We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little attention to detail would result in a higher rating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mexicali Border Cafe

Mexicali Border Cafe
Ranked #89 of 1,301 Restaurants in Tulsa
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A little attention to detail would result in a higher rating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Started with complimentary salsa and chips and found the salsa a little bland. Other than that the food was surprisingly good. I say surprisingly because the interior needs some attention to detail. It just looks dirty with the concrete floor and brooms and dustpans sitting out in various spots throughout the restaurant. I probably would not have eaten here if it wasn't so convenient to the hotel and short on time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mendenhallfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    39
    28
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
117 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Some unbelievable margaritas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stopped in the middle of the afternoon for a drink and a light snack. The bartender was very engaging and knowledgeable about margaritas and tequila. She made us several varieties, all very good. Plus they were large and priced very well. Chips, salsa, and guacamole were good too

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mragan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quick Tex-Mex without a lot of flair”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

If you are wanting chips, salsa, queso and a margarita at an affordable price without any frills, this is the place to go. Located in the Brady District, this is a good place for a quick affordable lunch, with ample parking.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ram-Bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
123 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Margarita's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Ate here during a BOK event, every place else had a long wait. The food was great and margaritias are huge. Service was excellent and staff was overly friendly. We plan on doing this again real soon. I may even try it for lunch during the work week.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HOGRIDER1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good ritas, okay food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our server seemed new and/or green. She didn't know anything about the margaritas, but that didn't stop my friend and me from trying two different kinds! While our server seemed a little unfamiliar with the menu and other things, she was quite friendly and did not rush us. The queso dip is tasty, but I mostly stuck to margaritas. Closes quite early, but it is downtown Tulsa-- not NYC!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LKPNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mexicali Border Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing