We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Mabee-Gerrer Museum
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Shawnee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only museum in the State of Oklahoma that has a mummy (Tutu)! This place is fantastic and deserves a listing based on my recent trip.
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Make a point of visiting this amazing museum! The collection rivals that of larger museums in larger cities. The museum is located on the campus of St Gregory's University. Parking is free and admission is often free in the summer.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AggieFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the time”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Small museum located on St. Gregory's University campus. Admission $5 per person. Parking is free. Watched the fish in the fountain outside of the doors.

See the mummy! New exhibit had a hands on area for kids to draw.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MOgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Magnificent Museum/Campus”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This museum is a hidden gem! My dad attended St Gregorys as a freshman in HS in 1948 (It was a HS originally). We took him back to his roots! He didn't recognize the driveway being so long, but it was asphalt back then. He said that the museum consisted of many preserved wildlife. Maybe decay or attitudes changed. He recognized some of the artistry work (especially that of Gerrer) and the full set of Medieval armor. I was intrigued by the life size portrait of Pope Pius X, and the accompanying story. I was just awestruck by the shrunken human heads and the incredible history supplied. Yes, Tutu is here to be viewed, as well is her sarcophagus, and an X-ray of her bone makeup. Great oil-painting art museum...amazing artwork. I am not a fan of art museums...but I may become a connoisseur after this visit! While, the Gerrer Museum was Incredible, if you are Catholic, the real find is in the Chapel. The display of the relics: I was taken aback...I was expecting to simply worship! The chapel is a place of worship, so maintain a reverent attitude and presence of silence. Admission to Gerrer Museum is free June, July, August, otherwise it is $5 GA, $4 for seniors, Tues-Sat 10-5PM, Sun-1-4PM, closed Mon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank niel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, wonderful museum!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

On the campus of St. Gregorys University, Mabee-Gerrer is a treasure! Reasonable admission and often free during the summer months (thanks to corporate sponsors). Has a permant display along with frequent featured exhibits. A great place to visit in Shawnee.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stawzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden secret”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This museum has Egyptian,Greek & Roman objects. Well worth checking it out.. It's free in the months of June,July & August. Can't beat that price..

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mabee-Gerrer Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mabee-Gerrer Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing