We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst hotels I've stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Tulsa/Downtown/East
Ranked #76 of 109 Hotels in Tulsa
Reviewed March 26, 2010

This hotel was just awful.
The desk clerk was watching TV in the lobby, and the first question out of his mouth was "how old are you?". Then he grilled me about who was staying with me, if I was having a party, etc. I was appalled. I don't party, do drugs, create loud noises, etc. I just wanted a room to sleep in. I was very angry at how I was treated by this front desk employee.
From the outside, the hotel looks really nice... the lobby looks great as well. However, the rooms and the hallways speak a different story.
It was a very dated room in disrepair. I felt like I was in the early 80's. Our TV (an old 20-something inch) didn't work at all. The toilet wouldn't stop running. We found burn holes in our "non-smoking" room. We found mysterious stains which appeared to be some sort of body fluid were found in random parts of the room.
We went down to the front desk to see if we could get a different room. He put us in a room with 2 double beds... Not a queen bed room... At least the TV/cable worked this time!
Paying $58.00 plus taxes, I expected a half-way decent room. I was dead wrong.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJ1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 200 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2009

This is a location that i would not recommand to any. My friends and I rented some rooms for a over night stay. The tubs were dirty and when I asked for them to be cleaned, the front desk said that they had no one to clean it. We had a smoking room but no ash trays were in it. The AC came on but did not cool the room down. We had light bulbs missing from the lamps. The hot tube was broken (which the adults were looking forward to sitting in while the kids played in the pool), the pool is very small.
We order two of the same style of rooms and they were two different styles.
There are no screens on the windows for safety or for being able to open for cool air with out letting bugs in.
The next morning when we went down for our breakfast we started fixing the food and one of the workers came and started putting things up with out asking if we were done or if we needed anything else before removing anything. That was rude! When the complaints were given at the front desk, there were no offers made to make us a happy customer.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gandlfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2008

On Feb. 23, 2008, checked into this location to spend the night, however....
(1) When we inquired about the cost of the room, two beds and a whirlpool bath, we were told the price plus tax, sounded like a good deal. When we went inside to check in, we were then told that not only did we have to pay the price of the room for one night, not a problem, but then we would also be required to put up a $20.00 deposit and that we would get this after we checked out the next day. WHY WERE WE NOT INFORMED OF THIS WHEN WE WENT TO INQUIRE ABOUT THE COST OF THE ROOM?????
(2) After we checked in and had gotten back from dinner, one of our children went in to take a bath and came back out and told us that the tub was dirty. My wife went inside and found hair in the drain and hair along the sides of the tub. Contacted the front desk and a member of their staff came up and "attempted to clean" the tub. After he had left, wife checked the tub again, and still found hair on the side of the tub, but the drain area had been cleaned, and
(3) When we had turned on all the lights in the room, we found that the room had not been vacumed. Made contact at the front desk in person, and was informed that the male would not be able to go back up and clean the bathroom again, only one time was he allowed to do so. When I stated that the carpet had not been vacumed, it was then that the staff of two females went to the room and cleaned the bathroom and the floor of the room. This passed.
(4) The heater control knob did not work on the heater / air conditioner unit, it was stripped. We shut the unit off, and noticed that there was still cold air coming from the side of the unit where it was attached to the wall. It apparently was not sealed against the wall and was leaking cold air into the room. Made contact with the front desk again, this time another night manager/clerk came up to the room, he was kind and polite, brought a spare blanket to the room and attempted to fix it, turned the knob and few times and removed it and put it on again, the unit started to blow out warm air, but after 15 mins, it went back to blowing out cold air.
Contacted the front desk and was told that he would come back up and see if he could get it to work again, but could not do any repairs until morning.

Like I have stated the staff was very polite and did attempt to correct the problems and I appreciate that.
I feel that maintenance should be done more often on the room units, and that they have a better Q&A on the cleaning of the rooms. I also feel that when quoting prices that they also include information concerning the deposit that is required. NO HIDDEN FEES would be nice to know.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank concernednokla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2007

Lobby didn't look bad...headed for our room and the floors looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a while. There was a bad smell all along the hallway like too much air freshner. Poor upkeep. About 1:30 in the morning someone was trying to get in our room with a key card and there was a lot of loud voices and people drinking. Got up the next morning and found roaches around the microwave and refrigator. Left very quickly !! After that we didn't attempt to try the breakfast. I would definately NOT stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lvtotravel62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2006

I have enjoyed staying at other Super 8’s, but this one was a disappointment. Nothing was especially clean: sticky floors, strange smells, and mysterious splatters on walls. Thin walls and clogged toilets left little to be thankful for this Thanksgiving.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank happybunkygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2006

I've often stayed at Super 8 motels, including one other one for this trip in May which was great. However, this one gave me a truly bad experience. It was 3 a.m. I had tried two other motels in the same area around 31st St off route 44 before this one. One of them had a filthy bed, the other had no hot water. I was so tired after driving for 12 hours. I waited 5 minutes in the lobby alone and finally a young man scuffled out. Without acknowledging me at first, he filled his cup with hot water or coffee from an urn in the lobby. Then he turned to me and said in the most discourteous manner, "Over there." He motioned to the front desk. Without so much as a hello or may I help you he then curtly said, "ID and credit card" - no please, no nothing. His sullen manner not withstanding, i gave these to him and asked whether I could first see the room before booking, which is my practice. He nodded and gave me a key. I checked and the room seemed fine. The rate was okay, not great, but ok. So I said I'd like to book it. He shoved a paper in front of me and said fill this out. It was a long form of required information, all of which was on my ID and card. I had had it. The woman at the hotel prior to this one, the one with no hot water, had at least had the courtesy to offer to fill it out. "I'm not filling this out," I said. I am exhausted, and all the information is on my card. I can fill out the info for the car, but you need to fill out the rest of the information on this." "Forget it," was the response. "You fill it out!" "I am very very tired, I just need to sleep," I begged. "You have to fill this out!" he yelled. "What is your name," I demanded. "None of your business," he yelled. , "I think the owner of this hotel would be interested in knowing how you treat its late night customers." "Right, since it's my uncle, I don't think you'd get anywhere," he scoffed, waving his head arrogantly. "Ma'am," this kid who was younger than my youngest son said, "I'm going to have to ask you to leave." "You bet that I am going," i said, "but I will let your uncle know about this, I can promise you." "Get Lost," was his final, gracious comment. I placed my cards wearily back into my wallet, repeating his words, "Get lost, get lost, okay, since you say so, I am going to get lost!" and i left, wandering around in a strange city truly lost, trying to find a decent hotel. I considered sleeping in my car. Several other hotels had very old rooms which smelled like smoke despite my needing a non-smoking room. It's true that I was temporarily inconvenienced by this event, however I have to be thankful that this was a unique experience for me while traveling through OK, where the people are friendly, hospitable and kind for the most part. IT does seem that Tulsa could use some quality budget/intermediate hotels so that folks don't have to go to the Doubletree or the Crowne Plaza for a good night's rest.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravlingBard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOY_99317-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulsa hotels
3.7 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Tulsa
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
#9 of 109 in Tulsa
1,234 reviews
3.3 mi away
Super 8 Tulsa/Arpt/St Fairgrounds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Super 8 Tulsa
Super 8 Tulsa
#56 of 109 in Tulsa
237 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Mayo Hotel
The Mayo Hotel
#19 of 109 in Tulsa
491 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Tulsa/Downtown/East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Tulsa/Downtown/East

Address: 3211 S. 79th E. Ave, Tulsa, OK 74145-1343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 109 Hotels in Tulsa
Price Range: $54 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Tulsa/Downtown/East 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Tulsa/Downtown/East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulsa Super Eight
Tulsa Super 8
Super 8 Tulsa
Super Eight Tulsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing