We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrific conditions and shameful lack of hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cimarron Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Stillwater
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrific conditions and shameful lack of hospitality”
Reviewed November 10, 2010

I booked a room for my family of four for OSU's homecoming. As a commercial pilot I thought I had seen the good, bad and ugly of hotels but I was totally unprepared for this experience. We checked in early afternoon on Friday and began to bring in our luggage. The elevator was extremely slow even though no one else was using it at the time. Upon arriving on the third floor we were met with the smell of urine. The smell grew stronger as we neared our room. I opened the door of our room and was overwhelmed by the even more putrid smell of vomit. I closed the door and ushered my family and our luggage back to the front desk.

I explained the situation to the young woman working the front desk and she responded that there were no other rooms we could move to. That simply did not make sense because it was so early in the day, plus the fact that the desk was covered in sets of keys for people who had not checked in yet. I asked to speak to the manager.

The manager Lisa came to the desk and I tried to calmly explain the situation to her. She became irrate when I told her we needed to change rooms and clearly she had open rooms available. Lisa said our only option was to stay in the room she had assigned to us or move to the La Quinta across town. I advised Lisa that the La Quinta was not an option for us because my wife and children are allergic to dogs and they allow animals there. She said ok then stay in the room you are in now, turned and walked away from the desk.

It took me 3 hours to get the hotel clerk and the manager who now would not come out of her office to agree to release us from the hotel with no charge. We had to drive an hour to Oklahoma City to find a room and my children missed the Homecoming Walkaround. I am just stunned by the conditions and behavior of staff at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cslater4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDalton1, General Manager at Best Western Plus Cimarron Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 26, 2010
This review is not an accurate portrayal of our hotel or of the situation that occurred. Much of the information in the review is fabricated. Although we aim to please all of our guests, it is unfortunate that this guest did not accept our efforts to provide reasonable solutions, during a sellout date for the hotel.

We encourage you to review the facts and the other reviews of our hotel. The facts are that we are a new hotel built 2 years ago. We have won multiple awards from Best Western for perfect customer care and perfect quality assurance of our guest rooms. Our hotel is voluntary enrolled in Best Western's I Care Ultra Clean program which requires certification by all management and staff to go above and beyond guest expectations.

To address the specific complaints –

1) Extremely slow elevator - our elevator is a lift that runs on a hydraulic system. It is not as fast as other elevator options, but is a very green system that saves energy. It is far from extremely slow for it accommodates that entire hotel.

2) Urine/ Vomit smell -this is just not true.

3) Asking the desk to move rooms and not understanding why they could not have someone else's keys. While regular check in is at 3pm, these woman showed up at 11am to check in their room 4 hours early. We were sold out weekend; just simply moving rooms was not an option for the hotel due to the package guests that have special welcome items pre-set in their rooms. The guest did not believe the desk clerk, the manager or Best Western International reservations.

4) When the manager Lisa came to speak to irate daughter, she calmly explained the hotel was indeed sold out and had no rooms available to move them too. The guest resulted in name calling and was throwing her magazine at the staff. We offered to try to find them accommodations at another hotel property, and to pay for it. The guest refused to leave the hotel and when back to their room for 6 hours.

5) At no point in time was an issue mentioned about pets or allergies.

6) We offered many times during the conversation to attempt to find other lodging, not charge them for the rooms. What is missing is that the guest did check out that evening at 11pm at night after using the rooms for several hours, for free. She claims to have driven to OKC but the hotel's manager booked 2 rooms for them on Friday night at the brand new La Quinta Inn and Suites.

7) The children, who we never saw, did not miss Homecoming or Walk Around because they booked for the Baylor Game, homecoming game was Nebraska.

Again, we hope that you will read the other 5 reviews posted below and feel free to call the hotel if you have any questions or concerns. We invite you to research and investigate our property to see the level of quality and service you can expect from this award winning property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    67
    26
    8
    7
See reviews for
108
30
13
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
117 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed for Thursday night game and it was an awesome experience. Walking distance from everything and it was clean and extremely nice. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,tx
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We were in town on business and were not disappointed!!!!! We usually stay at Hampton Inns, but price here was a bit more than we wanted to pay. Drove right over to BW.......AWESOME room, AWESOME price. New, clean, quiet. Decor is decidedly Western and since we're from Texas,we felt right at home. The exercise facility was perfect for a quick workout; then we walked next door to Panera and had a great restful evening of watching ball games and catching up on paperwork . Awakened refreshed from the wonderful bed and cold a/c. Hope you'll visit this property on your next visit to Stillwater.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiningdivaDallastx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We have stayed at this hotel before for a baseball tournament and again our stay was superb. The room was huge and breakfast was fantastic. It included eggs, bacon, homemade waffles, and all the extras. We really appreciate all the attention to detail given in the rooms and the staff is friendly and accomodating. Thanks again for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baseballparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We stayed here for a wedding and had a great time. The rooms are nice and spacious. Even better were all the extras available. The bar was used by several in our party, and after the wedding reception lots of the family gathered in the open breakfast area for a late night coffee and tea. We all enjoyed meeting for breakfast the next morning, Easy for everyone to grab a quick bite before leaving.Easy location and close to shopping for those things you meant to pack but forgot(like my brother-in-law's dress shirt!)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacup610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
171 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

I was given an option of three Stillwater hotels for a business trip. i chose this one because of the pictures on its Web site and I wasn't disappointed. I had some trouble keeping the walk-in shower from leaking all over the floor. The high water pressure made the curtain bow out, so there wasn't much to be done about it, but the staff provides plenty of towels! I was surprised about the number of items available for breakfast! I'm a fan of the waffle machine. This hotel is located very near the Oklahoma State University campus and also very close to several local restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drwatson32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stillwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stillwater
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Stillwater
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stillwater -University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stillwater West
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Stillwater
Wyndham Garden Stillwater
#8 of 17 in Stillwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Stillwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cimarron Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cimarron Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Cimarron Hotel & Suites
Address: 315 N Husband St, Stillwater, OK 74075-5235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Stillwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Stillwater
#4 Family Hotel in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Cimarron Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a hotel rich with small town charm and Oklahoman hospitality - all within walking distance of Oklahoma State University. With an indoor heated pool, fourth floor bar, and spacious rooms, guests of ours don't have to go far to relax! A complimentary, full hot breakfast buffet greets guests each morning and ensures a great start to the day. Indulge yourself in favorites like buttery waffles, pastries, fresh fruits, a cereal and yogurt bar, and 100% Arabica coffee or cold juices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Cimarron Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cimarron Hotel Stillwater
Best Western Cimarron Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing