We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average road side cafe”
Review of Rock Cafe

Rock Cafe
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Stroud
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Description: The Rock Cafe has been located on Route 66 in Stroud, OK for more then 70 years. The diner still has its original grill. The current owner was used as inspiration for the character "Sally" in the Pixar/Disney film Cars. The cafe has been in many publications and television programs including Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives. We are open 7 days a week 7am until 8pm.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Better than average road side cafe”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were drawn in by the Americana Rock Cafe sign to this quality stop on Route 66.

Friendly, fast and attentive service delivered what we wanted.

My Buffalo burger was tasty and hit the spot.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockcafert66, Owner at Rock Cafe, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thanks for the great review. We've been serving Buffalo Burgers for all 21 years of my ownership thanks to the idea that my mom knew the buffalo farmer! We were organic before it was cool :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    86
    41
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So Good”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stopped here while travelling Route 66. It is a very famous landmark along the Route. The owner has a character in the movie Cars based on her. The place has a great atmosphere, excellent service, and delicious food. I had the jagerschnitzel and spaetzle. Holy crap it was good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockcafert66, Owner at Rock Cafe, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thanks for the review. As the owner and inspired character, Sally Carrera; I am very happy to see people enjoying their experience in food, history, and tourism on The Mother Road Route 66.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great fun!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My sisters and I live in several surrounding communities to the Rock Cafe so we have chosen on SEVERAL occasions to meet there and to engage in conversation and fellowship. Our hostess Beverly was kind and professional and very willing to accomodate our needs. We even thought we were going to have a large group on a very busy Saturday morning so this business was willing to try and accomodate us the best they could. We ended up only have 4 but the wait staff, a very nice young teenage gentleman, couldn't have been a better waiter and morre attentive. The food was good and the atmosphere warm and comforting. A family event and we will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeminoleNese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockcafert66, Owner at Rock Cafe, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thanks for the great review. That young man is Lane and we wish he would never leave but alas, as he grows he will most likely conquer the world. I'm glad you also noticed that it is a family restaurant. We love what we do to inspire youth in our small community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rock Cafe is Great!!!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

we went into the rock on Saturday November 2nd, were we had the Buffalo Burger and a Jager. when the cook whose name was Lane came and greeted us, he is one of the sweetest most sociable person I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Overall the Rock was a wonderful experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockcafert66, Owner at Rock Cafe, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thanks for the great review. We have been serving those two dishes for 21 years off of your 75 year old grill, Betsy. Lane is the apple of the Rock Cafe Momma's Eyes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Worth the drive.”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

A+, two enthusiastic thumbs up! We made the drive from Edmond, OK. The Jagerschnitzel & Spaetle was very good. We will be back and no crowds on a Monday afternoon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dukelarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockcafert66, Owner at Rock Cafe, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thanks for the review! Also Thanks, for the tip on Mondays. If you really want to experience all the history of the Rock Cafe; Mondays are the best day to show. The staff will happily share their knowledge and experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing