We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was very helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 108 Hotels in Tulsa
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Staff was very helpful”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed one night for business - I got in really late, but had excellent service. Also, I'm used to travelling and staying in fairly nice hotels for business, but the room here was exceptionally large! As an older building, it has a lot of character, but the bath itself is nothing too exciting. I was also a little disappointed that after 9 pm on a Sunday that the restaurant was closed and pretty limited room service afterward, but that wasn't too surprising. In the morning, the staff offered to shuttle me to the office I was visiting, which was nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gellyrole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    67
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
60
174
20
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed for three nights, Sunday, Monday and Tuesday, and were happy enough. Our room was large and attractive, well furnished, two comfy chairs with good light for reading, a built-in desk, a refrigerator that was not packed full of mini-bar items so could actually be used, a safe in the closet. The hotel provided complimentary bottled water in the room. Bed linens were lovely, housekeeping staff did a good job. The thermostat was straightforward and allowed sensible regulation of temperature at night. There was a mix-up on the morning paper we requested the first day we were there and someone at the desk went out and bought the newspaper--very thoughtful service.

I am a side sleeper, and I found the mattresses (which were very nice and looked quite new) a bit too firm for a great night's sleep. It's a problem I've had in other nice hotels also. My husband, who sleeps on his back, had no complaints.

There were two bathrobes in the closet, a nice touch, although they were polyester and not as absorbent as the completely luxe versions in some great hotels. Bathroom was perfectly nice and very clean but not particularly luxurious--not a problem, but not a plus. The television offered ten channels, no menu, and it took half a minute for the tv to switch to the next channel, so channel surfing was not an option. Wifi reception was good.

The other guests we saw in the lobby were mostly men and mostly of a certain age, well dressed, probably business travelers. The lobby renovation and room decor were generally tasteful, although at the elevator landing and on one wall of our room there were fake oil prints. I wondered if the unexpected kitschiness was an attempt at irony, but this is not a hip hotel, just a nice one.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, Chalkboard. The air quality was heavy and it seemed like a rather dark and dreary place for breakfast on a lovely May morning. The only two tables outside were in full sun and right on top of the street. Happily, Foolish Things Coffee is four long blocks north of the hotel. It became our regular breakfast spot--a serene high-ceiling industrial space with roomy tables, good coffee and tea, pastries, and cheerful baristas who were happy to transform a breakfast sandwich into an omelette.

The Downtown/Utica Square tag in the hotel description is misleading, since the hotel is neither downtown, nor in (nor even particularly near) Utica Square. The Ambassador is on the outskirts of downtown, in an area that is a checkerboard of large office buildings and empty parking lots. At night especially it feels desolate. I'm not sure how much of a scene there is downtown around the Mayo at night, but you would at least be able to walk to downtown locations during the day. The hotel that would offer the best evening activity would be the Marriot Fairfield on Main Street north of town, in the Brady arts district near Guthrie Green. Since Tulsa is not a pedestrian town, one drives everywhere anyway, so the Ambassador's location isn't a drawback. It was easy to park in the lot behind the hotel. In fact it was easy to park everywhere in Tulsa. There was no traffic anywhere in the city at any time of day.

While this was not one of the amazing and memorable hotel experiences of our lives, it was more than satisfactory and we would happily stay in the Ambassador again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Ellen, thank you for such a detailed and personal review. Your many positive comments are much appreciated. The Ambassador is many things to many people, and most of our guests return for the many uniquely rewarding things such as superior service, quiet and convenient downtown location, luxurious guest rooms and amenities, free chauffeured Escalade service to any points downtown and Utica Square within minutes, free Wi-Fi, and many more. And we do this in a comfortably elegant environment that appeals to both CEOs and weekend vacationers. Factual inconsistencies aside, I read your review in the positive spirit that it was intended to be read, and found it to be very revealing and helpful. Thank you so much for taking the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a great find in Tulsa. Completely revamped older building. Excellent decor, quiet, really very nice. Upgraded room on the corner of the building. Dog friendly and the staff was very helpful. Close to the great food and drinks on Cherry St. Recommend Andolini's if you like pizza / maybe even if you don't.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Insight1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about us. We get very excited when visitors to Tulsa are pleasantly surprised to find things such as Cherry Street (and Utica Square, and Bookside, and the Brady District, and . . .). We truly are ambassadors of the city, and we love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business for 2 days and was thrilled with this hotel. The service here is wonderful, super efficient, very friendly and helpful! The room was very spacious with a beautiful view of downtown, great bathroom with soaking tub.

One if the best things about this hotel is the location very near excellent restaurants on Cherry Street and shopping at Utica Square. I would highly recommend for business or a romantic weekend.

Looking forward to coming back soon

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SusanJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you! I see that you enjoyed Smoke and Andollini's. Next time you're in town, please be sure to try Utica Square or Brookside, where there are even more great restaurants and shopping. We'll even take you there in our hotel's Escalade!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have not been back to Tulsa in almost twenty years and was delighted to find that the building which housed a restaurant called The Chalk Board now contains, not only that restaurant, but a wonderfully comfortable small quiet hotel close to downtown. My room on the 9th and top floor was quite spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. My breakfast at the Chalk Board was not fancy, but well prepared. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teabird45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for remembering the Chalkboard! It's a Tulsa mainstay, and is now a fixture in the downtown area. I'm sure Tulsa has changed quite a bit since you were here twenty years ago, but we're thrilled that you remembered. Both the Chalkboard and the hotel plan on being here for at least another twenty years, so please see us again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

You will like this classic 1930's art deco hotel. It has been redone and is a very nice place. Great restaurant, great wine selection. Chef caters events and I have used him on occasion. Good staff, reponsive, want to help. Parking can be an issue but use the valet service. Close to everything and very fun. The history of the hotel is cool as well. Go, have fun, sleep in and dream of large women!

Room Tip: Anywhere is fine. Tulsa has a quiet downtown area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for noticing the lobby. Yes, it's just been completely renovated with all new colors, furniture, lighting, and artwork, giving the lobby an airy, more spacious feel. (Yes, even Fezzik would feel right at home, dreaming away his lazy mornings.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I had a great experience at ambassador hotel all the staff was excellent, great customer service, I also ate at The Chalkboard which wad the most amazing resturant I have ever ate at. Thank you to everybody at ambassador hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bissell31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
You're welcome! And thank you for taking the time to write. I'll be sure to pass along your comment to the Chalkboard. That's one of the nicest things we've heard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulsa hotels
0.6 mi away
The Mayo Hotel
The Mayo Hotel
#18 of 108 in Tulsa
468 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
#11 of 108 in Tulsa
1,107 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Campbell Hotel
The Campbell Hotel
#21 of 108 in Tulsa
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Tulsa
0.6 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tulsa-Downtown
0.7 mi away
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
#32 of 108 in Tulsa
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection

Property: Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection
Address: 1324 South Main Street, Tulsa, OK 74119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tulsa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tulsa
#5 Family Hotel in Tulsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Registry of Historic Places, the luxurious Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection is a true treasure. It was established in 1929 to provide temporary housing for wealthy oil barons while they waited for their estates to be built. The Mediterranean-style property changed functions over the years until being restored into a quaint boutique hotel in Tulsa, Oklahoma. Personalized customer service and large, elegant rooms make this one of the city's finest hotels. The wide range of amenities is sure to please the most discerning traveler. Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection offers luxury accommodations in a premier location near Downtown BOK Center, the Tulsa Performing Arts Center and the Brady Arts District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Tulsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing