We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh seafood in tulsa...”

White River Fish Market
Ranked #4 of 1,307 Restaurants in Tulsa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
St. Louis
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood in tulsa...”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We are a fan of fish market/restaurants due to their mello laid back nature. This place was pretty busy but the wait time wasnt too bad. The gumbo was average but not anything to brag about. The grilled shrimp were good & my boyfriend liked the fried combo which included a little variety. I have to say the hush puppies were AMAZING!! Usually hush puppies are horrible at fish places but these were flavorful & made u want more.
The market was located in a strip mall kind of plaza & the neighborhood didn't feel sketchy at all. Would recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmiller63125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    238
    36
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

absolutely wonderful fresh seafood, served in the most basic environment but in the most delightful way!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank krisanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cool dining experience”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Freshest fish in Tulsa. The environment may shock you though. It's truly a fish market - they sell fresh fish there as well as serve it. The tables are cafeteria style, so if you don't want to sit by other people, get it to go. I like the environment, though, this place is like a community center. The diverse clientele make it a great experience. Don't be afraid of the neighborhood - a lot of people will tell you not to go into North Tulsa, but that's based on circa 1950's stereotypes. If you like fish, you MUST go to White River!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank thedivahrrrself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Who knew seafood this good could be found inland. This place is an amazing surprise. The seafood is fresh and delicious, the frog legs are fantastic, the kabobs are phenomenal, clams were a bit bland. This place is a must stop if you like seafood.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gregory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
267 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood in an unexpected place”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were returning from a business trip to a small town in Kansas. Thank goodness for TripAdvisor. We would never have tried this place without seeing the rating and the reviews. The restaurant is located in a shabby, run-down strip mall near the Tulsa airport. Inside is both a large fish market -- with all of its associated aromas (smells) -- and a very casual restaurant. There are some booths, but the room is dominated by long shared tables.

Most entrees come with hush puppies (dense, chewy, okay but not great) and two sides. Ask before you order! Most of the sides are easily shared by two people, so if you're with someone, get different sides to increase the variety. The fried onion rings are a great example -- easily enough for two.

I ordered the grilled scallops, and my husband ordered the broiled halibut. Both were outstanding -- perfectly cooked, perfectly seasoned, and large, large portions. We enjoyed sampling from each other's entrees.

Of the sides we tried, two were thumbs up and two just so-so (not bad, but nothing memorable). Thumbs up -- fried onion rings and cole slaw. So-so -- pinto beans and the baked potato.

One note: no alcoholic beverages are served, and the place is not BYOB despite the liquor store in the same strip mall.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White River Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing