We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great all around place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Robbers Cave State Park

Robbers Cave State Park
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Wilburton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great all around place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place is wonderful weather you are RVing or just staying in there lodge or cabins. We stayed here in our travel trailer and just love it. They have horseback riding, a swimming pool, play areas, a little store, well kept bathrooms and showers! Bring your hiking boots and backpacks they have tons of trails for the new to hiking to the experienced, some of them you can even horseback ride or mountain bike on. I am not one, but I have seen many motorcyclers(for lack of a better word) who visit here for the beautiful views and hairpin turns down in the area. Really just something for everyone!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank beachprincessnetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    58
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun & beautiful for the whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We went to the park in the late fall as the leaves were changing color. It was a gorgeous drive to the park. The park itself has a nice hiking trail up through the caves where supposedly the bandits hid out. It made for a great family activity and great imaginative playing. The hike takes about an hour to an hour and a half, not because it is so long, but because of the fun you can have on the way. The park also has a beautiful lake and a swimming area for the summer months. The campground looked really inviting with several rather private sites. We did not stay overnight, but wished we had brought our tent :) The Talimena Parkway is close by as well. We drove it the next day. It is a beautiful drive with lots of hiking opportunities as well. We loved it!!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice fall getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed at the lodge in Robbers Cave State Park as a spur of the moment getaway. Clean, comfortable, the pillows are pretty hard and the air unit was pretty noisy, there is no hairdryer. Has mini fridge and microwave as well as barbeque outside. There is a small convenience store in the office but town of Wilburton is just 5 miles away so not a problem to buy groceries there.
The Cave area is neat and there are a lot of hiking trails though we got lost towards the end of one trail where the marks on the trees dissapeared.
Overall a nice experience would like to come back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank welltravelledok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was a lovely park with very nice wooded camp sites. Paved pads, some pull thru, each site had fire ring, table and lamp hook. Had different hook up options all reasonably priced. Facilities were maintained well. Had camp store with basic supplies, small amount of food, also, camp gift shop and nature center nearby. We spent a couple days here and hiked the rock formations. Some areas steep but when taken slowly it was a great time. We would return to this park if in the area again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
138 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful Wooded RV Sites, Full Hookups, Showers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here on 2 separate occasions, soon to be 3 and were very impressed with the park. The wooded RV area features a store with firewood, ice, some groceries. There are full and partial hookup sites available with standing BBQs, fire pits, and light hangers. The concrete pads are shaded and easily accessible. $23 per night. All in all a great place to visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank beachbumjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robbers Cave State Park also viewed

 
Broken Bow, McCurtain County
 

Been to Robbers Cave State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing