We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Place to Stay While in Tulsa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1324 S Main St, Tulsa, OK 74119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels in Tulsa
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable Place to Stay While in Tulsa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have not been back to Tulsa in almost twenty years and was delighted to find that the building which housed a restaurant called The Chalk Board now contains, not only that restaurant, but a wonderfully comfortable small quiet hotel close to downtown. My room on the 9th and top floor was quite spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. My breakfast at the Chalk Board was not fancy, but well prepared. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teabird45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for remembering the Chalkboard! It's a Tulsa mainstay, and is now a fixture in the downtown area. I'm sure Tulsa has changed quite a bit since you were here twenty years ago, but we're thrilled that you remembered. Both the Chalkboard and the hotel plan on being here for at least another twenty years, so please see us again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
260 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

You will like this classic 1930's art deco hotel. It has been redone and is a very nice place. Great restaurant, great wine selection. Chef caters events and I have used him on occasion. Good staff, reponsive, want to help. Parking can be an issue but use the valet service. Close to everything and very fun. The history of the hotel is cool as well. Go, have fun, sleep in and dream of large women!

Room Tip: Anywhere is fine. Tulsa has a quiet downtown area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for noticing the lobby. Yes, it's just been completely renovated with all new colors, furniture, lighting, and artwork, giving the lobby an airy, more spacious feel. (Yes, even Fezzik would feel right at home, dreaming away his lazy mornings.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I had a great experience at ambassador hotel all the staff was excellent, great customer service, I also ate at The Chalkboard which wad the most amazing resturant I have ever ate at. Thank you to everybody at ambassador hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bissell31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
You're welcome! And thank you for taking the time to write. I'll be sure to pass along your comment to the Chalkboard. That's one of the nicest things we've heard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I travel to Tulsa 3 to 4 times a year for an "adult" weekend away from the kids. We've stayed in just about every nice hotel there, the Mayo, Double Tree, Marriott, Aloft, etc. but our favorite by far is the Ambassador. The hotel was built in 1929 as an upscale apartment building on what was then the edge of the downtown area on Main st. Many of the oil barons lived there while building their mansions around Peoria and Utica. The rooms are huge and the beds are california kings and very comfortable. You can't beat the location, easy access to downtown area for the BOK center and Brady Arts area, both a four minute drive. But it's close to Cherry st. with all it's shops, restaurants and night life as well as Utica Square for all the upscale shopping (five minutes away). But you don't have to leave the hotel for a great meal, the basement houses a place called the Chalkboard. Wonderful Sunday brunch with live music, but also a great place for a martini after a long day of shopping. We have not eaten dinner there yet, but we have several local friends that say it's wonderful too. The staff at the Ambassador is amazing and so so friendly. The parking lot is right outside the hotel so no walking. It's truely the perfect place for a couple or single to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but spend 30 bucks more and get a corner king!! There is no road noise at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiltedOne19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We really don't know how we could say it any better. Thank you for such a glowing review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The staff was extremely pleasant and our room was great; a three room corner suite on a high floor. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. The only drawback to the hotel is that it's located just on the edge of downtown. The area is safe, ... but quiet. You need a car to get around (which is true regardless of where you stay in Tulsa), but fortunately the hotel has ample parking.

Room Tip: Get a corner suite. A bit more but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TGMerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Thank you also for mentioning how quiet our neighborhood is, which I'm sure is a dramatic change from the New York City that you're used to. As an ex-New Yorker myself, I truly value the relative calm on this side of downtown. But, as it is in Manhattan, everything downtown has to offer is just a few minutes away. And for all of these reasons, we offer our complimentary Escalade service to anywhere downtown. Thank you again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have stayed at the Ambassador a number of times.
It is one of the most unique places I stay at in the US.
The rooms are all first class, great views of a city full of wonderful architecture, great internet, clean, well kept and spotless.
The lobby was painted since my last visit which dramatically changed the feel but it shows the TLC this classic building has received and why it should be on anyone's list to stay at in this part of the US.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intheeventof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Wow, we take this as a tremendous compliment, coming from such a well-traveled guest such as yourself. Thank you! Our lobby just got a complete makeover with all new furniture, paint, wall fixtures, artwork, and lighting. It was a dramatic change, we're thrilled that you like it. After all, you're the reason we did this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Outstanding customer service, great hotel and restaurant! Loved the shuttle service, large rooms, amazing food service, boutique atmosphere, and so much more! Very accommodating and helpful staff! Very nice decor, free water bottles, and local knowledge and info.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William K, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you! We couldn't have said it any better. We really appreciate your patronage, and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulsa hotels
0.6 mi away
The Mayo Hotel
The Mayo Hotel
#21 of 109 in Tulsa
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Campbell Hotel
The Campbell Hotel
#10 of 109 in Tulsa
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
#28 of 109 in Tulsa
4.0 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tulsa-Downtown
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Tulsa Downtown
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tulsa Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection

Address: 1324 S Main St, Tulsa, OK 74119
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tulsa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tulsa
#5 Family Hotel in Tulsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Registry of Historic Places, the luxurious Ambassador Hotel is a true Tulsa treasure. It was established in 1929 to provide temporary housing for wealthy oil barons while they waited for their estates to be built. The Mediterranean-style property changed functions over the years until being restored into a quaint boutique hotel. Personalized customer service and large, elegant rooms make this one of the city's finest hotels. The wide range of amenities is sure to please the most discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Tulsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing