Overall we had a great visit.

Helpful?
5 Thank BJR2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Nice Park, Poor Hiking Trails”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Robber's Cave is a very nice park, however, the hiking trails leave a lot to be desired. There are two trails that start in the parking lot at the cave. The short trail to the cave is fine. The longer trail, approximately 3 miles and 2 1/2 hours in length, is terrible. Poorly marked and with very little signage and not maintained at all. While the scenery is nice you can't enjoy it because of the poorly maintained trail. My wife and I completed the hike recently but with a lot of anxiety about whether or not we were going in the right direction. The trail is marked with spray painted dots on treees, however, various trails overlap and the markings are the same. It would be very easy to get turned around, back track on your trail, or get off on another trail. There are no maps provided. Word of advice: If you attempt this hike, ENSURE you have at least 4 hours of daylight left before starting.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank TravisOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great family day trip!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We enjoyed our day trip to Robber's Cave so much that we are making plans to come back for a tent camping trip before the summer heat begins. The hike to the cave was challenging enough for my adventure-seeking husband, yet easy enough for me, as we decided to take different paths to the cave entrance. Next time I plan to buy a walking stick to steady myself, since the path has many small and big rocks to navigate. The path is clearly marked with orange spray paint on the trees, but it is easy to pick a slightly altered path that is more to individual preference and skill. My 3yo daughter loved climbing, and finding her own path! I wasnt worried about her falling over the edge, as she is quick to obey, and I kept her on the inner/upper side most of the time, and had her hold my hand when needed. She fell a few times, but that is normal childhood! To get into the cave, it took both of us. One parent before, and one after, because there is a steep climb. If it had been wet, from a previous rain, it would have been extremely dangerous. I don't recommend this hike to anyone who has trouble balancing. There is a great vista on top of the cave. We paused to enjoy a snack here, and while it isnt Colorado, it certainly is worth a pic to show and tell!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaMichaelTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robbers Cave State Park also viewed

 
Broken Bow, McCurtain County
 

Been to Robbers Cave State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing