We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely rude service and expensive hidden fees”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thackerville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
WinStar World Casino Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Thackerville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Where do I start? The room is decent sized but for the price you pay they could've had better bedsheets to sleep on and a bigger restroom. The cleaning service cleans the room very well overall. Now speaking with the guest service they were rude and have no sense of customer service. They spoke to me like I can't afford the stay and charged me an extra $30 service fee?! Service fee for what service? My price was $200 but I ended up paying $251! Btw the pool closes extremely early at 10pm. Definitely do not recommend coming here.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsmith1, General Manager at WinStar World Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us valuable feedback on Trip Advisor. I want you to know that we take hospitality serious at the WinStar World Casino Hotel and I am very concerned with the experience you received during your visit.

In regards to the $30 service fee...We do not have a service fee but do have a $30 credit card authorization for incidentals which will be released at the time of checkout. I am not sure if this the same charge you mentioned.

I would like the opportunity to earn your loyalty back and also understand more about your experience so I can ensure other guests do not share the same experience in the future. Again, I hope you will give us the opportunity to make up our shortfalls. Below is my contact information.

Regards,

Paul Niswonger
General Manager
WinStar World Casino Hotel
580-276-1301 (direct line)
pniswonger@winstonhospitality.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,103)
There are newer reviews for WinStar World Casino Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,076 - 4,082 of 4,103 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2010

Because of our game play, our rooms which were originally scheduled to be $69 per night (2 nights) were free. The personnel at all areas were very pleasant and helpful. The cost of food is fairly high. The casino, going from the hotel to the last area (NY) is quite a walk. All areas are unique. The spa, pool, and workout area are wonderful. I highly recommend it. I will be returning at the end of the month with my children. Therefore, play at the casino will be limited to evening after they are in bed. There is little but the pool for them. I see that as a weakness for family vacations.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank addteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

I read travel reviews a lot and as a rule they have been very helpful. I have never submitted one of my own before, and felt this one was necessary. This was my first visit to the Winstar World Casino Hotel. A few days before taking the trip I went online to read reviews and frankly was a little afraid because most were so negative for both the hotel and the casino. I just want to go on record that check-in at the hotel was a breeze--no line at all, able to check in 2 hours early, and a very friendly staff. Our room was great and exactly as we requested. If there is any "complaint" at all about the room, it would only be the 2-cup coffee maker (as opposed to the usual standard 4-cup coffee maker). Not sure the reasoning there.

As far as the casino, entrance to the casino from the hotel was closer than I expected and the casino itself was not nearly as smoky as anticipated. As far as the "tight" slot machines....didn't see any difference from Shreveport, Las Vegas, etc. Also thought the spacing of the machines was very convenient for those with walkers, wheelchairs, canes, etc., as well as those without special needs.

Lunch at Toby Keith's Bar and Grill was excellent--again with a great staff.

Would do it all over again and will soon. I guess I should mention that my trip was on a Tuesday/Wednesday...and assume weekends are more crowded and could obviously make a difference.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whitney1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

The hotel was really nice. The room was comfortable and well furnished. We LOVED our time in the SPA. We used the fitness center and it was a step above the typical hotel fitness room. The hotel restaurant was OK, not great.
The casino was another story. Not enough table games and paying 50 cents to play each hand of blackjack was crazy. We ended up not playing for long. One dealer talked so much she payed players when they'd lost. One talked so quietly no one at the table could hear him.
There weren't any good places to eat except Toby Keith's which was OK but not great.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasTravelGirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

My husband and I went to Winstar to spend the night, gamble, and most importantly eat at Toby Keith's. We have visited the one in Las Vegas and enjoyed it very much. We did go on a Sunday night (4-25) and at 8:00 the place was packed. So we enjoyed a few beers and gambled for a little while and waited for the place to clear out for a little while. At 9:20 my husband went to get us a table, knowing that the restaurant does not close until 10:00 (at least that is what the sign says at the entrance). He was told they were not seating anyone else.....the restaurant was closed. There were still customers sitting in the restaurant and was not as busy. Needless to say, being a HUGE Toby Keith fan, I was very disappointed. I have been waiting since the day it opened to eat there. I do understand that it was a little late and getting close to them closing, however as a consumer, if the open till time says 10:00.....they should be able to seat you at 9:20. On the up side....we had a great time at Winstar. The rooms are very comfortable. We actually did win a little on the slot machines. That little gift shop at the entrance of the hotel needs to cut down on that overwhelming aroma that drifts out of their shop. It literally cuts off my air when I run by it.....and I have never even dared to enter it to shop. I ended up having an asthma attack later that night due to the over whelming smell. Hopefully I will be able to talk my husband in to taking me to Toby Keith's again in the future. I WAS CHEATED.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

smaller than i expected it to be.. but the room is great!

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank ManicQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

This hotel is 100% non-smoking which was VERY nice (no smoke odors creeping in from the hallways or common areas). The room was extremely clean and the beds were very comfortable. Amenities include a safe, Neutrogena toiletries and a coffee-maker (single-cup style). I was surprised to see that they had room service, but did not use it so cannot comment on the quality. The walk to the casino looks long from the outside but it really isn't . . . very convenient (attached). There is a small, pretty pool area and a full-service spa. The A/C unit is a bit loud which did not bother me at all, but some might find it annoying. I wanted to try the little coffee/deli shop but the line was at least ten deep so we passed. Parking was OK but there are not enough handicap spaces. Overall it was a very pleasant stay and I will likely return.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank hotsauceking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thackerville
0.8 mi away
Best Western Red River Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Red River Inn & Suites
Red River Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Thackerville
72 reviews
6.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Super 8 Gainesville TX
Super 8 Gainesville TX
#3 of 12 in Gainesville
219 reviews
10.0 mi away
Lindsay Inn
Lindsay Inn
#1 of 1 in Lindsay
53 reviews
8.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Gainesville
Comfort Suites Gainesville
#4 of 12 in Gainesville
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WinStar World Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WinStar World Casino Hotel

Address: 777 Casino Ave, Thackerville, OK 73459-9774
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Thackerville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Thackerville
Hotel Class:3 star — WinStar World Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WinStar World Casino isn't the only place you get to take pleasure in. Rest from the day's activities and take a shuttle ride to one of our well-appointed establishments located minutes from the casino. We offer a variety of overnight stay options that cater to your needs and desires. From flat screen HDTVs to relaxing hot tubs, you'll experience what "accommodation" truly means. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Winstar World Hotel Thackerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing