We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of casinos for us”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quapaw
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Downstream Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Quapaw
Certificate of Excellence
Denison, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best of casinos for us”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Traveling through Oklahoma to Kansas City, we purposely stopped here after hearing from friends how nice it was. My husband only won minimal amount & i lost only minimal amount. For us, that is great. We both felt "like home" here. Hopefully we will get a room comp in the future, but it is an 8 hour drive one way for us. The buffet at noon was lacking compared to other buffets, but food was good, what there was. For the people who complain about how smoky it is in casino, both husband and i didn't notice it at all, thought it was well ventilated. Really enjoyed the time there, wished we would've stayed there instead of driving up to K.C.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    98
    34
    12
    25
See reviews for
57
176
18
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Branson, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

you would think a hotel of this size knows how to work at full capacity so we decided to stay for valentines day started with twenty min wait to check in than i found out i had to have paid extra for a suite just to have a tub next dinner at the buffalo grill was awful food was way to cooked burnt over spiced top it all off room service took thirty min and was just as over priced my advice dont bother go to vegas

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AprilNicole22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed the afternoon of 2/13/2013 and over night at Downstream. The large room was very good with a big bath and was very clean and quiet.. We were here for the casino and don't know about the Spa but the room had a view of the closed for winter pool which was very good size.

The casino was very clean and although smoking was permitted, it wasn't noticable. It has over 2000 slot machines with more than half "penny" machines which aren't really penny machines anywhere since you need to play at least 50 cents to have a chance at winning. There are table games but no Craps or Roulette because of Oklahoma law. You pay for alcohol drinks but soda and bottle water are free.

The buffet was good with a very nice slection. All the food we had was too salty for our taste so if this is a concern, we suggest you try small portions to find less salty fare than load up your plate. Also, there isn't any breakfast buffet but there is a deli type store for eat-in or carry out and the Buffalo Grill is open for breakfast.

The location is convenient to the highway- about 1/2 mile off Interstate 44 about 7 miles west of Joplin, Mo.

We had good time and do plan to return here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdcwags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Even though we were not lucky in the casino we did have a great time. Casino & hotel are very clean, staff friendly & attentive. Casino is well layed out &, if you gamble, there are a wide variety of table & electronic games. We stayed in the original hotel tower & had a great corner room. They have built a new hotel & spa & a RV park. The hotel lobby, restaurants & common areas have nostalgic photos of past Indian life. Decor is in earth tones with images of earth, wind, water & fire. The hotel room had flat screen tv, coffee, mini-frig., & soft & comfy linens. Bathroom was spacious & had great shower. Our large room was quiet & also had photos of Indian life. Reminded me of the '50's when I grew up in a western OK town. A great place to escape from the casino if you are so inclined.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksp51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

What a great weekend! We live in Springfield so it was not that far of a drive for us to get away for 1 night. We were celebrating the Fella's birthday, and we really had a GREAT time! We are not big gamblers, but we had a wonderful time anyway playing the penny slots, and we actually came out ahead! The rooms were beautiful, the bathroom showers were amazing (the whole bathroom was amazing with slate and stone everywhere) and we stayed on the 9th floor with an amazing view. The day that we checked in, it was BUSY! a line for the valet, but he was very friendly when giving us directions on where to park, and when we walked in we had employee's greet us and hold the door for us! That is impressive. When checking in, we had a very friendly, informative female that told us about a band that was playing in the casino later that night. She was very helpful, even inquiring if we would like a high or low floor-again, impressive. Overall, it was a great experience and we will be back in the summer to experience the outdoor pool.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peacockranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Spent Monday night at the hotel and had a great time! Casino floor was busy but still able to find a machine you wanted to play. Very clean everywhere we went and the service...WOW! Everyone had a smile and hello. Bed was very comfortable (where can I get one of these? lol) Had buffet breakfast in the Buffalo Grill which was very tasty and excellent service once again. Even the valet couldn't have been better. We are looking forward to another stay! They just opened a new tower - we stayed in the original tower but it was still perfect. Some light construction in the lobby but not disruptive at all.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have good views & the elevators are quick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcrthatsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This new casino is smoke-free, clean, spacious, and has a variety of games. The selection of slots is good, too. The restaurant is a bit pricey but good. It is a MUCH better casino than the ones offered in Miami, OK.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nelsc61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quapaw
15.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Miami
8.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Joplin
8.9 mi away
Quality Inn Joplin
Quality Inn Joplin
#11 of 23 in Joplin
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 23 in Joplin
132 reviews
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami
8.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Joplin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downstream Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downstream Casino Resort

Property: Downstream Casino Resort
Address: 69300 Nee Rd, Quapaw, OK 74363-2134
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Quapaw
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Quapaw
Number of rooms: 374
Also Known As:
Downstream Hotel Quapaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing