We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed but $12.95 per day for Internet Access???”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Tulsa Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #33 of 108 Hotels in Tulsa
Paden, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Bed but $12.95 per day for Internet Access???”
Reviewed October 4, 2009

I was shocked to realize that there are hotels that are charging for Internet access!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennarog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    130
    81
    40
    20
See reviews for
91
73
21
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I brought my wife to Tulsa for a weekend birthday getaway -- and a surprise party. We stayed at the Renaissance. It was quiet the weekend we were there. We only saw a handful of other guests.

I selected the hotel because of its proximity to numerous, good restaurants and activities along the popular 71st Street corridor in Tulsa. I booked through American Airlines' website and got a better deal (room + breakfast) than I would have received from the hotel itself. Plus, I got the air miles from AA.

The Renaissance is a big, beautiful hotel with attractive amenities. In addition to a nice restaurant (where we ate breakfast only -- it was good), it has a large indoor pool (a little on the brisk side, I might add), a walk-in sauna (feels great after exiting the chilly pool), and a great little gym with an impressive selection of commercial cardio equipment. There are also a few weight machines and dumbbells. We utilized the facility once for an invigorating morning workout. There is also a well-stocked gift shop.

The atrium is the centerpiece of the hotel. The hotel has co-opted/co-promoted with the nearby Oklahoma Aquarium in Jenks to display a variety of fish species and several turtles in a habitat that has been integrated into the hotel's winding water feature. It is very interesting and would be fun for kids to see.

We stayed in a room on the 7th floor on the west side of the hotel, which we regret. The traffic noise from the neighboring interstate (Hwy. 169) can get pretty loud. For that reason, I recommend requesting something on the east side of the hotel. The views won't be as good, but I am certain there is a big difference in noise levels. Fortunately for us, we travel with a Marpac white noice machine, which does a pretty good job at masking sound.

Our room was spacious with a large flat-screen TV and a nice soft king bed that my wife enjoyed. There was a slightly mold/musty smell in the vicinity of where the room carpet meets the bathroom floor. I have sensitive sinuses and it bothered me a little (you can open the windows a few inches here for fresh air if you need). I'm sure it was an isolated thing, but I wouldn't want to stay in the same room again.

All in all, I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Renaissance. Just remember to request a room on the east side of the hotel or pack an effective white noise machine if you prefer peace and quiet while you sleep.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sun-N-Beach-Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

The Renaissance is easy to find, just off a major highway in South Tulsa. Person at frontdesk was not very friendly, probably because we booked through Priceline, but check in lasted only two minutes. Nice room with all the amenities you need, but be prepared to pay 12.95 ex tax per dag for wireless internet. Gym and pool are very nice, and the hotel is close to a variety of shops and restaurants. Would definately stay there again when in Tulsa.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stijnec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

I've stayed at this hotel twice and it was the same both times. We stayed in a room with a king bed and a roll-away. There is also a chair/ottoman, a desk with a chair, and dresser with drawers. We were with a group of about 15 families. We got a group rate and this year an extra room were we could gather to watch movies, socialize, etc. The hotel is very clean, the beds are comfortable, and the setting is very pleasant. The rooms are arranged around a courtyard (and there are 9 floors) so if people are being noisy in the lobby, you can hear it, but most of the time it is quiet. The lobby/courtyard has a fish/turtle pond. There is a gift shop, but it is not always open. There is optional valet parking and so usually there is someone outside to greet guests. The pool is indoors and sometimes the water is a bit cool. The kids had a great time swimming, though. It is true that the tile floors are slick. I've never eaten there, so can't comment about that. You can get free refrigerator and/or microwave upon request. The refrigerator I requested was delivered very quickly. The hotel is located behind Target and near many other stores, restaurants, etc. My only complaint is that they charge $12 per day for internet. Given the price of the hotel, I think internet should be free! Overall, it is a very nice hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripleWahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2009

I am a frequent traveler that stays all over the country and am a very loyal Renaissance/Marriott customer. I find that they offer a consistenscy of product and service that I have come to expect. After my stay here, I sent a letter to Marriott telling them how horrible my stay here was.

Upon arrival (literally having to drive through a seedy Target store parking lot) I didnt see ANYONE at the front door or even the front desk until I waited at least 15 minutes. Turns out they were busy doing something else but how can the front desk be unstaffed?

My room was adequate but surprisingly small. It also looks like it needs a renovation. The health club equipment was filthy and my bathroom wasn't cleaned during my two night stay.

As I said, there are a lot of options in Tulsa and as loyal as I am to renaissance, this is one in name only.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequenttraveler2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

I stayed at the Renaissance Tula Hotel after fleeing the Doubletree Warren Place. The hotel was nice, clean and the rooms were also nice & clean. More importantly the mattresses were new. Counter tops in room were granite along with the bath.

The only negative about the place was that they use fake plants as decorations. The fake plants were clean, but I'm not a fan of fake plants. For the price, this hotel was a much better deal than the Doubletree at Warren Place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellburgmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for approximately 6 months and I never had a problem. The rooms were always clean, the staff always attentive and willing to do whatever they can to help. The fitness center is average... a handful of bikes/treadmills/ellipticals, some weight machines and some free weights but it gets the job done for a business traveler. Room service can be slow when there is a convention in town (as is the case with most convention hotels), but I never felt like it was major issue. The concierge lounge is adequate and pretty standard for Marriotts. The hotel is not that old, and has the standard Marriott look to it. Overall it’s a great place to stay when in Tulsa if you have a car.

There are quite a few chain restaurants in the local area, but if you’re in the mood for something else… make a trip to some of Tulsa’s eateries over near Brookside or Utica Square. Believe it or not you can find some really good sushi there!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulsa hotels
9.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection
4.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tulsa - I-44
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
#11 of 108 in Tulsa
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Mayo Hotel
The Mayo Hotel
#15 of 108 in Tulsa
468 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tulsa-Woodland Hills 71st-Memorial
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tulsa - Warren Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tulsa Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tulsa Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Renaissance Tulsa Hotel & Convention Center
Address: 6808 South 107th East Avenue, Tulsa, OK 74133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Tulsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Tulsa Hotel & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** AAA FOUR DIAMOND AWARD RATING*** Providing traditional service to a contemporary clientele, Renaissance Tulsa Hotel & Convention Center offers gracious accommodations in elegant European style. We are ideally located in the heart of the city's shopping and dining district and surrounded by restaurants, entertainment venues, and Oklahoma's largest shopping mall. Visitors staying in our Tulsa, Oklahoma hotel enjoy luxuriously appointed guest rooms that provide relaxation and contentment. For the business traveler, high speed internet access and a well designed work station encourage comfort and productivity. And our award winning Cyprus Grille Restaurant/Merlot's Lounge offer exquisite dining with a warm ambiance. We are proud to offer premier accommodations in Tulsa. Adhering to the highest standards of hospitality, our staff is committed to providing flawless service, extraordinary amenities, and a "bring you back again" experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Tulsa Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tulsa Hotel Tulsa
Tulsa Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing