We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Tulsa Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Tulsa
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was SO disappointed in this hotel! As soon as I got to my room I noticed trash on the floor. No big deal, I picked it up and threw it away. Then I ran a bath and noticed the tub area was filthy. There was hair everywhere. Since I was ready for a bath, I cleaned that too. I brought it to their attention and they offered me a cheese tray. The hotel in general was not very clean. There were dirty food trays in the hallway and some kind of laundry problem. Huge piles of sheets, dirty towels in the hallway. Pretty hotel, but pretty doesn't fix dirty.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the west end of this hotel or you will hear the highway all night long.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amfoster43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim L, General Manager at Renaissance Tulsa Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. The condition in which you found your room is unacceptable to us here at the Renaissance Tulsa. As a 4 diamond hotel, a customer should never have this experience. In additional to a rigorous training and follow up program with our housekeeping staff, we take an extra step other properties may not. Each room is to be inspected by a supervisor prior to being released for sale to ensure any item is not overlooked. Somehow this step was missed for your room. I apologize. Another issue we had during your stay was staffing for our hallway and public areas. Since your stay, we have developed alternative plans to ensure we have adequate coverage if we have mutiple people out sick.

I am happy to discuss this further with you as your experience is not typical. My contact information is tim.lewin@jqh.com or 918-307-4002. Thank you for your time and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Tulsa Hotel & Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 433 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

Wanted to get out of the DFW area for a quick getaway to go somewhere different. Closed my eyes and pointed on the map, Tulsa OK was where my finger landed. My wife and I stayed there for 3 days 2 nights. Very nice Hotel, clean and very attentive staff. My only suggestion is to stay on a higher up floor. There was a gospel convention going on and although everyone was very friendly, it was quite noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Renaissance, check in was fast about 8 minutes and I had my room key. The room was newly decorated and spacious. Great customer service. Centally located for great shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redcater1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here in early May with my mom, sister and niece, and found the hotel lacking. We had asked for a handicap accessible with bath with reservation, but when we got there they only had a king size bed with shower. That took a while to resolve, and we finally did get a 2 doubles with a bath.

The hotel was LOUD! Sure it is a convention site, but the only meeting going on was a high school 50th reunion, definitely not the loud crowd. The loudness came from the groups of teenage baseball teams, dance teams, and soccer teams. All night long they were in the halls and atrium, which carried up through the whole hotel.

The hotel looks nice in the lobby, and on the outside, again very typical convention site. The room were not that impressive. Our balcony door opened, but then took us 30 minutes to get closed because the latch was messed up. Once we got it closed, we didn't open it again. There was something sticky on the carpet, which I stepped in upon taking my shoes off. And two of the toiletries in the bathroom were partially used. I've never been to a hotel where the toiletries were reused between guests.

The pool was quite small for such a large hotel, and full of the teenage teams.

All in all, I will not be staying here again. There are too many other choices for cheaper that have the same or better accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank obahsomah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim L, General Manager at Renaissance Tulsa Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

I am so sorry to read about your disappointing experience at our property. Since you stayed with us, we have changed our procedure for assigning handicap accessible rooms. Instead of doing that task the morning of arrival, we are now doing this each day for the next three days.

Unfortunately, our balcony door locks are tricky. They do not operate like a standard residential door. Each room should have an instruction sticker by the handle to assist in proper operation. I have asked our team to inspect each room with balcony doors and replace any worn stickers.

It is unacceptable to have a cleanliness issue in our guest rooms. I have asked our housekeeping director to evaluate and retrain the staff member who cleaned the room.

I would love to earn your back your business. Please contact me at your convenience. Tim.lewin@jqh.com or 918-307-4002.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Check in took 20min. Although there were three check in desks only one had anyone to help. Finally someone came to a second desk to assist. I would have thought at a busy time of day (5PM) they would have been better staffed. The hotel itself is very nice. The room was a nice size, bathroom had a strange configuration but workable. Furniture was in need of a good cleaning however the rest of the room seemed clean enough. The bed was not comfortable for myself or my wife but that may just be personal preference. Probably would not spend the money to stay here again. The staff was quite friendly.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank cu-later67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim L, General Manager at Renaissance Tulsa Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

I truly appreciate the amount of feedback you provided regarding your experience at the Renaissance Tulsa Hotel and Convention Center. I am so sorry that we did not exceed your expectations of our property. Please feel free to reach out to me personally at tim.lewin@jqh.com or 918-307-4002.

You are correct in that we should have our front desk stations staffed more thoroughly at a peak check in time. We do have additional trained staff on property we can call for assistance if we unexpectedly get busy. I am sorry we did not do this during your check in.

While we do get a number of excellent comments about our beds, the level of firmness is definitely a personal preference. Therefore, we do have available a select number of products to make the bed more firm or less firm based upon our customer's personal preference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I'm really disappointed with my recent stay. The A/C wouldn't cool our room down so needless to say it was a miserable night. The breakfast buffet is way overpriced. We had to wait to get seated and then our server acted like we weren't even there once we had a table. The coffee was cold and and the food wasn't anything special. My family spent the entire time complaining about our stay. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank osusue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim L, General Manager at Renaissance Tulsa Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking time to complete a review regarding your recent experience. I am so sorry we failed you. Our goal is that your hotel experience is a highlight of your travel. Your experience is not indicative of our standard 4 diamond service and quality, and we have addressed your concerns about our facility with our management team. Please contact me personally at tim.lewin@jqh.com or 918-307-4002.

I have asked our chief engineer to look at the building settings more times throughout the day to account for the wide temperature swings we are experiencing outside at this time of year. I have also asked my restaurant manager to do more observations of the team to ensure we are delivering the service we expect to provide each guest 100% of the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

When it comes to hotels you ultimately want a great night's rest. We got way more than that. Room was clean, king size bed was perfect, the in hotel restaurant served great food and drinks and the staff was friendly and knowledgeable. And did I mention that I slept like a baby? Simply awesome. Thanks guys....

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmoothTop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulsa hotels
9.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tulsa-Woodland Hills 71st-Memorial
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Tulsa Woodland Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Mayo Hotel
The Mayo Hotel
#19 of 109 in Tulsa
474 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
#10 of 109 in Tulsa
1,137 reviews
4.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tulsa - I-44
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tulsa Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tulsa Hotel & Convention Center

Address: 6808 South 107th East Avenue, Tulsa, OK 74133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Tulsa
Price Range: $110 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Tulsa Hotel & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** AAA FOUR DIAMOND AWARD RATING*** Providing traditional service to a contemporary clientele, Renaissance Tulsa Hotel & Convention Center offers gracious accommodations in elegant European style. We are ideally located in the heart of the city's shopping and dining district and surrounded by restaurants, entertainment venues, and Oklahoma's largest shopping mall. Visitors staying in our Tulsa, Oklahoma hotel enjoy luxuriously appointed guest rooms that provide relaxation and contentment. For the business traveler, high speed internet access and a well designed work station encourage comfort and productivity. And our award winning Cyprus Grille Restaurant/Merlot's Lounge offer exquisite dining with a warm ambiance. We are proud to offer premier accommodations in Tulsa. Adhering to the highest standards of hospitality, our staff is committed to providing flawless service, extraordinary amenities, and a "bring you back again" experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Tulsa Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tulsa Hotel Tulsa
Tulsa Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing