We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your own hot water (and coffee)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Tulsa Downtown
Ranked #14 of 108 Hotels in Tulsa
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
“Bring your own hot water (and coffee)”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

On my most recent trip to Tulsa I selected the downtown Courtyard because of the very competitive rate (77/night) and because it was the closest Marriott property to where I needed to be. This most recent stay at a Courtyard, however, cemented my position of being a non-Courtyard guy in favor of Fairfield. How can you say no to complimentary coffee at 6:30? Courtyard doesn't have it. Fairfield does. To begin, this property specifically is ok only--only--if you have business downtown and can walk to your destination. The downtown Courtyard has only valet parking. Otherwise you are parking on the street, which is free until 8:00 a.m. I'm not sure what happens then. Anyways, my check-in experience was less than what I have typically experienced with Marriott. It was really poor. Check-out was the same. I wasn't even asked if my room was comfortable. Which brings me to the room. It was fine. Except when I went to the shower on a 17-degree morning. This hotel occupies space in a very old building, The Atlas Life Building. If there is a boiler, and I have to guess there is somewhere, it doesn't get hot water to the upper floors. A sign on the shower door says to run the water in the shower and lavatory for 2 minutes to coax the hot water up. I ran it for 20 minutes--that's two zero minutes--and ended up with a very tepid shower. Not one I wanted to linger in at all. That brings me to the coffee. There was one--one--coffee serving in the room that wasn't decaf. Sad. Bottom line? Go in with your eyes wide open. Would I stay again? No. It's too much work. Pretty building, but you will get better service at a Fairfield. And by the way, I am a Gold level member with Marriott and was never thanked. Sad again.

Room Tip: Don't plan on a hot shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressGM74012, General Manager at Courtyard Tulsa Downtown, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Mr. Mark W,
We strive to give exceptional service to all our guests & when we fall short we want to use that feedback to better train our staff. Our Gold & Platinum Marriott Reward Members even receive an additional gift above & beyond the standard Courtyard bonus points or market gift. We are in a historic building but have modernized every part of the guest experience. We have spent the last 3 years since we opened continually improving the eco-friendly hot water system that was installed in this renovated building to ensure all guests receive a great hot shower. I apologize that you had an issue, I certainly wish you would have contacted us so we can resolve the issue.
It is true that Courtyard by Marriott has removed the complimentary coffee in the lobby. Courtyard would prefer to allow our guests to enjoy a fresh cup of Starbucks coffee instead of house coffee in the lobby that might have been sitting out for hours. I certainly apologize if you needed more coffee in your room, our valet staff is always available to deliver extra coffee up to your room.
We most certainly are not perfect, we are continually training new staff & tenured staff to work with our historic building & give the absolute best experience possible to our guests. All our staff is empowered to resolve issue when they are brought to their attention. I apologize again for any issues you encountered while staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    129
    38
    8
    1
See reviews for
41
102
21
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
360 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Can't see the reason for bad reviews. Guess some folks don't know how to book a room (hint, call and tell them what you want!) Asked for, and received, a room away from elevators with view of downtown on sixth floor. Actually, we were right beside the neon atlas! Room 601. Comfy bed, huge shower, pretty much what is needed in a stay. The lobby, commons area is awesome. Lots of folks interacting in the morning while eating bfast or sipping on a sbucks coffee. Lots of books relating to oklahoma and tulsa history laying around, if inclined to learn a little more about the area. Super friendly staff. Oh, and on the weekends you can park right out front on the street for free, that tip earned the valet a tip.

Room Tip: ask for corner or outside room, 601 was great with the atlas night light! no worries, thick curtains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I wanted to have a romantic night away from the baby to celebrate our anniversary - and to get a good night's sleep - much needed. Well, I wish I could say that the Courtyard was that place. It was not.

First, they put us in a room by the elevators so we could hear the swishing and pinging through the walls. After calling down to request a room move, we were told that there were no available rooms and we would have to stay put. Fine. We started to unpack and dress for our night out.

Stripped down, we hear the door to our room open. Thank God I had put the deadbolt swing lock on or else we would have been walked in on by complete strangers while we were standing there naked! The front desk had given working keys to a completely different couple. They were equally mortified.

As we left for our dinner, we came upon a couple who had been stuck in the elevator trying to get to their room. Their keys weren't working and they were going up and down, over and over again, trying to get to their room on the 7th floor. The wife was really mad and the husband told us that he'd had to walk up the stairs three times. (Keys are used to access each floor in the elevator.)

When we returned from dinner, our key would no longer work in our door so we had to get a new set of keys from the front desk. Then, when we tried to check out the next morning, we got a bill for valet parking. We had parked on the street overnight and had not used the valet parking.

When we asked the front desk to remove the charge from our credit card, she went down and got the parking lot manager who accused us of lying. He made us show him our car keys and still didn't believe us. It was only after we explained to him that they gave our room to another couple that he believed that the black car in the parking lot was not our white Toyota!

But guess what...it's not over. We just checked our credit card statement and we are still being billed for the valet parking AND they have the other couple's address as our mailing address? My husband is on the phone with them trying to get this straightened out AGAIN.

In other words - the rooms were clean but that front desk is a mess.

We will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachWriterLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressGM74012, General Manager at Courtyard Tulsa Downtown, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the service issues you experienced during your stay. I am very sorry that you were unable to get a sound night sleep and the front desk failed to meet your expectations. I do sincerely value the feedback as the hotel continues to improve our service and amenities. At Marriott, we are committed to providing exceptional service and when we fall short we feel that has a team we have failed. The leadership team in the hotel is committed to resolving issues such as these from happening again. – Tyler Lamm, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This Marriot in the old Atlas Life Building was perfect for our stay in Sept.2013. Just the 2 of us exploring the many great Art Deco sights/architecture gems located here in downtown Tulsa OK. Who would have thought this would be such a treasure. The hotel is in the heart of the downtown district with everything we needed to relax and explore with a taste of retro-urban. Nice hotel cocktail lounge on the 2nd floor with small dinner menu available and super breakfast down on the first floor at the Atlas Grill. Best for mature explorers/visitors.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room as far from the ventilation unit outside between the neighboring building as poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dlaurenzi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its relationship with the Tulsa Ballet and its location close to the Performing Arts Center. We came to see the ballet this weekend. The free airport shuttle allowed us to save the cost of a rental car and the valet parking fees. The room we had was spacious and had a wonderful view of the city. The only downside was the lack of a complimentary breakfast and dining facilities open all day. We did have our breakfasts at the Atlas Grill in the same building and were within walking distance to several good restaurants. All in all, a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room away from the elevator. We had a large king room on a corner which affo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Great historic building and for the money pretty spacious rooms. The location is on the heart of downtown so you could walk to a number of restaurants and shops. The drawback it is a little more expensive then other hotels and does not offer any amenities like a pool, continental breakfast and free parking. There are other hotels that offer more for less with a great location as well. The only difference in this hotel is that it is an historic building so the architecture is neat.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luisnazario2004, Manager at Courtyard Tulsa Downtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. Feedback as yours make us a better hotel and Company. I am sorry that our property did not meet all of your expectations regarding not having a pool. As a Historic property this was not able to be done. Being in the heart of Downtown, parking has its limitations. We provide the option of valet parking to give our guest the assurance of having the vehicle in a closed and safe facility. We pride ourselves in giving excellent service. If you decide to stay with us please give us a call. I am sure we can make your next stay with us a better one. Thank you once again for your review.

Luis Nazario
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel is well located in downtown having business center like bank of Oklahama, heat office of Chase, Lion king hall etc. Food is not having much variety but if you want to stay in downtown then this is the best choice. It offers complimentary airport drop and pickup services.

Room Tip: Rood side facing rooms are good. Other rooms have poor view as this hotel is surrounded by big build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tohitesh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulsa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
#10 of 108 in Tulsa
1,081 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mayo Hotel
The Mayo Hotel
#17 of 108 in Tulsa
465 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tulsa-Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tulsa Downtown
0.4 mi away
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
#32 of 108 in Tulsa
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tulsa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tulsa Downtown

Property: Courtyard Tulsa Downtown
Address: 415 S Boston Ave, Tulsa, OK 74103-5021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Tulsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tulsa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique. Historical. But with all the modern conveniences the Courtyard by Marriott Tulsa Downtown can offer. Choose from 119 spacious guestrooms, equipped with free high speed internet, high definition flat screen TVs, plenty of natural light and an ample work area while you stay. Be sure to visit our state of the art fitness center, or dine with us for breakfast, lunch or dinner in the Bistro. We even offer a wide selection of wine & spirits as well! It's all up to you...come stay with us and let us take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Tulsa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tulsa Downtown Hotel Tulsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing