We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Stillwater - University West
Nearby Hotels
$82
La Quinta
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Stillwater(Stillwater)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
43
35
19
11
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
35
19
11
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom serviceking suitewest sidenice hotelroom was spacious and cleangreat bedcoffee makerhotel is locatedparking lotpleasant stayother hotelswalmartmicrowaveweddingoklahomacurtainscampus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 128 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed during Homecoming. Expect to pay extra during football season.

Check-in was easy and quick.

Room was clean and typical HI room. Did notice the following morning that there were some food crumbs near the couch. Not from us. Shower had dried on shampoo or something on the wall.

Front desk offers complimentary coffee, hot cider, water, and great cookies (snickerdoodles, chocolate chips, oatmeal raisin).

The tv in the living room seemed like rocket science to me. The channels didn't match the tv guide the hotel offers. TV took awhile to turn on and the remote didn't work at all. Gave up after awhile.

Bed and pillows were comfortable. Good night sleep both nights.

The temperature in the room - either too hot or too cold. Could not find a happy medium and the auto function did not seem to work. Woke up both nights to turn off or adjust the temperature.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnofficialVisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stillwater - University West, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear UnofficialVisit,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I am delighted to hear that you had a relaxing and comforting night sleep at our hotel. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our family of 4 spent three nights here this past weekend. We had not been to the hotel in three years and we were truly disappointed by the way it had deteriorated from both a maintenance and service standpoint.

Though all of the staff members we encountered were pleasant, housekeeping is sorely lacking. The first two nights we were there, the extent of housekeeping consisted of: making our beds once! No towels (old ones were removed and not replaced), no new toiletries, and the trash cans were not even emptied. I'm assuming they cleaned it after we checked out following our third night, but we'll never know.

It would also appear very little maintenance is done beyond changing light bulbs. Black marks and scuffs on the walls, drywall dented and chipped, multiple stains on the carpet, damaged counter tops and a strange smell in the room. Considering it was a virtual sparkling palace the last time we were there, this was very disappointing. Too many oil patch workers staying there?

Food was average and service was VERY slow at the restaurant, though our servers were very polite.

Lastly, and I know this is nit-picking, but we stayed over homecoming weekend and received a bag on our door advertising a shuttle bus that would come by the hotel and transport people to campus. When we asked the front desk exactly where on the property the bus picks up and drops off, not one, but two staff had no idea! "Out by the street, I think" one said. Well, when this is the biggest weekend for business in their entire year, wouldn't you think the staff would trouble themselves to know where the bus stop is, especially when you put a flier on everyone's door advertising it?!? How difficult could this be? It's just good customer service that requires next to no effort. (The bus stopped right in front of the main entrance, by the way, so the staff clearly were not paying even slight attention.)

So, in a nutshell, the entire operation of this place is sloppy. Going the extra mile is out of the question. You're lucky if they leave the lights on for you. All this at $300/night during homecoming.

We won't be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stillwater - University West, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Eric C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Your opinion is very important to us, as it helps us identify areas in need of improvement. I was disappointed to learn that you were unsatisfied with the level of service received from our staff, housekeeping and amenities, and would like to apologize for any inconveniences. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Again, we appreciate your valuable feedback. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. We hope that you will give us the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I work in Stillwater but live 86 miles away so staying the night frequently makes my life easier. I have stayed at this property close to ten times and I am very sorry to say that the hotel is going downhill. The people are very nice for the most part. And that's important. But the last three times I have stayed here, there have been major maintenance issues.

These have ranged from a leaking air conditioner which soaked the rug (most recently) through to checking into a room where the housekeeper had left her cart to insects all over the rugs i the morning (to be fair, cricket influx in Stillwater but still -- more could be done to keep things clean) sitting to basic cleanliness (every single time recently). In general, towels are thinner and stains are more prominent on rugs, walls, and tile. I've reached my limit.

At this point, I am giving up and will be seeking another place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lclewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stillwater - University West, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear lclewis,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. As customer service professionals, we strive to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. Please accept our sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stays. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team to review and make necessary improvements accordingly.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us your feedback. Your comments are very helpful to us as we establish our best path to providing successful guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is the flagship property of several who are franchised by the same group in Oklahoma. Nice restaurant, big, welcoming lobby and front desk was always well staffed. The hotel is not within walking distance of any food establishments so you'll have to take a car if you want something other than hotel food. It's on the East side of town, so getting to OSU or downtown Stillwater is about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peabodytex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stillwater - University West, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind and generous comments and scoring of our facility. Our entire team takes great pride in delivering the promise of service and hospitality.

I have shared your comments and scores with our team. Thank you again.

Charlie Hart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here over the weekend as we was moving our son into college. We had to take a King Suite as all the double bed rooms was taken. Loved this feature of the separate rooms but the sofa cushions was stained and could use a good steam cleaning and my boys griped that sofa bed was very uncomfortable but that was to be expected with any pullout bed. Over all the hotel and room was very clean and staff was very friendly. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen_0474745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stillwater - University West, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time for writing your comments and the generous scoring you gave us. I do apologize for the stains on the couch cushions. We strive to deliver great customer service and a great clean product. I have shared your comments with our entire team and we will use them as a learning tool.

Thank you again for your patronage and your comments.

Charlie Hart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews