We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Beavers Bend”

Robbers Cave State Park
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Wilburton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Better than Beavers Bend”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We started our September trip at Beavers Bend and then to Robbers Cave. I liked Robbers Cave better. Things seem to be cleaner and maint. better. The cave itself was small but the guided tour is well worth the $3.00 cost. We stayed in the Old Circle camp ground and it was very nice. No tv or cell service. Definitly on our list to revisit. They do take reservations. We are RVers so we didn't the insides of the cabins but all of them we saw had central air.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Marshall212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    61
    8
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Family Fun”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent the weekend here and had a fantastic time. The cabins are very nice and the folks in the cabin office are friendly and helpful. The park offers a variety of fun, family activities - hiking to the cave with a Park Naturalist (Ted, who was terrific), cane pole fishing ("Hillbilly" fishing), hayride, etc. We had a blast. The (free) morning hike was filled with local history. We hiked to the cave, the stone corral, (what was) the Devil's Slide, and through the fault line. Cane pole fishing was fun (free). We made our own poles and most everyone caught some perch or had lots of nibbles. We also went on the park's horseback ride (extra fee). The trail was beautiful and the wrangler couple was nice and told us lots more about the local area. Their horses where all exceptionally gentle and well-mannered. Additionally, the paddle boats and kayaks were a bargain and a great activity before hitting the road for home.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“An Average Park”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We came to Robbers Cave from Oklahoma City ... we figured it to be 128 miles, maybe 2.5 to 3 hours. We must have gone the long way because it took us nearly 3.5 hours, and the scenery was basically the same through Shawnee (we did like the horse statues), Seminole and McAlester. Once we arrived we headed directly to the cave and went with the ranger on the 30 minute tour. The path wasn't particularly rugged (there were physically challenged people doing it with the aid of walking sticks) and the cave ... so sad, had been filled in due to potential dangers. They had even destroyed a chamber that had natural benches ... in effect, all that was left was the "entrance to the cave". That was it ... and, disappointingly, there is no documentary evidence that the robbers even lived here. On the plus side there is an awesome overlook above the cave, great canoeing on the lake, plenty of benches around the lake, and a ramp and roped off area where the kids can swim. If you're in the area, it would be fine for a day's outing and would be especially grand for a boy scout troop or those who want to learn to rappel.. but to come the distance we did (and then drive to Dallas)....uh uh.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank pma03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake and good trails!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We made a quick stop here on our way to Arkansas. It was a nice surprise and wished we could have stayed for the day. The lake is beautiful and the trails we did go on were good. A little history combined with nature and relaxation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyness7399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Adorable Cabins and Nice Walking Trails”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here back in February and rented a cabin for two nights. The cabin was so cozy and cute! Also very clean and roomy. We got there that day with a little bit of time to spare so we walked the short trail near the cabins, called Coon Ridge Trail. Really enjoyable short walking trail. The first night we sat out by the campfire and made smores. Was very relaxing because I think only a few of the cabins were rented out at this time of the year, was only us outside enjoying the night. The next day we did both the rough canyon trail and the cattail pond lake trail. We enjoyed both of the trails and the views. Was pleasantly surprised with how wonderful the cabins were as well as the trails in the park!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Katharine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robbers Cave State Park also viewed

 
Broken Bow, McCurtain County
 

Been to Robbers Cave State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing