We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tiger Safari

Tiger Safari
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Tuttle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: African Safari Huts We have brought an authentic African Village to Oklahoma . Staying on the cutting edge of leisure getaways, the Tiger Safari Zoological Park developed the Shi-Awela Safari village, Shi-Awela meaning “a peaceful place of rest”. This secluded African safari village will include two authentic African bush huts circling a small lagoon, authentic African-style landscaping with thorn trees, and natural veldt (long grass). Inside the African Hut, you are surrounded by authentic African decor. Fireplace Air-Conditioning & Heat QUEEN size bed Accmodates up to 6 people Big Screen TV With Blu-Ray Player Refrigerator/freezer Microwave Coffee-maker
Lawton, Oklahoma
1 review
“A Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We took the VIP Tour for my daughter's 9th birthday on October 6 and everyone had a wonderful time. The people were very friendly, knowledgeable about their animals and it's very obvious that they truly are passionate about the work they do. They animals are very well taken care of and they truly do offer an experience that you won't get at a normal zoo. I cannot say enough about how impressed our whole group was and everyone had a great time. We will absolutely be returning for future visits. Definitely worth the trip and the time, you will have an amazing time here!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pamelamaki1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    48
    18
    6
    33
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
150 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We like tigers!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The only thing I did not like is that you couldn't just walk around. It is quite costly to get in and then a tour guide has to take you around. All of the animals are behind bars which makes sense because they are dangerous, I just wish they had lots of room to roam. The owner is nice and for an extra 20.00 a kid he will let them hold some of the wild animals under his watch.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank boyzonlymom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not what we anticipated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

So we see their website with all of this hands on experience and we get to the tiger Safari and there is no hands on to speak of. We did get to pet not hold a ferret and we fed a deer 2 animal crackers but as far as lemurs, the fox, tigers etc there is no interaction. They even had videos playing in the entrance of folks holding these wonderful areas but we were told if there are babies you can hold them but they have no babies at this time. Go to the zoo really it is cheaper and you get just as much interaction with the animals. The tour guide was very nice and the zoo is very clean but we just did not get the experience here that we had hoped for.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank GingerbreadGrlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustang, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go to the zoo instead!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The tour guide walked backwards the whole tour, had filthy clothes that haven't been washed in months, and she was very annoying. We felt sorry for the animals......all in small fenced areas that aren't appropriate for their size and nothing like their real habitat. They had fans blowing on some animals who were lethargic from the heat. Someone free these poor animals! We will never go back. Don't go!!!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Dakota123142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE experience!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I don't think I can even rate this place with 1 star because of our complete dissatisfaction.We had our son's 6th birthday party here and wanted to leave within the first 20 minutes.

1) The animals have no water,no toys,no food,and barely any shade.The cats were sprayed,in the face,with water to try to get them to come to the front; this made them so annoyed that they sprayed several of our guests.Inhumane.The cages are too small for the animals,yet so spaced out that you spend 70% of your time walking,just to see another animal hiding under the few feet of shade,they have.

2)The tour guide did nothing.I mean literally,nothing.Our guests knew more about the animals then this little high school boy did.He literally just walked in front of us,no guidance no information.

3)The money hungry pig that runs the place charged us for the party package even though they didn't let the kids feed any animals,take a picture with an exotic animal,or give us a guided tour and even charged for babies,under a year old!!! Not to mention,that he repeatedly mocked us and other guests.He is absolutely repulsive.

4)Everything was so filthy that we couldn't even leave the cake/cupcakes out for longer then a few minutes because of the amount of flies.The pins,the grounds,the tables were all disgusting and the smell was overwhelming at times.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank JessHarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiger Safari also viewed

 

Been to Tiger Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing