We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awful, awful experience!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hi Way Inn Express

Hi Way Inn Express
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hi Way Inn Express
Ranked #3 of 3 Wilburton B&B and Inns
Asher, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful, awful experience!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in the hotel in June, 2013. We purchased 5 rooms for our group. The desk clerk, Ron, was absolutely AWFUL! He would not speak to us, ignored our questions, and was just plain grouchy. When we asked if the pool was in service, he was rude and condescending. He only gave us one room card each and we had 4 people in each room. When we went down later to get an additional key, the manager (called to confirm this) became violent and threatening towards us because he felt it was too late to get a key. I called after we got home to find out who the owners were so that we could let them know what kind of service they were paying for and I was told he would not tell me who owned the hotel. I plan to report to the better business bureau, as well.

Room Tip: Find alternate accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123Shannon456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    0
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sulphur Springs, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I am not sure who wrote the reviews on this place nor when they were written. evidently they have not been there recently. The outside looks very good; but, beware! The man at the register was unhappy and it showed. The rooms he assigned us had not been cleaned, beds unmade and had a horrendous odor. The swimming pool was not in operation in the month of June.We immediately check-out and went to a friendlier motel that was clean, cost less and was exceptionally accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wilburton hotels

Wilburton, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Unfortunately we did not read these reviews before we came. This motel was recommended by a person living in Wilburton who had never needed to stay in a motel. No internet - desk clerk could not do anything until "tomorrow." No decaf coffee - we don't have any. Glass plate missing from microwave - clerk's wife gave us a plate from a different microwave that did not fit. Only one blanket for two beds - that is the way it is. "I only work here." We came for a funeral so we did not spend much time in the room; and the same person owns the other motel in town so no help there. How disappointing that there are no alternatives closer than a half hour.

Room Tip: Find a way to avoid this motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Harvey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

My family stayed here on July 7, we were on vacation. The room was filthy dirty went to front desk to ask them to come clean room. Was told sorry. They did not offer to move us to a room that was clean or come clean the room we were in. Do not stay at this motel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lakerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmond, oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

This hotel is fairly clean but lacking in most amenities. However the location manager Mr. Patel has a potentially violent temper. I rented a total of 11 room nights for family members. Even though I was paying all charges, he denied service to one of my guests, forcing them to drive some 30 miles to find lodging. We were in town for a funeral.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilburton
24.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAlester
24.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#10 of 16 in McAlester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelers Inn Motel
Travelers Inn Motel
#1 of 3 in Wilburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hi Way Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi Way Inn Express

Property: Hi Way Inn Express
Address: 605 W Main St, Wilburton, OK 74578-3816
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Wilburton
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wilburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hi Way Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hi Way Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing