We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Roland
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Roland
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We pulled into Roland on our way back to Canada because there was a gas station and hotels and it was getting late. The Travelodge was the first hotel we came to so we went in to get a price and check availability. The lobby was clean and the staff were very friendly. When the receptionist told us the price we didn't really know what to expect. When we got to the room we were very pleased. The rooms were clean and very big. We had a table and 2 chairs when we first walked in then 2 queen beds with a night stand in the middle and a dresser and TV on the other side of the room. At the end of the room there was a safe, a long bathroom counter with a coffee maker and ice bucket at one end and the sink at the other. There was a separate door which closed off the toilet and the shower for privacy. The only thing missing was a mini fridge and a microwave. In the morning we had a continental breakfast, going by memory there was milk, apple and orange juice, coffe, bread, waffles, cereal and fruit.

Room Tip: the ice machine was outside of room 124 but I don't know if the noise would effect the occupants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank travellers608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 103 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Ronald E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Highly recommend! friendly staff great location perfect for the one noght stay to break up a long drive

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Pros:
- Right off I-40, easy to find.
- Clean linens.
- Bed was relatively comfortable and had three pillows.
- Fridge and microwave.
- Shower was clean.
- Room was a moderate size. Big enough to feel comfortable.
- I make notes about the places we stay so that I don't leave anything out when I get around to writing this, and I made a note that "nothing smelled funny." I'm not sure why I wrote that, but I guess that's a good thing to be aware of.
- Continental breakfast was okay. There were apples (didn't see any bananas, which is what I was hoping for, but we didn't get down there until about a half hour before breakfast ended), cereal, apple/orange/cranberry juice, coffee and hot chocolate, frozen waffles (a little dry after being left out on the counter for a few hours), bread for toast, bagels, etc. There was a microwave and toaster. The eating area was pretty large, and clean.

Neutral:
- Didn't try the wifi, but it was available.
- Hotel was a bit outdated, but again, the price was right, and it was clean. I don't consider this to be a negative, especially if you're simply looking for a place to spend the night before heading on.
- There is a diner right next door.
- There is also a gas station right across the street. Just make sure you go in the entrance that is not *directly* across the street, as that is the truck entrance and there's no through-traffic to the regular gas station/parking area. Whoops.

Cons:
- The fan in our bathroom did not work. Felt like a swamp after two consecutive showers. (But on the upside, there was enough hot water for two consecutive showers in the morning.)
- Parking lot was noisy in the morning around 7am (which was about a half hour before we ourselves got up), but it's definitely a stop-and-sleep hotel rather than an extended-stay hotel, so that isn't shocking, nor was it so bad that it woke the kids up.

The main issue at this hotel was the extra cot/bedding. I called ahead to verify that they did in fact have cots (otherwise we would have chosen another hotel; we were traveling as a larger than normal party and our particular room consisted of a married couple, a third adult, and two small children whose sleep schedules had been totally thrown off by sleeping in hotels and driving for hours on end for going on two weeks at this point). The woman on the phone told me they did in fact have cots, and that it would be an extra charge of $5 for the cot, and $10 for the extra person. No problem.

Once we arrived, I again verified (same woman as on the phone) that we needed the extra cot, and then paid for the room. We went to the room, unloaded our stuff, and waited about 15 minutes before I called the desk to inquire when the cot would be there. The guy at the front desk sounded very confused and said, "Cot? We don't have any right now..." I explained that we'd paid for one and I would wait while he looked up our receipt. He did so but again told me they didn't have any that were currently useable and that he was in process of refunding my card. I said ok, got off the phone, and we proceeded to negotiate some slightly awkward sleeping arrangements. Ten to fifteen minutes later the front desk called back and said they'd found a cot we could use, but it was 11:30pm at that point and we were all in bed, so we declined and just dealt with it.

At check-out, I verified that my new receipt was correct (it was), and the gentlemen at the desk (I assume the owner? This hotel is independently owned/operated) apologized for the confusion. He was nice about it, and expressed concern over the issue.

Overall, the cot thing wouldn't stop me from staying there in the future (should we ever find ourselves in Roland, Oklahoma, again), as the room itself was clean and comfortable, and was a really decent price for two queens.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lostmemorycard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank SHARON B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roland
0.2 mi away
Cherokee Casino & Hotel Roland
10.4 mi away
Best Western Aspen Hotel
Best Western Aspen Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Smith
170 reviews
6.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Fort Smith City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Choctaw Casino Hotel Pocola
9.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 23 in Fort Smith
179 reviews
15.8 mi away
Days Inn Sallisaw
Days Inn Sallisaw
#4 of 6 in Sallisaw
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Roland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Roland

Address: 824 Paw Paw Rd, I-40 Exit 325 2 Blocks West, Roland, OK 74954-4025
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Roland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Roland
Price Range: $64 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Roland 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Roland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Roland
Travel Lodge Roland
Roland Travel Lodge
Roland Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing