We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hootie Creek House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Poteau Inn(Poteau)(Great Value!)
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(McAlester)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
48
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscenic drivehootie creekprivate bathroomgourmet breakfastgracious hostsvery comfortable stayhistoric buildingplace to staysmall town charmsitting areawater pressurefresh fruita great stayrock househateful hussystuffed pancakescarolyn
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 53 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was the cleanest place I have ever stayed. The owner was so sweet and accommodating. We had fresh hot cookies each day when we arrived back from our meeting. The breakfasts were delicious and more than enough. The beds were super comfortable. Everything was above and beyond. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Love Hootie Creek! And this is our first visit. Owners are very friendly and doing a great job restoring an old building. Have 5 rooms now and they've done a really nice job with the work. Very comfortable bed, nice room and quiet. Located across the street from police station so very safe. Nice living room and balcony for relaxing with friends. We've already booked our room for next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rclantonjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This place is great. We have stayed here two nights and the owners are great. The breakfast was wonderful and they work to accommodate your schedule. The homemade cookies in the evenings were wonderful. We highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Talihina for our 8th anniversary to do the Talimena Scenic Drive. I called Hootie Creek House Bed & Breakfast and spoke with Carolyn who was delightful on the phone and really got me excited to arrive in Talihina. We arrived around 6pm and were greated by the owners, Carolyn and Essex. They were very warm and seemd happy to have us. They spent time making sure we were settled and even took a few minutes to tell us about the area and things we might enjoy seeing the next day. The room was very cozy, clean, and the king bed was very comfortable. We were able to control the temperature of our room to our comfort. The shower had great water pressure as well.

We came down for breakfast the next morning and were serve delicious apple filled pancakes, scrambled eggs, and sausage. It was a perfect start to our day. Essex took us and another couple on a little tour of the facilities which we found very entertaining and enlightening about the history of the area.

As we were preparing to leave, our car wouldn't start. Essex jumped to help and brought his truck and cables around for a jump. Turned out to be loose cables, but Essex got in there and tightened it up for us. We very much appreciated his customer service! Our drive was very nice. We ate in Mena, Arkansas for lunch at the Branding Iron Steakhouse which was delicious. When we arrived back in Talihina around dinner time, we opted for takeout from The Hateful Hussy Diner so we could go back to our room to enjoy dinner at our leisure. The food from the hateful hussy was decent. Nothing to write home about, but satisfying.

Sunday morning breakfast was a very tasty quiche and fresh watermelon. We got a little more detail about a local "must see" from Essex and headed out. We will definitely return to Hootie Creek House Bed & Breakfast in the future. We highly recommend them for a comfortable and cozy place to stay, great breakfast, and warm and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Dallas newspaper had a story about the Scenic Byway from Talihina to Mena Arkansas and we thought it would make a nice short break. We found Hootie Creek on Trip Advisor and it sounded interesting. As other have said, the place is a redone hotel, very nicely finished off and spotlessly clean. We especially liked the comfortable queen bed in our room (#4) and the electric fireplace took the chill off in the evening while provide a nice ambiance. The floors look like the original wood floors, scrapped clean and refinished. We especially like the sitting room on the bedroom floor. It also had one of the electric fireplaces and was a pleasant place to spend some time reading. Breakfast was fine and we will echo other comments about the apple filled pancakes being delicious. Fresh cookies were a nice touch in the evening. Too bad there was no coffee along with them, but it was just a few minutes walk to Pam's diner where we were able to get take out coffee. Our night here made a perfect start to our drive on the Scenic Byway.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rampbuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews