We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“hotel is really awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Downstream Casino Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quapaw
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Downstream Casino Resort
Save
You added Downstream Casino Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Quapaw
Certificate of Excellence
Mound City, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“hotel is really awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

made last minute reservations got lucky, the rooms are fantastic we had a suite and it was big room big bathroom with the biggest shower ever seen. very clean staff turned down beds at night and chocolates left in room. ate at the .buffet food was good. the indoor pool and hot tub very clean and since it's summer the whole one side was opened up to outside with tables and chairs to. the landscape is amazing and beautiful. kept up supper. will be coming back here for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darlenejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    76
    22
    10
    22
See reviews for
42
146
15
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We recently stayed at the hotel at Downstream Casino. We met friends there, and used the casino as well. We all found the rooms to be top notch. They were well laid out, with nice linens, toiletries, and a comfortable bed. We were provided free bottled water, and there was free fresh whole fruit at the lobby desk. This is a new hotel, and it shows.

We enjoyed the casino. It did not smell overwhelmingly of cigarette smoke, and appeared clean and well kept. There was a large assortment of slot machines. The gaming tables were friendly.

We ate at the upscale restaurant there. We found the service to be very slow. They had even lost our reservation, but did accommodate us anyway. The food was very pricey, but it was good. There is a large assortment of choices on the menu.

Breakfast was either from menu or buffet. Most of us chose the buffet, and it was not bad. A few of the choices had been out longer than they should have been, but there was a nice variety and an omelet station. Pancakes from the menu were huge, heavy, and heavenly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaiiantaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Went to Downstream (and Eagle Creek Golf Club) with a group of 40+ for a Casino/Golf outing. The hotel & casino were excellent, very nice & very clean rooms w/ mini fridges. The huge outdoor pool & hot tub area was awesome! Only downside was there wasn't a lot of options for a big group to mingle together for dinner, drinks etc (pool area was perfect though!). Only bad issue for us was in the Legends bar area, our table might have gotten a little loud (but it wasn't TOO bad!), and instead of coming over to ask us to quiet down a little, three or four big dogs in suits came over & stood and stared at us, and wouldn't let our awesome waitress serve us (but didn't tell us that or ask us to leave!). Sure wish they would have just approached & asked to quiet down a little! Other than that, loved the Downstream!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEAVENWORTH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We wanted a close-by mini-vacation. We took the advice of Tripadvisor reviewers and made reservations several weeks ago, spent the extra couple of dollars and were more than happy we did. The reviews were spot on. The rooms were very nice and very clean. Wonderful large photographs decorate the hotel and are different in various rooms. I noticed that the wallpaper in the rooms and bathrooms were copied from some of the historical native pottery on display in the lobby, in particular, the bedroom pattern was from one dating from between 1200 and 1500 A.D. The desk clerks were very helpful and check-in took seconds. We stayed in the new tower, a bit further from the casino, but closer to the breakfast buffet (a don't miss). Ask to eat on the glassed in porch--it's nice. The regular buffet restaurant was very good as well. Sunday evening a beautiful prime rib, and Monday evidently for $5 more, crab legs. We didn't get that memo, but asked folks next to us where the crab legs were and were told. I don't know if this was a special event, or regular. It wouldn't hurt to ask. There are two fitness centers, an indoor pool and an outside pool. The fitness center in the old tower is more developed. I was lucky in the casino and broke out about even or on the plus side. The others in our party were not as fortunate, but did have some fun too. We drove down on the Kansas side and back up on the Missouri side. If you are coming from Kansas, the Downstream is just on the Missouri border. Be sure to go onto Interstate 44, the hotel is just off it. Some of the map sites make it complicated to find and it is not at all.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a nice view of the area. The Downstream offers a 10% discount with a military ID...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KansasMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

I recently attended my company's national sales meeting that was held at the Downstream Casino. I was amazed at how nice the rooms were. The staff was very well organized and responsive in setting up for meals and audio visual needs. Great meeting rooms. We had dinner one night in their room next to the pool. This room was HUGE and very nice for an event. Great appetizers and the best meeting buffet that I have had. Food had good flavor, it was hot and not dried out. Great accommodation, great food, great meeting space and a little gambling entertainment.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank craigster57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Buren, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This Is Very Nice Hotel & Casino, But the Rooms Sell Out Quickly... I Think Its Because They Comp. a Lot of The Rooms, Including Mine, So Reserving a Room In Advance Is a Must !! They Do Have a Waiting/Cancellation List, But You Must Ask About That Also ! The A/C Seemed To Be Set at a Certain Degree & Will Not Get Any Cooler Than That, But There are 2 Very Nice Swimming Pools & 2 Hot Tubs, Exercise Equipment & Fancy Spa...Everything Is Very Well Taken Care Of !! The Casino Is Large & The Table Games Are Ante Free !! There are Several Nice Resturants, Steak House, Buffet & a Gift Shop !! It Really Is a Great Casino & Hotel & My Husband & I Drive About 3 hours to Stay at Downstream... We Really Do Love It & Will Always Try to Go As Often As We Can !! P.S. Don't Forget to Look for the Buffalo on Your Way In !!

Room Tip: All Rooms Have a Wonderful View.. Either The Front of Casino or a Wooded Scenery !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
171 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We have stayed one other time here and it was a delight again. We were in the older tower this time and you never would have guessed. Our room had a beautiful view from the 8th floor, we could see the outdoor pool, but it didn't open Memorial Weekend (the weekend after!). We were disappointed. The casino is all there is to do, so if you are not winning at the tables or machines thank goodness the rooms are wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShawneeKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quapaw
13.7 mi away
Buffalo Run Casino & Resort
4.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 23 in Joplin
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
15.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Joplin
8.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Joplin
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downstream Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downstream Casino Resort

Property: Downstream Casino Resort
Address: 69300 Nee Rd, Quapaw, OK 74363-2134
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Quapaw
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Quapaw
Number of rooms: 374
Also Known As:
Downstream Hotel Quapaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing