We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Weekend Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Tulsa-South/Medical District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Tulsa-South/Medical District
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Tulsa
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Weekend Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Hyatt Place. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean and comfortable. Definitely suited for business travel, but we enjoyed the space design. Decent in-room coffee and a mini-fridge. The room was spotless, the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was good/standard fare. But really good (Starbucks) coffee. We could even get a beer or drink at the small bar area. The hotel was a very good value for price, quality of amenities and location.

Room Tip: Our room was on the "back side" of the hotel and was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrscold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    100
    35
    8
    4
See reviews for
103
68
34
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just stayed at the Hyatt Place and they continue to impress me with their service and the overall cleanliness and value of the hotel. The "warm" breakfast they now have just added more value to the stay.

This hotel is close to a ton of restaurants, shopping, etc. on 71st street. The bedding isn't as good as Hilton Garden Inn (the Hilton property which I would compare to the Hyatt Place hotels) but decent enough. I had a couple of their "in-house" meals for dinner and they were very good.

I would highly recommend this Hyatt Place location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is nice. The room is quite large, nice, and really clean. The hotel is in a good location. The staff is friendly. The only thing that could use improving is the free breakfast. The food wasn’t that good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel65432123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofSalestulsa, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Tulsa-South/Medical District, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel, rooms and location! I am sorry that our complimentary breakfast wasn't as enjoyable for you. We are always open to, and working on improvements. We recently started our new AM Kitchen Skillet gourmet sandwiches, and have been receiving rave reviews on them. We also try to offer a variety of different food items each morning, so that each guest can find something they like. Thank you for staying with us and for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

In town for a 3 day business trip. Check in and front desk was great. My big thing was the fact that I had a non-smoking room, and it smelled like smoke. Other room options were limited. Even though the room was big, the closet was tiny. I had a hard time finding it. The big sectional sofa was a waste of space unless you're having a party. It was nice to have a 4 seat "bar" adjacent to the front desk. Internet worked well. Breakfast was just OK.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarkstonTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofSalestulsa, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Tulsa-South/Medical District, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I apologize that your room smelt like smoke, that is not at all typical at a Hyatt Place. We are strictly a no-smoking hotel and actually charge a $200 fee for any guests who do not comply. If at any time you would have requested another room, we would have been more than happy to switch you or clean a new one for you.
I am glad that you enjoyed our over-sized rooms. Our rooms are set up like a suite, so there is a separated living area with a pull-out sofa. Hyatt Place has designed the room to compliment the business traveler's lifestyle. The couch and ottoman are designed to be an alternative to the work desk in the room. It is also an alternative to watching t.v. on the bed. The setup is one of the perks of the Hyatt Place! Thank you for your stay with us and response!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enid, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I traveled to Tulsa for the weekend with my girlfriend and wanted an upscale place to stay at an affordable price. The Hyatt Place was a great combination of the two-- the rooms were quite large and well furnished, the facilities were newly renovated and the included morning breakfast buffet was above average. There was also free wifi internet, which costs extra at most luxury hotels. To top it off, the price couldn't be beat; I paid $81 for one night on a Saturday, which was among the cheaper rates I found when researching hotels for that night.

The hotel is about a 15 minute drive from downtown, but there are a lot of restaurants and stores nearby so you don't feel like you're out in the boonies. The surrounding area is actually very scenic with rolling hills and upscale subdivisions.

The only drawback was that the housekeeping staff was a little loud in the morning and could be heard in the hallway outside our room talking loudly. To be fair, though, it wasn't until around 9 am that we heard any noise.

Overall the hotel was comfortable, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the included freebies were a great perk. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Views facing west from the 5th or 6th floor afford a pretty good view of the hills surrounding Tulsa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofSalestulsa, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Tulsa-South/Medical District, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hello! Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed all that we have to offer. I am sorry that our housekeeping staff was a little loud in the morning. We will speak with our housekeeping staff. We hope to have you in again the next time you're in Tulsa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owensboro, ky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I will probably pass on this hotel next time. I like staying at Hyatt Place because it affords extra room for a reasonable price. However, if you are wanting a room that allows you to stay connected to the Internet you will be disappointed. The Internet in our room was very very slow. The good news is that they do have two computers downstairs but that is a disappointing
Solution to the problem. Otherwise a pleasant room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammie088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofSalestulsa, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Tulsa-South/Medical District, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are glad that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and fair prices. I apologize that you experienced an issue with our internet. We have state-of- the-art complimentary, WiFi throughout the hotel and it is among the best offered at any Hyatt Place in the country . If you ever have any issues with the WiFi we encourage you to call the front desk. They can help with any issues and promptly rectify the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The staff were very accomodating, especially as we were checking in around midnight. The breakfast was fresh, hot and of good variety. The room was comfortable, clean, and met our needs. The location is convenient. We will absolutely stay there on our next visit to Tulsa.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor will have a higher than average amount of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MizRella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulsa hotels
2.4 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Tulsa
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tulsa - Warren Place
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tulsa Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tulsa Central
7.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
#11 of 109 in Tulsa
4.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tulsa-Woodland Hills 71st-Memorial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Tulsa-South/Medical District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Tulsa-South/Medical District

Property: Hyatt Place Tulsa-South/Medical District
Address: 7037 S Zurich Ave, Tulsa, OK 74136-3336 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tulsa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tulsa
#10 Business Hotel in Tulsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Tulsa-South/Medical District 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Place Tulsa-South/Medical District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Tulsa/Southern Hills Hotel Tulsa
Tulsa Hyatt
Hyatt Tulsa Southern Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing