We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service!”
Review of Abuelo’s

Abuelo’s
Ranked #59 of 1,323 Restaurants in Tulsa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Abuelo's invites you to experience the incredible flavors of Mexico, combining homemade cooking with rich flavors of coastal and interior Mexican cuisine
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
455 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We recently ate at Abuelo's on a Saturday night with a large group and had good food and unbelievable service. Our waitstaff never let us run low on drinks or chips. You can't go wrong here

Helpful?
Thank KBD87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    59
    19
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not bad food located on a busy street”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I normally stay away from the busiest area of town when I look for dining, but I had to try this one because it came highly recommended. I love, love, love Mexican food and have eaten plenty - this is probably a little better than average, and the serving sizes are plentiful. The place was filled with many people waiting, but we were seated and served quickly. Still, not outstanding enough to regularly fight the worst traffic in town to get there. I won't frequent this place during the holidays.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllentheOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice date night restaurant”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Easy to find and located close by to shopping and movie theatres.

Super nice interior ... like eating in an open Mexican park.

Fajita's are amazing as well as the margarita's.

It not cheap but overall a good value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bwhitemyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Nice Late Night Dinner....”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stopped by Abuelo's after a very long day of driving, so we walked in fairly late. But we were pleasantly surprised that we were treated nicely and weren't rushed (it's been our experience in restaurants that sometimes when you walk in late, the staff is least than excited to see you). That certainly didn't happen here - the waiter didn't rush us, nor did he seem in a hurry to get us out the door, and later, when we were finishing up our meal, a manager stopped by to ask us if everything had been okay (I assumed when she walked up that she was going to tell us that the place was getting ready to close...but that wasn't the case at all).
And the food was good too, I had a shrimp dish that was a house special, and it was knockout, as was my two cocktails. The rest of the family liked their entrees also - we were especially pleased with their sopapillas.
We were more than pleased with our dinner at Abuelo's....we were just passing through on our way to Little Rock, and this was our first time driving into Tulsa, so Abuelo's certainly made up feel that Tulsa understands hospitality...we had a pleasant dinner and an evening that was a nice surprise.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank diningdishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrier, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good eats!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

great food .... even better happy hour, but we did have to wait longer than desirable for refills! you must try this place!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank melinda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo’s also viewed

 

Been to Abuelo’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing