We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great buffet but low end casino. Very few table games. Dealers are friendly.”

River Spirit Casino Resort
Ranked #24 of 114 things to do in Tulsa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: River Spirit Casino Resort has brought a little slice of paradise to Tulsa with Margaritaville Casino & Restaurant, which opened in 2016. The addition of this new casino means River Spirit now has two casinos in one, each with its own distinctive atmosphere and décor. With over 3,000 high-tech electronic machines, numerous poker tables and table games, River Spirit Casino and Margaritaville Casino are the destination of choice for casino excitement. River Spirit Casino Resort features a luxurious 483-room hotel, retail shops, a 30,000 square foot convention and meeting center, a 2,500+ seat showroom theater for live entertainment and sporting events. Guests can enjoy several dining and entertainment venues including Visions Buffet, Johnny Rockets - The Original Hamburger, Scoreboard Sports Bar, 5 o'Clock Somewhere Bar, and Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville restaurant. Ruth's Chris Steak House, the latest culinary addition to our growing portfolio of exciting restaurant offerings, is scheduled to open in January 2017. Additional casino amenities include non-smoking gaming areas and a high-stakes room.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase
Tulsa
Level Contributor
165 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great buffet but low end casino. Very few table games. Dealers are friendly.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This used to be a big Bingo hall before converting to a casino. All the new upgrades inside and out are very poor. The new Event Center is more like a revival arena than a concert arena and it is separated by a long walking distance from the casino. How stupid is that?
They are going to convert this to a Jimmy Buffet Margaritaville theme soon so hope that helps. They do not compare to the Hard Rock Casino on the East side of Tulsa at all. Hard Rock is much more modern.
I would recommend waiting until Margaritaville is built before visiting. This is currently the slum of casinos in the Tulsa area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ItMattersToMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    61
    49
    29
    55
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Tight slots”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I used to be a regular here, going maybe once a week or so. Players club had some decent incentives (free buffets) and some free play. Wife and I could eat and play our free play plus a little to boot and have a nice couple of hours. Within the last six months they cut off all of our freebies and with the low payouts, it didn't take long to lose our limit. The buffet and restaurant prices were too high to pay full price and the entertainment was lousy. The casino is nice and the air is ok, but without much chance at winning, there's no reason to go back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank carym357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Freak show on the weekend!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I go here and brave the smoke occasionally. It is smokey, and we dont smoke, but we arent really bothered by it. They have great bands all th etime there. Seems like every mentally challenged person and or homeless person is out there dancing on the dance floor. Hilarious!!! When you see someone being pushed around on the dance floor asleep in a wheelchair and the pusher was dancing around her with a brew in his hand. Priceless!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Where to gamble”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was the first Oklahoma casino I went to since I moved her to Tulsa. I would prefer the Hard Rock as it is bigger and has a lot more games. However the River Spirit has some high potential to be an awesome casino to go to.

Helpful?
Thank cpank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very low percentage payback on slots”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have just spent $500.00 on slots machines from .50 slots to $5.00 slots the pay back percentage is below 40%. I just put $100.00 dollars in machine #B90-6 40994 which is a 2.00 machine I pushed the button 52 times betting 2.00 at a time so figure the pay back percentage the same thing happen on 5.00 machine with only 21 spends I have had 1 red spend on a .50 machine thru the 500.00. I just came back from Louisiana if the people in Oklahoma will just realize that the Indain casinos don't have to pay back anything and save their money and travel to Louisiana or Vegas they would be a lot of money ahead

Helpful?
12 Thank Gandydancerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Spirit Casino Resort also viewed

 

Been to River Spirit Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing