We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than other Motel 6's I've stayed at”
Review of Motel 6 Shawnee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel 6 Shawnee
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Shawnee
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better than other Motel 6's I've stayed at”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Reserved a downstairs handicapped room in advance. Got a call about 3:45 pm on my day of arrival that the downstairs had flooded but they could offer me an upstairs room. Since I was staying only 2 nights, I agreed to stay there because the room they offered me was next to the stairs. I had help with getting my bags carried upstairs, so it wasn't too bad. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. The beds were comfortable, too. I would have given it more stars if this inconvenience hadn't occurred. I have stayed at this Motel 6 before and have never had any issues; the rooms are always clean and the staff has always been friendly. The room was non-smoking, which is what I always reserve, and I have never had the issues others have had with the rooms being smelly. For a budget motel, this is the best in Shawnee.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 216 and it was convenient. It faces I-40 but I didn't hear any outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    11
    11
    14
See reviews for
14
4
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

A convenient place just off the interstate. The front desk looked clean and inviting but the room was dirty. I really need to start checking rooms out before I pay.
Room smelled but turned on the AC and smell went away
Door did not close right.
With a little cleaning and new bed linens and pillows this place might be ok

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pony675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shawnee hotels

Salina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Although the staff was most friendly and courteous, there's no excuse for how horriblly smelly the halls and rooms are. Had to dash to Walmart for candles and room freshner but nothing could completely mask the odors. Yulk!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallisaw, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed one night because of the rates. Asked for non-smoking and ended up smelling smoke anyway in the room.

The comforters on the bed had rips and some cigerette burns. Bathroom looked like it could use a better cleaning, but probably just needed updating all around.

But it was near the shopping mall and places to eat, which is why I went there. Then realized there were other hotels nearby.

To be fair, the clerk was very nice. Just needs better management.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoBonesZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was driving cross country from San Diego to Northern VA. This was my 2nd stop to hunker down for the night. I was exhausted and didn't feel like hotel shopping so I just pulled in because they had a huge parking lot next to the hotel to accommodate my moving truck and car that I was towing.

The check-in experience was through a window as they close the doors after a certain hour. I was given a room on the 2nd floor and as soon as I walked in I said, "Oh Jesus." It had the musty and stale smell of an old room that was a former smoking room converted into a non-smoking. Beds was too soft and the I have no idea why they even bother to use the pillows that they have on the beds (they were so soft and flat). I had to run down to the truck and get my own pillow.

Carpet was very stained stained and I wore flip flops whenever I walked around. The TV was old and the remote hardly worked. I just gave up on trying to change the TV and went to bed.

I didn't bother to hang around in the AM. Took a quick shower and bolted out of there. I did see coffee in the lobby on the way out but that was about it.

In the 5 budget hotels I stayed in on my cross country trip, this one was the worse by far. DO NOT STAY HERE! I am glad I was just by myself and my family wasn't along.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Enrique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The bathroom was disgusting, dirt caked in corners, long hairs on the wall, excessive mold in the tub. I asked for extra towels to have something clean to stand on so I could shower and actually cleaned the room. How hard is it to scrub and clean a bathroom? Staying in a tent outside on the ground would have been more pleasant than this room.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shields674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amarillo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We asked for a nonsmoking room. Paid for a nonsmoking room. When we entered the room, it smelled like cigarette smoke. There was an ashtray and a lighter in the room! We called the front desk and complained. We were told since their map showed it was nonsmoking, there was nothing they would do about it. The curtain had holes in it. The carpet needed vacuuming. There was no shampoo in the room. When we called the front desk again, we were told we would have to purchase it out of a machine. We went to the machine and there was no shampoo. Will we stay at another Motel 6? NO!

Room Tip: Stay away from this motel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shawnee hotels
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Shawnee
Super 8 Shawnee
#5 of 9 in Shawnee
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Shawnee
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shawnee I-40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Shawnee
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Shawnee
Hampton Inn Shawnee
#1 of 9 in Shawnee
373 reviews
8.3 mi away
Grand Casino Hotel
Grand Casino Hotel
#2 of 9 in Shawnee
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Shawnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Shawnee

Property: Motel 6 Shawnee
Address: 4981 N Harrison St, I-40 at Exit 186/Hwy 18, Shawnee, OK 74804-9105
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Shawnee
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Shawnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Shawnee 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Shawnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Shawnee
Shawnee Motel Six
Shawnee Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing