We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and classy”
Review of The Campbell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Campbell Hotel
Ranked #19 of 108 Hotels in Tulsa
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
“Quaint and classy”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We recently held our daughters wedding and reception here, we had also booked most of the rooms for the occasion. My daughter could never have picked a better place to hold something so special to our family. From the beginning of the planning they treated us like we were there family, they were there every step of the way to make this occasion something we will remember for the rest of our lives; Now for the staff, they couldn't have a better staff, they are extremely pleasant and helpful, even beyond what they are responsible for. Now for the best part of the review.....the rooms, you will have to come to this hotel 26 times just so you can experience the beauty and hard work that have gone into these rooms each room is different 26 different themes. The beds are made up like something you would see in a store selling there bedding, plush pillows stacked like you were in your own home. I recommend this hotel for your stay, whether you are from Tulsa or visiting please consider this your home while you are away from your home, you will never regret your decision

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Owner at The Campbell Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thanks so much for the very nice review. It was a beautiful wedding, and we loved having all of you. Jenny and Ian are a lovely couple, and we very much wish them a happily ever after. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    56
    17
    9
    2
See reviews for
41
106
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The location for this hotel is good, but setting not very nice. Not exactly industrial, but right off a main drag. Since the hotel is only 2 stories, views out the windows were to parking lot or street. BUT, that being said, the rooms were very nicely furnished, large, and comfortable, with mini-fridge, coffee machine, hair dryer, etc. Our bathroom had a shower/tub and was nicely decorated.The service was very helpful and informative. The continental breakfast was convenient. We had a sweet time on our visit and would highly recommend The Campbell.

Room Tip: If you like Leon Russell, stay in the room with his name!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsPollyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Owner at The Campbell Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Well, I'm glad you found us. I know we don't exactly look like the average hotel from the outside, but we were originally built as a hotel upstairs in 1927, and since we have restored the hotel and are now on the national register of historic places, the facade has to remain as it was almost 100 years ago. But we made it real nice inside, and the building is rich in history and comfort. And that main drag is Route 66, so we put up with that too. We thrilled that you stayed, and hope to see you again, and thanks for the nice review. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I use to travel often and rarely had a bad hotel experience. Over the last decade, bad hotel experiences appear to be the norm, even in the high-end hotels in which I stay. The desire for huge profits and CO bonuses seem to have taken priority over maintenance of the hotel and quests services. Most hotels, even the high-end ones, do not have enough employees to properly serve the quests, clean the rooms and overall maintain the hotel. Because money is generally not being put back into the hotels for repair and to ensure that there is sufficient staff to provide a clean room and overall clean facility for the guests, I dread having to stay in hotels.

As a result of my bad experiences in many of the well known high-end hotels, after reading the reviewers opinions concerning the Campbell Hotel and looking at the photos of the various distinctive rooms available, I decided to give it a try although the picture of the hotel's outside gave me pause.

I stayed in the Pearl room. It was very clean and nicely decorated. In fact, the hotel is beautifully restored and provides the feel of old time luxury. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful, including the cleaning staff. Everything in my room worked as it should.

I will stay in the Campbell Hotel again on my next stay. My only fear is that the owner will come to realize that the hotel is indeed a rare "Pearl," and thus, that it is not necessary to give away so much free stuff --- unlimited bottled water, yogurt, pastries, and energy snakes.

Thanks for providing such a beautiful and clean place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Owner at The Campbell Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Wow, what a great review. I'm thrilled you found us, and that you appreciate everything we did. It was the funnest hard work ever. Your review really helps get the word out, and that's great because we are new( what once was old is new again) and we want everyone to know. Thanks so much, and please come back soon, and maybe try out a different themed room. We'll take good care of you. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Looking at a few of my other reviews will reveal that this place is a little classier and pricier than most places I stay. A discount for Route 66 travelers brought the cost within range and got me a rather posh night on the road. I stayed in the Leon Russell room and really enjoyed the musical decor and looking over the photos, posters, and album covers. I understand that the building was in quite bad shape when the recent renovation began which makes the current state of things even more impressive. All the rooms are on the second floor. There is an elevator but I thought climbing the wide stairway with the skylight at the top was a much better way to get there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Owner at The Campbell Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
I'm so glad you found us and were able to stay. We welcome Route 66 travelers, and that's why we offer a discount. I'm glad you enjoyed and appreciated our little hotel, and hope you will be back to visit again. Thanks so much for staying. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Within walking distance to the University of Tulsa so it's the perfect location if you have a student attending the college. Our room was beautiful and cozy and we can't wait to stay again as the decor in each room is unique. The staff was very hospitable and personable. Love the bar!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Owner at The Campbell Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you so much. Glad you enjoyed it. Can't wait to have you back. Thanks again. Barbara C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This place is just what it claims to be - an old boutique hotel with character. Our party was made up of 4 people so we saw 2 different rooms - the Tulsa Garden suite and The Rose Bowl room. Both of them were incredibly tasteful - the rose bowl was hip, the Tulsa Garden Suite was cozy and elegant. EXACTLY LIKE THE PHOTOS! The entire hotel was cool. That being said - as previous reviewers have stated - the air conditioning is loud - but I found we didn't really need it all night.... This is an old boutique hotel - things like that are going to happen - if you are very particular - a mainstream hotel like a Marriott or something may make your time in Tulsa better - but if you are looking for something different and cool this place has it!!! And read their website! They are completely honest - they mention that the breakfast is a "limited continental" - but since there are fridges and microwaves in every room we brought some pastries and fruit for a quick in room breakfast. The location is ideal - during our trip we went to the Philbrook Museum, a drive by the Golden Driller and to Cherry Street numerous times - we were never in the car more than 5-10 minutes. This was PERFECT for us! It had a "downtown" vibe with out the traffic and/or paid parking. When I go back - I will stay here. One note - I scheduled 2 massages for 2 people - the therapist was sweet and good but not GREAT - I say this because it was a bit of a let down - we were really looking forward to a good massage - if you like a very light touch then she is your girl - if you prefer deep tissue - you may want to look elsewhere. That is purely personal preference - but I felt it was worthy of noting. I look forward to going back to Tulsa just so I can stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Owner at The Campbell Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Wow! Thanks for all the nice words. Can't wait for you to come back and try a few more rooms. They are all great. We really appreciate people like you who get what we went to all the trouble for. Makes it all worthwhile. Hope to see you soon. Thanks again. Barbara C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I was only in Tulsa for a day, but I have to say this hotel makes me want to come back for seconds and thirds. This is the kind of place we need more of in New York City: comfortable and unpretentious, yet charmingly decorated with a singular style -- complete with retrospectives of rock and country icons on the walls. It was as homey as it was hip, and I got the feeling I was at the crossroads between the great frontier and East Coast urbanity. The staff was nice, too. It has all the stuff you'd expect: free Wi-Fi, cozy beds, a big-screen TV on the wall -- but those are givens. This is the kind of place for travelers who really want to get a sense of a place when they visit (Tulsa is a creative, art-centric city with a lot of big-oil money to support the arts). Do yourself a favor: Skip the Best Western and come here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Owner at The Campbell Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
All right! That's what we like to hear. A happy guest who gets our idea of hospitality. I DO hope you come back and experience an entirely different room that takes your imagination somewhere else. Thanks so much for staying with us, and please come again. We appreciate the kind review and your helping to get the word out. Barbara C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulsa hotels
2.3 mi away
The Mayo Hotel
The Mayo Hotel
#16 of 108 in Tulsa
468 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
#11 of 108 in Tulsa
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Tulsa
2.4 mi away
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
#33 of 108 in Tulsa
305 reviews
2.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tulsa-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Campbell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Campbell Hotel

Property: The Campbell Hotel
Address: 2636 E 11th St, Tulsa, OK 74104-3938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 108 Hotels in Tulsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Campbell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience your stay in Tulsa at the luxurious Campbell Hotel. Completely renovated in 2011 and home of the 2011 Designer Showcase, this fabulously decorated, boutique hotel is located on old Historic Route 66 and is a jewel in the heart of Tulsa. Brimming with pieces of Tulsa’s history throughout the hotel, the awe-inspiring Campbell invites you to experience a piece of Southern comfort on Tulsa time. Tulsa boasts amazing cultural attractions including the Philbrook and Gilcrease Museums, the BOK Center, active entertainment districts, amazing art deco, the longest stretch of the original Route 66 Highway, and the Arkansas River Trails where you can exercise, dine, or watch the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Campbell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing