We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place that is easy to miss.”
Review of El Rio Verde

El Rio Verde
Ranked #19 of 1,315 Restaurants in Tulsa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great place that is easy to miss.”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This small Mexican restaurant serves very good, reasonably priced food. The brunch is worth trying out as well.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marwin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    38
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“BEST MEXICAN FOOD IN TULSA”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were actually headed to another Mexican restaurant before going to a movie, but were detoured when we found out it was closed in the evening. So as an alternative we tried El Rio Verde and are we glad we did. Located in an industrial area and set off by itself, this 'hole in a wall' neighborhood type cafe, is incredibly clean, the staff is welcoming and friendly treating you as if you were regulars (even though this was our first time) and provided great service. The menu is extensive and includes lots of seafood items and a variety of different meats prepared in different ways. The chips and salsa were just ok, but the entrees we ordered were absolutely amazing. My wife ordered cheese enchiladas which came with beans and rice. Each enchilada had a different type of cheese and a flavorful sauce that enhanced the overall flavor. The beans were not like eating pureed mashed potato type beans, but flavorful and uniquely textured. I ordered the veggie burrito 'wet' (with sauce, cheese, guacamole and sour cream on it). The sauce has a complex flavor. The veggies were incredible, not mushy but still well done...squash, tomatoes, onions, spinach and much more. It is a very large burrito, so either come hungry and be prepared for a take home box. If you like Mexican food, don't miss this wonderful place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank edpaytontulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Authentic Mexican?”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Google it before you go because El Rio Verde is a little off the track. The neighborhood looks a little "industrial" but its safe and I've always felt welcome there. Good for lunch, dinner, and Sunday after church.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican in Tulsa”
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Visiting Tulsa today and decided to eat at El Rio Verde based on reviews. it was very good and cool atmosphere. I had the enchiladas combo and Fanta orange...great lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaAtoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
623 reviews
489 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Real real real”
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

If you are bored of the TexMex, WestMex, MexWax, FaxPax, etc and you need something real go for this place. Not for people which don't like strong tastes and strong ingredients. Soup of beef tongue, for example. Very good guacamole and real tortillas not bought at the supermarket. Jalapeño burger of first quality. The service was good and quick. The place although not really central was packed on a Sunday night. It really gives you the feeling of a family run, real Mexican food place.

Helpful?
Thank wingcastles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Rio Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing