We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is top notch here.”
Review of The Mayo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mayo Hotel
Ranked #17 of 108 Hotels in Tulsa
Certificate of Excellence
Fitchburg, WI
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Everything is top notch here.”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband and I spent two nights here and our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. It is a beautiful hotel. We were upgraded to a suite that was huge. I think I could live in it! We also ate at the Trula Restaurant onsite. The food is delicious and so reasonably priced. I had Ahi tuna for dinner and I think it was only $18. The breakfast we had was also wonderful. I would highly recommend this hotel if you find yourself in downtown Tulsa.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MontanaDakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukas V, Front Office Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear MontanaDakota,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. It is an honor to get a compliment from a seasoned traveler like you, and I am always pleased to read that we did our job well.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you are in the area again. I would love to make sure that your future stay goes at least as well as the previous one.

Warmest Regards,

Lukas Vodicka
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    95
    58
    23
    19
See reviews for
71
152
23
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our room was enormous- I'm sure larger than my first apartment and had every amenity you could imagine.

The kids (7 and 9) really enjoyed the walk in multi jet shower.

The location is just a stone's throw away from the library where we visited for story time. Excellent restaurants are just steps away from the front door. The doorman held an umbrella for me as I went to my car in the rain. Such service!!

But, the very best thing... While checking out I overheard another guest making preparations for a special visit. The hotel will sprinkle your room and bed with rose petals (artificial since real ones damage linens and carpets) and light the room with candles. Wow!

Historic, charming, and comfortable all in the lovely Tulsa. A must visit!

Room Tip: You can not go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatalieTanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukas V, Front Office Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear NatalieTanner,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us all here on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to read about your positive experience. We always try our best to exceed everyone's expectations, and kind words like yours encourage our whole team.

The size of our rooms is one of our biggest assests and yes they are more like apartments than hotel rooms.
And lastly, the conversation you overheard defines our philosophy. First-class service is our number one priority and foundation for everything else.

It was a pleasure serving you and I hope to welcome you at the Mayo again.

Lukas Vodicka
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

So I have travelled to many places in the world and in our country, stayed in cheap hotels and high end hotels but never have I been in a historic hotel that came with such beautiful rooms and staff that deserve more than the available 5 stars. Free local shuttle service and to and from the airport.
I can only say that the rooms are amazing! This hotel is close to downtown restaurants and night time fun.

Room Tip: I stayed in a suite with king size bed. Was in the corner of building so had great views. Living roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thetraveller14fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Mayo. It was our first visit to Tulsa, a reunion with friends we had not spent time with for 25 years.

Our rooms were spacious, very clean, and well decorated and appointed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel lobby is a very large, elegant, and impressive space; though the furnishings could be more comfortable.

We had a very good dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant, Trulo. The hotel bar is adequate, though very small and loud when full. An adjacent coffee shop is excellent.

I am rating the hotel excellent, even with my small concerns about the lobby and bar because it's other strengths are so great that rating it 4 would be a serious under-rating.

We found Tulsa to be a great place to visit for a few days. We decided to visit because of the city's outstanding collection of Art Deco buildings. They did not disappoint. We also enjoyed the Woody Guthrie a Museum, an outstanding interactive museum. We enjoyed the city's offering of good restaurants as well. Probably most impressive was the friendliness and helpfulness of everyone we met. It was way beyond our expectations.

Room Tip: Ask fora corner room. They are much larger and have additional furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukas V, Front Office Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Fred G,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Tulsa, and that we could be part of your positive experience. Tulsa indeed has many things to offer, and I am very happy that you ventured out and experienced so many of them.

Thank you for acknowledging the greatness of our building and I truly hope that we will see you again.

Lukas Vodicka
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This beautiful art deco hotel was everything we had hoped! Wonderful door staff and reception staff. We were given a complimentary upgrade and so had a lovely suite with small kitchen and separate sitting room. Very clean and modern. The only negative was that the downstairs bar didn't seem to have adequate staff for the guests AND the evening visitors. Highly recommended and I think the very best hotel in Tulsa!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emmalulu1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukas V, Front Office Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Emmalulu1968,

I am thrilled to know that we managed to fulfill your expectations. Everyone here at The Mayo always strives to be the best, and validations such as yours motivate us to keep it up and improve every day.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and if England gets too rainy and cold- come see us again:)

Yours,

Lukas Vodicka
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stay at the Mayo several times a month and will say that the staff and amenities get 5 stars. The valet service makes you feel welcome and special, the front desk staff (Kaylee, Nichole) are amazing. The rooms are high class and comfortable.
I would "and do" recommend this hotel to everyone that comes to Tulsa.
Thanks for making me feel at home when I am away from home.
TD

Room Tip: The upgraded rooms are furnished with kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukas V, Front Office Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear TD,

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. It is truly great to hear that you enjoy our hotel so much, and we will continue to do our best to impress you in the future.

I look forward to seeing you again,

Lukas Vodicka
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I had an excellent stay at the Mayo. Despite what I've read in other reviews, I thought the hotel staff was exceptional. From the sweet woman who checked us in, all the way to the helpful valet, everyone was more than willing to help myself and my husband with anything we needed. The lobby is gorgeous, the rooms are spotless, and the wifi works awesome! The hotel is located right in the heart of downtown Tulsa so there are tons of restaurants, bars, shops, and just cool buildings within walking distance. I had a great time staying here and totally recommend it.

Best part of our stay: Definitely the wonderful staff. Kaleigh at the front desk was incredible.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are quiet and seem bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Case T, Front Office Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Shannon,
Your incredibly kind words where such an honor for our entire staff to read. Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. It’s a pleasure to hear that our team wowed you during your stay; that is what we strive for with all of our guests. It’s amazing to watch people’s faces brighten as they enter the Grand Hall for their first time. There’s truly nothing else like The Mayo in all of Tulsa. As you mentioned, downtown is really becoming a hot spot once again. Guests have many choices of places to shop, dine, or grab a drink. We offer a fantastic restaurant to anyone that would like to try its exceptional food, and our rooftop bar has an incredible view of Tulsa to take in while having a drink. If our guests do decide that they would like to venture out we offer complimentary shuttle service in our Cadillac Escalade to anywhere within four miles of the hotel or to the airport. Kaleigh is truly an asset to us, and I love to see a guest take the time to praise her for all she does. I truly appreciate you for recommending us, and on behalf of the entire Mayo staff, Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulsa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
#11 of 108 in Tulsa
1,106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection
2.3 mi away
The Campbell Hotel
The Campbell Hotel
#20 of 108 in Tulsa
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
#33 of 108 in Tulsa
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tulsa-Downtown
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Tulsa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayo Hotel

Property: The Mayo Hotel
Address: 115 W 5th St, Tulsa, OK 74103-4239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 108 Hotels in Tulsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1925, The Mayo Hotel was the place to be in Tulsa. Famous or not, our guests receive the superstar treatment they deserve. With 102 hotel rooms, we have more suites than standard rooms - and when we say standard, we mean spectacular. Room sizes from 500 square feet and up, there is plenty of room in this historic building to spread out. Be sure to visit The Mayo Museum and learn about our famous past and our promising future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Mayo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing