We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional”
Review of The Mayo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mayo Hotel
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Tulsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Unprofessional. Nice staff once they came around, but the hotel was empty and workers standing around staring at us and no one to help. Obviously, professional hospitality management is not important. Very expensive and hot water ran out quickly as well.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JakeBaldwin, General Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

I’m sorry to hear about the experience you had during your stay. Our staff works everyday to better our service. One of the keys to this service is a positive attitude and an eagerness to meet our guests’ every need. It appears that we dropped the ball while you were here and that will be corrected. Hospitality is very much important to us and we will continue to get better every day. I would ask that you contact me personally to discuss these issues in further detail so that we can ensure they do not happen again. Thank you for choosing The Mayo and I do hope we get the opportunity to change your impression of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 492 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

Spent two nights here on business Sept 2013. The outside and inside are vintage 20's -- very elegant. For contrast the individual rooms are large, very modern deco inside with all the amenities you would want. Within walking of downtown area, nice bar and restaurant. Exceptionally friendly staff. As I recall about $150/night including all taxes. I would come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkV709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JakeBaldwin, General Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about The Mayo. I really appreciate that you noticed the balance between our vintage 1920s grand hall and our modern rooms. We believe that it provides our guests with the original ambience along with all of the modern day conveniences that they could ask for. Our location only continues to get better with all the growth that Downtown Tulsa is experiencing. I will pass along your praises to our staff; I know they will be excited to see you again during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

went to my prom in this hotel in 1977 so it was a walk down memory lane . This hotel was nice then and still is nice rooms and ball room was nice also had a great time just like in 77 . i am older and so is the mayo but we both look good same time next year .

Room Tip: no pool and get a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JakeBaldwin, General Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

I always enjoy hearing a guest’s past memories of The Mayo. My father tells a story very similar to yours about an old college formal at The Mayo. The Crystal Ballroom is Tulsa’s premier event space as it has been since it was first built in the 1920s. Thank you for your kind words. We hope that you return to The Mayo in the future to make even more memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I'm not a frequent traveler to Tulsa so I wasn't sure what to expect when I booked two nights at The Mayo. I was impressed when we were picked up in a very clean and cool SUV. When we arrived at the hotel it was like be transformed back to the art deco era. Apparently the hotel was remodeled a few years ago and it was absolutely beautiful. Many of the original features were left and the new additions fit in very nicely. The room was very large with more than adequate space to relax and work. I had several meals at the hotel restaurant, Trula. Dinner on both nights excellent. Breakfast was a bit boring but there's a nice coffee shop next door if you want something different. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. There are a few other chains downtown but I'm sticking with The Mayo.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JakeBaldwin, General Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

We appreciate you choosing The Mayo and your great review. The hotel was restored to fit its original grandiose style that was at the cusp of the art deco era. We do, indeed, have features that are original to the hotel and the rest of the building was meticulously remodeled to match as closely as possible. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your many meals in Trula. Our new Chef de Cuisine has put out a phenomenal new menu and offers unique specials for lunch and dinner on a daily basis. I will pass on your praise to the rest of our staff. I know that they will be delighted to hear it. We hope that your travels bring you back to Tulsa more often. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Had a great welcome from the minute we drew up outside in our rental car, Steve helped is with our bags and check was speedy and yes I really felt I was on a movie set. We were given room 911 which felt a bit odd it being so near the anniversary of that terrible day. Bit want a room, more like a mini suite with a fridge and microwave and a small sink. Lovely bathroom and fantastic shower. Never had a bedroom with such a hugeTV about a 50" screen! We were slightly disappointed that we couldn't enjoy the roof top bar due to a corporate function. The downtown area is very quiet and if you don't want to eat at the hotel you will have to walk out in a very safe area to find somewhere. The coffee shop was good and we did have breakfast whic we really enjoyed, fresh cooked hot breakfast (I took the fruit option rather than potatoes and had a large bowl of fresh fruit.). I thought breakfast was included in the room rate and on checking it wasn't but we really enjoyed it. The hotel was very quiet, we almost thought we were the only guests. Check out getting our car back was quick too - yes there is a $20 charge for valet parking. Great stay.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad room, but a higher level room might be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JakeBaldwin, General Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

I am thrilled that you felt this way after visiting The Mayo. It always our goal to get guests into the hotel and checked-in quickly. All of our rooms feature a butler’s kitchen no matter whether it is a suite or not. Our rooms also feature 50” televisions; our suite offer two 50” televisions both in the living area and bedroom. Our restaurant, Trula, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and is a great place to grab a bite. There are also plenty of other options in Downtown Tulsa no matter what type of cuisine you prefer. Thank you for your great feedback. It is our hope that we leave all of our guests feeling this way after their stay. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Mayo is phenomenal. I refuse to stay anywhere else when in Tulsa. The rooms are classy, clean and affordable. Often times, I have been upgraded to suite if rooms are available upon arrival. The staff is great and the airport/town shuttle is free (Escalade). The only thing I would change is the time frame by which breakfast room service is served. The earliest they can deliver is 7:15 because the Trula does not open until 7:00 am. The time frame is an unfortunate drawback because the food is delicious.

Room Tip: Get the suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinBieberTheBieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JakeBaldwin, General Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your compliments and your dedication to The Mayo. Nearly half of our hotel rooms are suites so there is always a possibility future guests may receive a complimentary upgrade on a busy night. Our complimentary shuttle is a great amenity for our guests. It will take guests to and from the airport as well as anywhere within a 4-mile radius of the hotel. I will speak with our restaurant manager about your suggestions for breakfast in Trula. Thanks again for your loyalty to The Mayo. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This Hotel was excellent. Beautiful Architecture & the updated suites were awesome. A real gem. The staff was unbelievably nice & helpful. Daenae (sp?) at the front desk was wonderful to deal with and the entire valet & concierge staff were super helpful, even recommending a great breakfast spot ( AND giving us a ride there!).
Relaxing in the large, 2-story sitting area in the center of the lobby was a treat. I really felt like we were back in time in the roaring 20's.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JakeBaldwin, General Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your compliments. We take a great deal of pride in the historic architecture of The Mayo Hotel and are happy to hear that you appreciated this as well. Danae has been with us a short time but does a tremendous job at the front desk and is always eager to help our guests. The Mayo lobby is absolutely a treat in itself. It certainly creates an aura of the 1920s that is hard to match. Our staff will be so pleased to hear about your experience. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulsa hotels
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
#9 of 109 in Tulsa
1,234 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Campbell Hotel
The Campbell Hotel
#21 of 109 in Tulsa
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
#31 of 109 in Tulsa
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tulsa-Downtown
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Tulsa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayo Hotel

Address: 115 W 5th St, Tulsa, OK 74103-4239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Tulsa
Price Range: $115 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1925, The Mayo Hotel was the place to be in Tulsa. Famous or not, our guests receive the superstar treatment they deserve. With 102 hotel rooms, we have more suites than standard rooms - and when we say standard, we mean spectacular. Room sizes from 500 square feet and up, there is plenty of room in this historic building to spread out. Be sure to visit The Mayo Museum and learn about our famous past and our promising future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mayo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing