We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay extra for a cooking class”
Review of The Canebrake Kitchen - CLOSED

The Canebrake Kitchen
Price range: $8 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Come enjoy global cuisine crafted from locally-sourced ingredients in our beautiful food-to-table kitchen. Our award-winning staff serves seasonal fare in a 65-seat restaurant looking into an open kitchen. Gourmet cooking classes, wine dinners and culinary demonstrations offer a chance for you to join in on this delicious destination. Whether you're here for the week or just an evening of relaxation, you are sure to feel pampered at The Canebrake Kitchen.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We went to the Canebrake for a weekend anniversary getaway close to home. The best decision we made was to pay for a cooking class with the resort owner. He created a special anniversary dinner and wine tasting just for us. All the courses and wine pairings were creative and tasty. Sam, the owner and chef, was full of helpful food tips and information. We returned for dinner, which was just as creative and enjoyable.
The property has yoga classes, a spa, and activities such as bike riding and canoeing on the grounds. Overall, the experience felt a lot further from home than it was and very relaxing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiloh M, Guest Relations Manager at The Canebrake Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you for the splendid review of The Canebrake and for taking the time to share your feedback with us! I will be sure to pass on your praise to Executive Chef (and owner of The Canebrake) Sam Bracken and to the rest of The Canebrake team.
Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 56 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a great time at this somewhat isolated dining experience. Food was delicious and the wait staff excellent and courteous. Would recommend for a special night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Beverley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiloh M, Guest Relations Manager at The Canebrake Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you for your review of The Canebrake and for your recommendation! We truly appreciate you sharing your input with us. We hope to serve you again in the near future!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have eaten in this lovely location a few times and it has always been a good experience. Whether for an anniversary or a gathering of friends, the service and food were well prepared and the staff accommodating. I attended a cooking class, and would especially recommend that if an opportunity arises. Since I live in nearby Muskogee, I have never stayed there, but I understand that is a nice experience as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiloh M, Guest Relations Manager at The Canebrake Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The Canebrake and for your praise! We appreciate you sharing your input with us. We hope to serve you again soon!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

You are in the magical, mystical and spritual venue of Sedona, Arizona. You land at the local airfield atop a butte overlooking the town below. You spy a spa/resort. You air-lift it to a horse pasture outside Wagoner, Oklahoma near Taylor's Ferry.

That is the Canebrake.

Chef Sam is a gourmet Chef without pretense. His lovely wife is a yoga devotee and instructor. The Sunday brunch is one of the best gourmet food values in the State. The grounds are gorgeous. The restaurant zen-like. I have sent many friends here for anniversary's, Mother's day, retreats, and get-aways. All rave.

Several excellent entrees are offered with a carving station. Desserts are fresh, vibrant and varied. Eggs Benedict and Omelettes are made to order. Cocktails, such as Bloody Mary's are objets d'arte. They also have cabins and a catch and realease pond so this place screams retreat.

Canebrake is one of Oklahoma's best diamonds in the rough. Impeccable service, Opus vinter certified, great folks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiloh M, Guest Relations Manager at The Canebrake Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you for your charming review of The Canebrake! You have wonderfully and artfully described The Canebrake and we are exceedingly grateful for the praise and recommendations. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Isreali melon, fresh figs, eggs benedict, halibut, frog legs, exquisite pastries...wonderful food! we also enjoyed live music on Friday night that was terrific.

Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiloh M, Guest Relations Manager at The Canebrake Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Thank you for your praise and for posting a review of The Canebrake. We hope to serve you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canebrake Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing