We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Staff at This Candlewood Suites!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites - Tulsa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Tulsa
Ranked #47 of 110 Hotels in Tulsa
None, US
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff at This Candlewood Suites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My mother, aunt & I recently stayed at the Candlewood Suites - Tulsa & had a very pleasant experience due to the above & beyond help of the staff. Every single person that we met greeted us with friendly smiles. The most helpful of all was Ailie Alpers, the daytime front desk supervisor.

Because of disabilities, I can't sleep in a bed, so Ailie made sure that a recliner - a must-have for me - was put in our room.

When I told Ailie that, being unfamiliar with the area, we needed suggestions for a nice place to go for lunch, she got with the marketing director & put together a great list of suggestions for us.

We had several other special needs during our stay & Ailie and company promptly & courteously filled every one.

And when after we'd left (but were still in town) my mother discovered that she'd lost her ring, Ailie immediately got with the housekeeping staff to start a search for it. When it was found, Ailie called various numbers until she tracked me down, so we were able to zip back to the hotel to pick up the ring.

With such a friendly & helpful staff, clean rooms & (so I'm told my my mother & aunt) comfortable beds, I can easily recommend this hotel with a smile :)

Room Tip: If you have special needs, ask for Ailie Alpers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbloonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    15
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
7
2
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have worked closely with this hotel & staff and wanted to be sure they know that they have been wonderfully accommodating. My employees love it there and will continue to visit the Candlewood in Tulsa! Thank you Ailie for all of your help along the way!

-Amanda

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandaOttino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista M, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Tulsa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your post. Our employees are truly the best in the business because customer service comes first for them. Your business is always appreciated. Please feel free to let us know if we can improve your visit in any way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I arrange business travel all over the country and we have a ton of work in Tulsa, OK. This hotel is centrally located for the convenience of our employees as well as offers the long-term stay ammenities we love. I cannot say that I stayed there myself, and that is why this remains an average review, but my booking experience i have to say was pretty disappointing.

I have 3 employees scheduled to stay in this hotel for 2 weeks each at different times inFeb / March. That is 6 weeks of practically consecutive hotel stays.

Situation #1 - The front desk person called me the day before one of my employees checked in and said 'I had to move [your guest] to our sister hotel because we overbooked our location - here is that address & 5000 bonus points on his reward account for the inconvenience. You will receive the new reservation in your email shortly.'

1. I was not given a choice in the matter even though I booked almost 3 weeks in advance.
2. The 'sister hotel' is 15 miles away.
3. my employee does not even have a rewards account.
(in the defense of the front desk, she did search around for a closer location after i called back letting her know that was unacceptable.)

Situation #2 - SMOKE stench in a non-smoking room. The second guest to check in at this hotel was supposed to receive a non-smoking room. The stench in his room was brought to their attention immediately upon check-in, and yet nothing was done to correct the problem. Again, booked weeks ahead of time, and nothing was done.
Needless to say we are checking him out early with no credits, bonus points, or even an "i'm sorry for the inconvenience."

Situation #3 - I am canceling our future reservation for my third employee. This is unacceptable service, and I do not want to have to deal with any more accomodation issues.

Room Tip: Be sure you are getting a non-smoking room before brinigng your stuff into it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista M, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Tulsa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Amanda O,

I am very disappointed that you had this experience with our hotel. You have every right to expect a reservation to hold. While our standard practice is to keep all of the great business that books with us, we have unexpected in house guests extend their reservations and it is certainly hard for incoming guests. I am never happy to hear that a guest has an experience below their expectations. You should look forward to be pleasantly surprised at the service you receive. Please consider giving us another opportunity to win your business back in Tulsa. We value and appreciate your post and will always strive to be better with your help. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A great place to stay for business or any other reason. The staff is very professional and friendly always willing to go the extra mile.I would highly recommend Candlewood Suites-Tulsa. My first time to stay out of town on business. I would say the rooms and place are kept very clean.that includes the grounds. Also if there is a problem with anything they handle it promptly. The extras they offer are head and shoulder above the rest. They always have the guest interest at heart.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Saul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millport, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This has to be one of the best hotel stays I have ever had. The hotel is very clean and well staffed. Krista Mooney goes above and beyond to make sure your stay is the best it can be. Candlewood Tulsa is the best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista M, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Tulsa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your opinion is always valuable. We take great pride in the Candlewood Tulsa and want to ensure you that we are always striving to be the best. We would love for you to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
129 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The room the staff put me in was a room where the carpet had just been shampooed so carpet was wet. They gave me bonus rewards for this because they had no other rooms. The hotel has one night a week where they offer free soda/beer and food for guest but with no tables to place your food on it ends up in your lap. Two separate nights I woke up to find cockroaches on the wall. The parking lot is tight with limited parking, especially if you have a commercial vehicle. The staff was great but the hotel management needs to fix some issues.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckghutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Tulsa, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear chuckghutch,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I'm pleased that you find our staff great. Please accept our apologies for not being able to deliver an exemplary hotel stay experience. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our service. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Large room, clean and comfortable bed with a large bathroom counter which makes it easy to lay out your "stuff", No recliner in our room which is the first Candlewood we have had without one. We usually do our laundry as they have clean and free guest laundries. This makes up for not having a complimentary breakfast. With the full size fridge, stove, oven and all the utensils and dishes you could cook if you wished, I do wish all Candlewoods would invest in ice machines for us one nighters, The ice machine in the fridge is not fast enough to fill a thermos in the morning, We may stay here again but only if a recliner is in our room. We have been spoiled with their other properties we have stayed at,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loanne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulsa hotels
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Hotel Tulsa - Woodland Hills
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Tulsa South
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tulsa
SpringHill Suites Tulsa
#33 of 110 in Tulsa
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tulsa-Woodland Hills 71st-Memorial
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Tulsa South
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Tulsa Woodland Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Tulsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Tulsa

Property: Candlewood Suites - Tulsa
Address: 10008 E 73rd St, Tulsa, OK 74133-3312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 110 Hotels in Tulsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Tulsa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Candlewood Suites Hotel Tulsa is a premier EXTENDED STAY HOTEL. With our location just off Highway 169 & 71st street, you'll find our access to the area's restaurant and retail shopping a prime spot, top that off with great shopping at Woodland Hills Mall, which is minutes away. Full suites & kitchens await you at the hotel, along with free wireless high speed Internet access; the 'Candlewood Cupboard'-an in house 24-hour convenience store; free exercise room; free guest laundry and our 24 hour free business center are a hint of the some of the amenities we offer to make sure you nestle in and make our place home while you are away. The hotel's accessible to lots of Tulsa's major corporations like American Airlines, The Williams Companies, Cancer Treatment Center of America, St. Francis Hospital, Southcrest Hospital, Tulsa Heart Hospital, Cox Communications, and State Farm. Other attractions include The UMAC Center, Oral Roberts University, The Mabee Center, Rhema Bible Training Center, University of Tulsa, Expo Fair Grounds, BOK Center, Oklahoma Aquarium, Jenks Riverwalk Crossing, Tulsa Drillers, Philbrook Museum, and the Bass Pro Shop in Broken Arrow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Tulsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing