We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh...it's ok for lunch.”
Review of Genghis Grill - CLOSED

Genghis Grill
Cuisines: Mongolian
Restaurant details
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
110 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Eh...it's ok for lunch.”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

OK, so once you get past the harried waitstaff, you get to take your plate up and put your meal on it from a wilted looking salad bar of ingredients (many veggies were previously frozen). Then you habd it off to the cook and sit down and wait for the harried wait staff to bring you your food. I don't get the appeal. It's not quite a mongolian barbeque. Not really better. Value is questionable, it's a bit spendy for the quality, and why did I feel compelled to leave a tip when I did half the waiters job?

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“good food, cranky old waitress”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

our most recent visit, we had the most unfriendly waitress ever. To say she was rude would be an understatement. we still enjoyed our bowls, but my brother was so angry at how rude the waitress was, he did not want to even leave a tip. i left one anyway, but I don't feel like she deserved one cent of it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sbrownhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good choice, but loud”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you haven't eaten and a Mongolian style place before, here's the deal. You get a bowl, and a small cup for a sauce. They have a salad bar like area where you choose from a variety of protiens, vegetables, seasonings, and sauces. You load up your bowl and sauce cup, and hand it over to the staff and they cook it for you stir fry fashion.

So, if your food doesn't turn out well, it's kinda your own fault.

Genghis is one of the better places like this that I've been to. The food items appeared fresh, there were several choices of seasoning and sauces, so you have a range of choices to experiment with.

The staff is friendly, and available to answer questions.

The only complaint I have is that the environment seems to be designed to be loud. Loud to the point where it was hard to have a conversation with my wife. However, it's not so bad that we won't be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobSnowedn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice experience..”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Tried it number of times and will surely go again.. Good food for decent price... Service is pretty good too... The food freshly prepared infront of us. Love that part that there are so many options to choose from many options and can get it as mild or spicy as we like.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenks, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Strange system needing better instruction”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Tried this twice during 2012. First time I found their Mongolian grill system confusing with little effort by the staff to explain or help, but at least the food seemed freshly prepared. Second time it was still confusing, and food trays were running low or on empty, and lacked any distinctive flavor. Overall a poor dining experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bltok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing