We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel but Extremely Rude Night time Receptionist”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pauls Valley
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Pauls Valley
san antonio, texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Hotel but Extremely Rude Night time Receptionist”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We check into this hotel May 7, 2012, after hotwiring to get the best rate. After the receptionist figured out we had used hotwire, she was extremely rude, short and rather sarcastic.
Other than this, the hotel was very clean, great hot breakfast and courteous morning manager.
Not sure what the problem was with the nighttime receptionist...it is not any $ out of her pocket whether someone hotwires or not.
Only three hotels in this city so one does not have much choice in prices.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    3
    5
    6
See reviews for
15
3
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I have almost no complaints about this particular hotel. Everyone on staff was pleasant (Francie was especially nice and helpful in many ways), the hot tub was the perfect temperature and always available, the location is super easy, and the room/bed was very nice and comfortable (frig and micro came in very handy). My bigger negative is about hotels in general. I think 100.00 is too much for one night even at this type of hotel. The other negative could be easily corrected by putting out fresh fruit and changing it out when it's not fresh and doesn't look appetizing anymore. And that all-in-one pancake maker that shoots pancakes out in less than a minute is the BOMB!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I cannot say enough about our positive experiences at HIE in general and the Pauls Valley location specifically. My husband and I stayed at the HIE on our way to and from St. Louis in July. Our first experience was with Michela. She was helpful, courteous, cheerful, and made our stay a pleasure. We left the next morning, well nourished and had a fitful nights sleep. Love the Beds! Nearing St. Louis, we remembered that we had not picked up my husband’s Navy Seal watch, which he had dropped by the bedside the night before. We both thought the other had retrieved it. We called the HIE and spoke with Francie. She put us on hold, went to the room, crawled around the bed, and finally found the watch. She was very concerned to make sure it was secured for us so we could pick it up on the return trip. On the return trip, we met Francie, who was very relieved to put the watch in our hands. Needless to say, the watch could have disappeared anywhere along the line and no one would have known. We offered Francie a cash reward for finding and saving the watch, which she refused. We offered to send out for dinner for her, which she refused because of company policy.
Integrity is difficult to find in these days and we were very impressed with her commitment to the customer and company.
Two wonderful experiences, two wonderful young ladies, and some precious memories.
This type of employee also reflects on the persons that hire them. Safe, pleasant, secure, clean, and comfortable.

Room Tip: any room at this facility. All were clean and neat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindyb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

With the exception of the day time front desk clerk the staff all treated us like a necessary evil. The pool and hot tub needed cleaning and we had to request towels. We had a queen suite, the beds are blocks of concrete dressed up to resemble mattresses. On the plus side it appeared clean and the air conditioning worked.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pauls Valley hotels

Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We checked in on Friday afternoon around 3:00 pm to get ready for a baseball tournament in Ardmore. After I got checked into my room Ient down stairs and was told there was a 9:00pm curfew and the boys were not allowed to be running in the halls. I COMPLETELY AGREE WITH THAT. I told the front desk woman the kids from our team would act right (WHICH I THINK THEY DID). Later without any provocation, I wasI again confronted about the curfew and was told a couple of weeks earlier some other teams had trashed the hotel. I AGREE THIS IS COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE BEHAVIOR, but I don't feel you need to take out your problems on everyon who walks in your doors. Since I will only speak about my direct observation, and experience, I informed the owner's wife I would write a review about my experience, and she told me to go ahead because it was only my opinion. She told me teams participating in the baseball tournaments were not welcomed at this hotel. I hope if you are making arrangements for a tournament you will think twice before staying here. Well since she said it was only my opinion, my opinion is this: I have taken my children to softball ad baseball tournaments in at least 8 different states for the past 10 years(many times each year) and I have never been treated worse than at this Holiday Inn Express. The facility was ok, but the customer service needs improvement at once, or I am sure a bad reputation will haunt this facility for a long time. My suggestion is to drive on down the road and find a different place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank falsetooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MISSOURI CITY, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

I had booked online for a reservation and had messed this up. I tried calling to get my reservation corrected and they refused to help me. I called back during the day and got the same response. I asked to have a manager call me back and they never returned my call.

CUSTOMER SERVICE & MANAGEMENT SUCKS. I will never stay in Paul's Valley ever.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KOYBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

I've been choosing Holiday Inn Express hotels for years. Mainly because their rooms are up to a certain standard. I always know that I'll have a comfortable stay.

The management at this particular hotel, however, seem to place saving pennies above guest satisfaction. It's several little things that really add up.

The biggest problem is the bedding. I stayed in a King Bed Guest Room, which looks exactly like that in the photos on their website. The furniture and fixtures are all standard Holiday Inn Express, but the mattress seems to have been purchased from "Joe's Discount Mattresses". My back was sore for the duration of my three day stay, and for a full day after. Then the pillows. HIE normally has two each of "Firm" and "Soft" pillows. Well, this King size bed had four identical sub-standard TWIN size pillows (though they do have the HIE pillow cases marked "firm" and "soft".

Next are even smaller things that also make a big difference. The waste-basket liners were too small for the waste-baskets. The toilet tissue and facial tissues were obviously the cheapest things available anywhere. I'm used to HIE having Kleenex brand facial tissues and Scott brand toilet tissue. Not here. If you blow your nose with these tissues, you may as well just blow right on your hand, because it instantly goes right through. I'm not gonna describe the toilet tissue, but let's just say the problem was similar. I ended up going to Walmart and buying my own tissues, just so I could keep clean.

It's a very pretty hotel, but the things that make a person comfortable simply aren't there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lazarus_Long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauls Valley
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pauls Valley
20.5 mi away
Best Western Lindsay Inn & Suites
24.0 mi away
Echo Canyon Spa Resort
Echo Canyon Spa Resort
#1 of 2 in Sulphur
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#5 of 10 in Pauls Valley
8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Pauls Valley
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Pauls Valley
Days Inn Pauls Valley
#2 of 10 in Pauls Valley
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pauls Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pauls Valley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pauls Valley
Address: 2412 W Grant Ave, Pauls Valley, OK 73075-9229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Pauls Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Pauls Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pauls Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new in 2009, the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Pauls Valley is the newest and most modern hotel in the area. Our beautiful 100% non smoking hotel is conveniently located off I-35 and within minutes of city lakes, and downtown. Guest will enjoy a large selection of local dining and a variety of recreational activities such as golf, hunting and fishing. Experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities such as a complimentary hot breakfast buffet featuring our signature Cinnamon Rolls served daily, indoor pool and whirlpool, enhanced bath experience, business center, fitness area, wired and wireless high speed internet access. Nestled in the south region of Oklahoma, we are centrally located between Oklahoma City and Dallas, Texas. Norman, Purcell, Ardmore, Ada are all a short drive away. Our location places you a short distance from Santa Fe Depot, Toy and Action Figure Museum, Pauls Valley Municipal Golf course, Pauls Valley City Lake, R.C. Longmire Lake, Bosa Center, Valley Vineyards, Walmart Distribution Center and Arbuckle Wilderness. We are confident that your stay in Pauls Valley Oklahoma will be a pleasant experience, so Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pauls Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Pauls Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing