We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of The Mayo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mayo Hotel
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Tulsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Stayed in downtown to attend an event at the BOK Center. Hotel is an easy walk to BOK. Upon arrival room was not ready and so they offered to upgrade us from "kitchenette" to full suite. Even let us tour the rooms. Full suites have only one King bed and a lumpy pull out sofa so we chose to stay with the regular room. Best part about this hotel- QUIET! Stayed over a weekend and there was a huge wedding reception one evening with all the alcohol fueled loud, celebratory festivities that entails. Lobby was hopping! I thought "great, there goes my nights sleep!" NOT SO! We were only on the 3rd floor and yet did not hear a PEEP out of the party. In fact, it was so quiet during the entire time we felt as though we were the only ones in the hotel. Four of us (all ladies) stayed in one "regular" room. It was quite adequate. I brought in an air mattress (far more comfortable than a sleeper sofa) as I don't sleep well and didn't want to disturb my friends. Staff provided bedding without blinking an eye. Everyone on the staff was professional but very friendly. We heard "My pleasure" a lot. As there were four of us we needed more wash cloths and towels and had to keep asking for them daily. Each request was answered promptly. Had dinner once in the hotel restaurant. Entered with trepidation afraid it would be overpriced, tiny portions, of icky food like a lot of other HOTEL RESTAURANTS. Food was wonderfully prepared, and beautifully served. We did not use the valet parking and most of the time just walked wherever we wanted to go. The hotel does offer a very limited number of free on street parking slots. The one time we did move our car, upon return we had to park two blocks away. It was especially difficult as there was a concert downtown in addition to the BOK event. Felt safe enough walking downtown though. Every time we left or returned through the front door staff would say something pleasant. One of the valets even did a little Mayo Hotel dance he created. Fun! We did wonder what the designer of the hotel was thinking when decorating the lobby. Somehow in that person's mind orange and grey striped chairs go great with taupe curtains, maroon seating and black and white lighting fixtures. Said tongue in cheek -We could not decide if the designer was truly talented or really unstable. I requested a "nice view" but we got the view of the trash dumpster alley which was disappointing. However, the staff was awesome, the hotel appointments, and amenities were wonderful, it was restful and quite and well worth the price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mieka407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 488 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2010

This is a very beautiful hotel with many amenities. The staff was very helpful. The only thing we didn't like was that the only parking available was valet parking for $18 a night. We didn't like having to contact the front desk every time we needed our vehicle or something from our vehicle. We felt obligated to tip the valet each time which added up. The only other choice was to park it on the street.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
Thank ValerieW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Is it old? Is it new? The hotel bills itself as historic and does have a beautiful lobby and wonderful historic building, but the moment you enter the elevator the historic part is over. The rooms have been updated soo much that you feel like you have entered some hyper modern design catalog-where the designer has never stayed in a hotel room or even traveled. The design of the rooms is sterile, gimicky, cold and way too modern for this great historic building. The hallways to the rooms have a bunch of old photos of the glory days of the hotel, but those days are long gone- and it is kind of strange since whoever did the redevelopment must have seen all the character less updating of the hallways and rooms and decided to make up for it by putting photos of the buildings better days.

Only part of the building is actually a hotel, the rest is condos. This makes the lobby feel odd. Half the people coming and going live there and as a result, the desk area is very hidden and the lack of visitors gives the public areas a strange feel. No real bellmen or consigner and the valets for your car seem to wander out when they need a break instead of snapping out the door to help you with your car.

Our room featured a huge entry area with no carpet or furniture, the kitchenette had an office desk where the chair backed to the fridge so that if you were in the chair the other person could not access the sink or fridge. There was no mini bar. The kitchenette area had a window that was frosted and should have been in a bathroom, and the bathroom had a large and clear glass window. The bathroom also featured body jets that were strange and felt like a bad attempt to make the bathroom feel high end. Dont get me wrong, someone spent a lot of money to do this to this grand old property, they just had no idea what they were doing. They tout that the hotel is historic and then proceede to make it feel like some modern vegas thing. Nice hotel, just a tad conflicted.

I applaud the building for trying to bring life to Tulsa, but the downtown is a wreck and completely void of any life or anything to do-no restaurants and zero shopping. Very sad.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomdenverDenverCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

What a wonderful surprise tucked in  the heart of downtown Tulsa!  Makes you feel as though you are actually living in the grandeur of the 1920s. The property exudes class and sophistication and the staff couldn't possibly be more friendly and helpful. 

The rooms are well decorated and feature gigantic flat panel televisions. So it is a great mix of modern and traditional.

You won't regret your choice to stay at The Mayo. I know we didn't!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladymags_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Recently stayed here on business. Great restored hotel with amazing service and beautiful rooms. Valet parking very reasonable and well-run.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dms1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

This is one of the best hotels I have been to in America. The front desk was very helpful to the point that they took a bunch of us a great bar a mile away in their Escalade. My room was an apartment with a full kitchen and huge flat screen TV's in both the living room and Bedroom. Very close to the BOK arena. There is a coffee shop right next to the front desk.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
Thank setcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayoHotel, Sales & Marketing at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2010

Thank You so much for your review. The Mayo Hotel hopes that you will be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed at the Mayo while in Tulsa to see a show at the BOK Center. The Front Desk staff were very nice, and we were checked in quickly. We had reserved 2 Suites, one for my mother, and one for my husband & me. Originally we wanted 1 Suite, and one connecting single room, but there were no single rooms available when we booked our reservation. (our fault for waiting till the week before the show to book!)

After we got settled in our rooms, my husband began trying to call the front desk regarding dinner reservations. He had to make several calls before he was finally answered & connected to the restaurant. He was told there were no reservations available for that evening. Again, I understand...it's a very small restaurant, and there was a concert in town that evening, so the hotel was busy.

Our frustrations stem mainly from our attempt to order room service. We had browsed the menus (for room service & for the restuarant) online prior to booking, and we were frustrated to find that many items were not actually available. We chose from the menu that was available & started trying to place an order for dinner at 6:00. Finally, at 6:15, my husband gave up trying to call (as he either got no answer, or was transferred to the bar & not picked back up), so he went downstairs to place the order in person. He was told it would be "about an hour." At 7:30, we had still not received our food, so after unsuccessfully calling, he again went downstairs...and was told it would be "another 30 minutes or so." Our concert started at 8:00 pm, so needless to say, we didn't have the extra time to wait. We cancelled the dinner order and went to the BOK Center.
Very frustrating!

The valet staff were very nice & efficient, and the breakfast experience at Trula was fine (again the menu was not the same as they show online).

Beds were fine; TV's were great; Showers were fine, but not enought water pressure to be great; Kitchen area was beautiful, but no dishes, silverware, cookware, etc is provided...so I'm not sure what the point of offering a full kitchen is if they don't provide tools to make the most of it.
We would probably stay again because the rooms were nice, and the location is good, but we will definitely plan to eat elsewhere! The restaurant/room service staff doesn't have their act together.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulsa hotels
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
#10 of 109 in Tulsa
1,221 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Campbell Hotel
The Campbell Hotel
#22 of 109 in Tulsa
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
#30 of 109 in Tulsa
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tulsa-Downtown
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Tulsa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayo Hotel

Address: 115 W 5th St, Tulsa, OK 74103-4239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Tulsa
Price Range: $108 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1925, The Mayo Hotel was the place to be in Tulsa. Famous or not, our guests receive the superstar treatment they deserve. With 102 hotel rooms, we have more suites than standard rooms - and when we say standard, we mean spectacular. Room sizes from 500 square feet and up, there is plenty of room in this historic building to spread out. Be sure to visit The Mayo Museum and learn about our famous past and our promising future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mayo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing