We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everyone went out of their way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mayo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mayo Hotel
Ranked #17 of 108 Hotels in Tulsa
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Everyone went out of their way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

My daughter, son in law and I were in Tulsa recently for the NCAA basketball tournament. We were so impressed with the staff at the mayo hotel. Everyone we met during our stay went out of their way to make our visit perfect. We felt like family there. The renovation is spectacular and my suite was a one bedroom apartment-amazing! I travel quite a bit and when I find a place like this I feel compelled to pass it on.

Stayed March 2011
Helpful?
Thank ssummer913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMayo, Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you for visiting Tulsa and The Mayo Hotel for the basketball tournament. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are so glad you felt like family at The Mayo.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to your home in Tulsa again soon.

Kind Regards,

Jeannene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    92
    55
    23
    19
See reviews for
67
149
21
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

Our stay at The Mayo was all around superb. We booked a suite for just a couple extra dollars and it was an amazing experience. The whole building is absolutely lovely, it has a very chic and modern vibe but also some historical charm. Overall it just has a luxurious feel.
Our suite was on a high floor and it was marvelously appointed. It had a complete kitchen and had clearly been recently updated. The bathroom was very spacious and the separate living room was excellent. The bedroom was also large and the linens were of the highest quality. The staff was friendly and helpful as we had never been to the Tulsa area and they were a great source of valuable information. We ordered room service for breakfast which was very reasonably priced and quite decent although not amazing. The only complaint is that there is not much in the vicinity of the hotel (walking distance) in terms of food or shopping and you will have to drive to those. However you are in downtown for sure and that could be very convenient for a business traveler.
I have stayed in many hotels but The Mayo was an extremely fantastic experience and if you are going to Tulsa there is no reason to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucygertrudis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMayo, Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our staff was delighted to read your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Mayo!

Kind Regards,

Jeannene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
311 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

I will never again stay anywhere else in Tulsa, and I have stayed in some pretty nice places elsewhere in town. My "room" was in every sense an apartment -- not a hotel suite, an apartment. Incredibly spacious, sophisticated, comfortable, and well equipped (including two enormous flat screen TVs). The only downsides -- slightly noisy HVAC and few options in hotel or vicinity for breakfast other than a small coffee shop -- were a small price to pay. Stay here. Enough said.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wedgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMayo, Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We truly appreciate it and are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our of our spacious suites.

Kind Regards,

Jeannene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Tulsa Mayo on our wedding night, March 20, 2010. We enjoyed it so much that we wish we would have skipped our honeymoon in Mexico, and just satyed at the Mayo for a week! We had dinner at Trula, the restraunt downstairs. The wait staff and bar tender were terrific, and since we were still in our wedding attire our server bought us dessert, and the bar tender bought us a round of drinks. We were so pleased by everything, and are exstatic about staying there this coming weekend again for our 1st anniversary! We are thinking about making it tradition and staying there every year for our anniversary.
Also, we are both originally from Tulsa, so we know our way around town if we want shopping, or dining, etc.
We have told many of our friends and family members to stay at The Mayo at least once, as it is absolutely incredible!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaleighBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMayo, Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for sharing your lovely comments. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary or sooner.

Kind Regards,

Jeannene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

My neice & mother stayed her with me in a suite. Amazing service, fun "girls" opportunity. Everyone was so helpful and fun. Can't wait to choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelwTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMayo, Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you very much for sharing your experience! We can't wait to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Jeannene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

We truly enjoyed everything about The Mayo Hotel from the reservation experience to our departure. The staff was there to meet your every request and was always courteous and on top of their game. Our room was incredible and we were very pleased, just wish we'd had more time to spend this trip. But we are planning to spend our first wedding anniversary with The Mayo because they made such an impression on us.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jana52460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMayo, Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. Our staff was thrilled to read your comments and we are so excited to welcome you back for your anniversary!

Kind Regards,

Jeannene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

We just returned from a wedding in Tulsa and stayed at the Mayo for the first time. While I m sure there are many nice hotels in Tulsa, we will never stay any place else. We opted for a suite and it was Huge! It was decorated beautifully and had two very large Plasma or LED TVs. Large living area with a separate bed and bathroom. They surprised us with a rate reduction upon checkin ($145 for a suite that was about 1000 sq. feet). Not only was the suite better than we ever expected, but the bars (downstairs and rooftop) were so much fun. The rooftop bar was really hopping on Saturday night and it has indoor and outdoor seating. The hotel personnel were so personable and welcoming. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Also, it is in a great location and very convenient parking across the street.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMayo, Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Mayo Hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed one of our spacious suites, as well as Trula and the Penthouse bar. Most importantly, I am delighted our staff was so personable and welcoming.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Jeannene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulsa hotels
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
#11 of 108 in Tulsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Campbell Hotel
The Campbell Hotel
#18 of 108 in Tulsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Tulsa Downtown
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tulsa-Downtown
0.2 mi away
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
#31 of 108 in Tulsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayo Hotel

Property: The Mayo Hotel
Address: 115 West 5th Street, Tulsa, OK 74103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 108 Hotels in Tulsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1925, The Mayo Hotel was the place to be in Tulsa. Famous or not, our guests receive the superstar treatment they deserve. With 102 hotel rooms, we have more suites than standard rooms - and when we say standard, we mean spectacular. Room sizes from 500 square feet and up, there is plenty of room in this historic building to spread out. Be sure to visit The Mayo Museum and learn about our famous past and our promising future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mayo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing