We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early 1900's appeal”
Review of The Mayo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mayo Hotel
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Tulsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Me, a friend, and 4 kids stayed in the two bed room suite with a living rm and full kitchen for a night. It was less than $500 (reasonable) and even though antique ish on the outside, its modern in the rooms! 3 large flat screen tvs, two bathrooms....no tub though, only showers (disappointment there). The staff gave the kids a tour of their ballroom on the top floor. They loved it and their imaginations went wild. I know the kids weren't very quiet , but staff never complained. Facility is non smoking. The only reason I didn't give its value a five, is because breakfast was nasty!!!! Cold, gross, and over priced! Condiments were cute, but that's it. Service was over all great though. Beds super comfy! Really hated to check out! Could of easily stayed a week there!;)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neelpansare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JakeBaldwin, General Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

I would like to thank all of you for choosing to stay with us at The Mayo Hotel. It was very important to our owners to find a balance when renovating The Mayo. This balance was achieved by restoring the exterior of the building, the lobby and the Crystal Ballroom to the original glamour of the 1920s while updating the rooms with a modern style and amenities to match.

You are correct that our standard rooms do not have bath tubs. However, for guests who would like a bath tub during their stay we do offer garden tubs in our Executive Suites. Future guests can upgrade from a standard room to an Executive Suite for a minimal fee.

I am very disappointed to hear about your experience in our restaurant. I want to let you know that I have spoken with our Executive Head Chef as well as our Restaurant Manager about your experience. If you find the time I would appreciate you calling me personally to provide me with more details about your experience.

Our staff is more than happy to give any of our guests a tour of the building and a lesson over the history of the hotel. This is an experience that no other hotel in Tulsa can match. I am glad to know that the kids enjoyed seeing the hotel!

Thank you again for choosing the Mayo Hotel and providing feedback from your visit. I hope that next time you do stay for an entire week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 492 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I booked a room at the mayo and ended up getting a large suite with a true living room and a full kitchen. The separate bedroom was really nice and had no windows so was completely dark at night which was also great. They even shuttle you back and forth to the airport for free in an escalade. Great hotel and great service - plus a very cool lobby and rooftop.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenverHeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JakeBaldwin, General Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you very much for choosing to book here at The Mayo Hotel. We have 102 hotel rooms and 48 of those rooms are suites, that being said, on a sold-out night there is always a chance you may get a free upgrade to a Mayo Suite.

The shuttle is a great amenity for our guests to utilize. It will take guests to and from the Tulsa International Airport free of charge as well as anywhere within a 4-mile radius of the hotel. In order to guarantee availability, guests should reserve the shuttle in advance.

Our Penthouse Bar is unmatched by any other venue in Tulsa. It sits 20-stories atop the Mayo and is a great place to watch a sunset or enjoy a drink under the stars. It is opened Thursday, Friday and Saturday night from 5 p.m. until close. We are excited to announce that we now serve food at The Penthouse so it makes a great place to enjoy a small plate during happy hour or a late night snack after dinner. We hope you come check it out during your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We pulled up to the front of the hotel just as it started to hail and storm like crazy, yet the guys at the front door came running with umbrellas and assistance like it was nothing. $20 for valet parking (in an indoor lot) was totally worth it.

Our room was amazing! Huge (bigger than some apartments I've had), spotless, just steps from the BOK Center, and only about $150 for the night? Sign me up every time I need a room in Tulsa!

The restaurant off the lobby was nice. We were there the night of a big concert at BOK Center, so they were doing a limited menu.

Room Tip: We were in room 803, and our room's bedroom was not on an outer wall of the building (leaving no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JakeBaldwin, General Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you very much for noticing the effort put forth by our valet service. We have a great group of people that understands that they are the face of the hotel; they are the first face a guest will see when they arrive and the last face they see when they depart. I am delighted to hear that they achieved this even considering the dire circumstances during your arrival.

A dinner in our restaurant, Trula, and a night in one of our suites is a great way to spend the evening especially on a concert night. In a Mayo Suite, you even begin to feel like a rock star. We would love to have you here with us again no matter the occasion. Please feel free to contact me personally to arrange your next visit. Thanks again for choosing Tulsa's historic Mayo Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I attended a friend's wedding held at the Mayo and also stayed there. The decor was beautiful, the food was delicious, and the service was excellent. Also very close to points of interest. Highly recommended.
One caveat- there is no pool which is why the Pool rating below is terrible-not actually terrible. Just non existent.

Room Tip: Higher floors are closer to the beautiful roof top bar and lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JakeBaldwin, General Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words. I hope that you enjoyed the wedding and your visit to Tulsa. I am glad that you chose stay at The Mayo while you were in town as well.

We greatly appreciate you recognizing our food and service at the wedding. Our Executive Head Chef, Jeff Meldrum, and our Banquet Sales Manager, Michael Bennett, are two of the best at what they do in all of Tulsa. They take a great deal of pride in providing great food and great service.

The Mayo is located in the middle of Downtown Tulsa and our location only gets better as the resurrection of Downtown continues. I hope that we see you again the next time you are town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our room was not ready when we arrived at The Mayo for wedding Saturday at noon. We went back and forth for a while with the guy at the front desk. Once he figured out how angry we were that were weren't going to get our room before the wedding at 2:00 he upgraded us to a suite and made everything better! The suite is absolutely gorgeous and comfortable! The rooftop deck is pretty cool too. Well done staff at The Mayo!!! You understand the value and importance of good customer service. Way to stay calm, cool, and collected.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfreak100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JakeBaldwin, General Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for visiting The Mayo Hotel this past weekend. I am very happy to hear that we were able to get you in before the wedding started.

I would like to let you and future guests know that we do our very best to accommodate our guests according to their needs during their visit, however, we can’t always guarantee that a room will be available before 2 p.m. The Mayo has 102 hotel rooms and offers a 12 p.m. check-out. If we are sold-out the night before we have to make sure that we have time to adequately clean these rooms so that they are perfect when you check-in. We do understand customer service and value it greatly but we also want to make sure that we are providing guests with a product that they should come to expect when staying at The Mayo.

If future guests need to check-in early, we do offer a 2 p.m. early check-in. If you need to check-in before that we invite you to call our reservation specialist, Sean Conner, and ask about the earliest available check-in time on the date of your arrival (There is often a minimal early check-in fee associated with arrivals that occur before 2 p.m.)

Thanks again for staying at The Mayo over the weekend. I hope that you all enjoyed the wedding and your visit to Tulsa. We understand that you are an experienced traveler and value your praises greatly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

900+ sq ft suite with a kitchen for $165?? Yes, $165.

Huge suite, king size bed, walk in shower could easily fit 4 people.

Clean, modern design, gorgeous lobby, great bar, great staff, right in downtown Tulsa.

This one gets my highest rating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonFoodSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JakeBaldwin, General Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you very much for taking notice of one of our spacious suites. It truly is a one of a kind accommodation in the Tulsa area. You are also right in that it can easily accommodate 4 people so long as someone is okay with spending the night on the pull-out sofa. These suites also make for a great extended-stay accommodation. We appreciate all of your compliments and look forward to seeing you back at The Mayo soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

So, I had this idea of proposing to my girlfriend on the roof top of the Mayo. The only catch was that I was hoping to propose on Tuesday evening at sunset and the rooftop is normally only open on the weekends.

With just one call to the Mayo about my idea everything was set and ready to go. I was directed to the manager, who let me know they would accommodate for any night of the week and if I needed champagne or anything else to make the night special to just call him directly. I was also working to keep this a surprise and everyone at the Mayo was on board and worked with me on all the logistics.

Without boring you with the proposal details (she did say yes), let me just say I could not have been more impressed with the Mayo's service and beautiful hotel. They were tremendous and made it true evening to remember.

We are planning to stay there our wedding night and I fully plan to give the Mayo my business for any special occasions. Top-grade hotel with wonderful history and a breathtaking lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Justin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JakeBaldwin, General Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you so much for considering The Mayo for such a momentous occasion in your life. The Mayo remains a special place for many past guests and locals alike. We hope to continue the Tulsa tradition of making memories at The Mayo and this is exactly the sort of thing that can accomplish this mission.

We understand that there are times when the element of surprise makes or breaks an occasion. Trust us, we can keep a secret. We do our best to take on any sort of request no matter what it may be. If possible, we will make it happen.

Congrats to the both of you and again thanks for including us in this special occasion. We look forward to the two of you making many more Mayo memories in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulsa hotels
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
#9 of 109 in Tulsa
1,234 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Campbell Hotel
The Campbell Hotel
#21 of 109 in Tulsa
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
#31 of 109 in Tulsa
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tulsa-Downtown
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Tulsa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayo Hotel

Address: 115 W 5th St, Tulsa, OK 74103-4239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Tulsa
Price Range: $115 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1925, The Mayo Hotel was the place to be in Tulsa. Famous or not, our guests receive the superstar treatment they deserve. With 102 hotel rooms, we have more suites than standard rooms - and when we say standard, we mean spectacular. Room sizes from 500 square feet and up, there is plenty of room in this historic building to spread out. Be sure to visit The Mayo Museum and learn about our famous past and our promising future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mayo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing