We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Updated Review.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jo's Famous Pizza Incorporated

Jo's Famous Pizza Incorporated
Ranked #6 of 31 Restaurants in Purcell
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Over the hill.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Updated Review.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Jo's has improved since my last review. Change of management has made this a far more friendly place. I now eat there most every few weeks and the folks are trying hard .

I sat with Jo a few months back, ....a few weeks before she died (2012.), and, along with Ruthie. They told me of the problems caused by the previous manager. Jo was unassuming and very concerned with the reputation of the past. I can now say Jo's Pizza is a good operation with great new staff and a dedicated manager. They are now open for lunch with quick table service. Walk in and take a seat. Well done Joe's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Somlyakova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chickasha, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
131 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Tasty pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

My family met here to eat lunch. I was skeptical at first but left very impressed. First and foremost the place is very clean and spacious. You seat yourself. I ordered the lunch special pizza, salad and drink $7.99.
Salads are fresh & colorful with homemade dressing
Pizza was outstanding. I was very impressed with sauce to the toppings which is freshly prepared which does take some time. So don't be in a hurry and enjoy. You'll be glad you did.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marine4life73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world traveler
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“If you enjoy paying to eat on paper plates..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This place is OK - the pizza reminds me that it was made by a cowboy who visited italy once and forgot to bring back part of the recipe.
Youll be seated along a slop table here amongst other feeder's and your dining options are paper plates and plastic forks.
The paper plates are thick,so they seam to think it'll be ok, ..but i assure you it's not... i aint payin you fer a picnic pal!
The sauce is weak,the cheese is decent... i think they employ a slow girl, so dont be mad if your food dont come out right..

Heres the tip - GET OUT OF PURCELL OKLAHOMA!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank scott b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quiet Saturday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate here with a friend that already knew about the restaurant. There were only a few people seated when we arrived and we sat ourselves. Our drink orders were taken and were given a few more minutes to decide what we wanted. We were originally going to eat at Tio's Mexican in Pauls Valley but they are only open from 5-9 pm on Saturday. Since we didn't get to eat there, we decided to order the small, 8 slice taco pizza under their specialty pizzas. I couldn't believe a small taco pizza was $18! The crust was perfect, the taco meat was melted to the crust with mozzarella, then it was topped with loads of shredded cheddar cheese, diced tomato, chopped lettuce, and black olives. Imagine eating a sloppy joe sandwich without the top bun and that's what its like to eat a slice. It was very tasty and all three of us agree it was worth the $18. If we are ever I'm the area again, we will be back!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PrincessDye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best pizza around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Jo's is a local business that has served great pizza for years. Even though it might be a tad expensive you cannot beat the Canadian bacon pizza. The pizza is covered with shaved meat and has the right amount of cheese. The crust is on the thin side which is great. The combination pizza is loaded with meat and olives and mushrooms and cheese.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Huntingfootballfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jo's Famous Pizza Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Jo's Famous Pizza Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing